We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Portside

Portside
8001 Kingfisher Dr, Charleston, OR 97420
541-888-5544
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 7 restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Not a good place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Horrible place people are always drunk walking around loud and rude. Service is also bad and hard to get food is not as good as the price

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    15
    23
    10
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Seafood Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I visited the Portside over the Memorial Day weekend. The food was great (we split the seafood fettuccine, and glad we did as the portion was huge!). The staff were friendly, attentive and accommodating.
We will definitely make a return visit to the Portside whenever we're in the Coos Bay/Charleston area!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Save your appetite, and money, by going to Millers Cove instead!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Port side was recommended by a friend who hadn't been there in awhile. The rancid oil smell was apparent to me when entering. Fish and chips were wee portions, WAY over breaded and soggy. Fish was served over shredded cabbage that tasted of chemicals so I can only assume it has not been washed. Tarter sauce was cut with sour cream or some other unidentifiable dairy that rendered it virtually like yogurt. Cocktail sauce was cut with so much ketchup that i could not tell a difference between it and the ketchup from the bottle brought. Asked waitress if an error was made and she argued with me and then laughed at me! Then she went to the kitchen and told the cook in English, followed by both of them switching to Asian dialect. Impolite and obvious. Never got a water refill - glass sat empty for over half the meal - or asked how it was. Left hungry, even after devouring the garnish. The meal for two consisted of five, small under cooked medallions of heavily breaded fish the size of silver dollars, a pile of shredded cabbage 18 fries (each). No drinks, water only. $21.90. No garlic toast. No Cole slaw, unless they consider the unwashed cabbage Cole slaw. I consider that a garnish. The view was nice. See my review for Millers Cove where we ended up. Great food. Fresh fish, not frozen. Great service. Great atmosphere. Great price!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Windows on the Back Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a fishing area so we stuck with seafood. The experience was special for us because we took our elderly friend there for memories of her past trips with her dear departed husband. Better know where you're going, but the GPS helps. Staff was great; very friendly and right on for service. (We were there late afternoon before any crowd.) We went for sauteed seafood and it was very good. Captain's Platter (sauteed) was everything we expected, with good variety. My wife had the Sauteed Prawns. Our table looked out on a back-bay area called South Slough, just off Coos Bay. Pretty, but not much boat traffic. Wonderful quiet dinner with a view of the water. We love out-of-the way places to dine, and this place was a winner. The real address is: 63383 Kingfisher Rd, Charleston, OR

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bandon, oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sushi Garden - soooo good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I am not a big fan of the Portside Restaurant but they just opened Sushi Garden and it is so good. The fish is fresh, the menu is fun but best of all - the food was so delicious. And the apple sake - oh my! Very tasty! Certainly the best sushi around!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portside also viewed

Charleston, Oregon Coast
Charleston, Oregon Coast
 
Charleston, Oregon Coast
Charleston, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Portside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.