We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, casual eatery in Charleston.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Tide Cafe

High Tide Cafe
91124 Cape Arago Hwy., Charleston, OR 97420
541-888-3664
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Awesome, casual eatery in Charleston.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by High Tide for dinner on the way back from Shore Acres. The weather was clear and warm with a slight breeze. An absolute perfect weather day. Upon getting close to the front door of the restaurant, the front door opened and we were greeted by a waitress welcoming us to the restaurant. It is a seat yourself restaurant. The interior of the restaurant is classic, relaxed beach theme. Because of the awesome weather, we sat on the back deck which overlooks the inlet. Our server was polite and had a very good knowledge of the daily specials. The menu is not huge but it has a good selection of basic seafood items. There are also non-seafood dishes on the menu. We had four in our party and we each had different items from the menu. Crab cakes, pan fried oysters, clam chowder and dinner salad. The food was flavorful and decent portions. Pricing for the meals was moderately priced. Basically expect to pay around the mid teens to low 20s for dinner. A great experience with great tasting food. This will be our usual stop when visiting the area. Never been to the High Tide before, and we were not disappointed. Thank you and a great job!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    11
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
FREMONT
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“OK but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Blue cheese salad dressing very good.....fish from fish and chips was flaky but batter too greasy for my taste.....prices a little high for what you get but ambiance very lovely.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just had tuna in mango sauce sitting by the fire with a friendly, witty waiter.
My whole family was happy. One of the best restaurants on the coast.
Quality items, my fish portion was large. Everything was tasty. Price was acceptable.
This is our fourth time here. So, 4 times my 5 rating gives this place 20 points.
Keep up the good work. I love fresh food. We will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Gem In Charleston, Oregon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

High Tide Cafe, is a rustic looking building inside & out, all of which adds to the charm of a welcomed dining experience. Great views of the Bay, friendly owners and staff, welcome patrons to the restaurant. Fresh seafood, and regular fair including homemade desserts coupled with an amazing beverage selection will having you returning again and again. If your wanting a place where the locals in the know go this is the place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
1 review
“Authentic Atmosphere, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our favorite place to relax on the coast, in the cozy little fishing village of Charleston, OR, is the High Tide Cafe. Either by the fire in the winter (a perfect stop after visiting Shore Acres Botanical Gardens to see the Christmas lights), or out on the deck during the Summer time, the atmosphere is completely, genuinely, the real article...coastal. It is laid back and friendly and the food is delicious! From sandwiches to seafood...and fantastic chowder...I've never ordered anything that I didn't love there. The portions are appropriate serving sizes and satisfying but will leave just the right amount of room for a wonderful dessert (Pumpkin creme brulee for me last time) and excellent coffee! We have gone as a couple, or as a whole group of family or friends...they are always accommodating.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Tide Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Oregon Coast
Charleston, Oregon Coast
 
Charleston, Oregon Coast
Charleston, Oregon Coast
 

Been to High Tide Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Tide Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.