We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cascade Locks Best Western! Lovely.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
735 Wanapa Street, Cascade Locks, OR 97014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Brussels
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cascade Locks Best Western! Lovely.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is very nice overlooking the Columbia River and the bridge of Gods between Washington and Oregon states. Our room was confortable and clean and the service very good. We loved the little terrace just outside the pool to have a drink and play cards at sunset.
Although it could be noisy at time, the merchandise trains travelling along the river and passing by just under the hotel, was very agreable. It did not bother us.
It is a very good place to visit the area: go for walks and hikes, cruises on the river, visit Hood River....

Room Tip: A room with a view over the river is important of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
I am please you enjoyed the deck and I hope you got to see a spectacular sunset. If I could move that train track I would do it today. Thank you for staying with us and I hope we can assist you on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    150
    38
    8
    3
See reviews for
120
218
21
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A really lovely hotel overlooking the Bridge of the Gods on the Columbia River. Delightful room and helpful personnel. Cascade Locks itself is a small town with little to offer but a great starting point for many wonderful sights - from historic Rt 30 with all it's hiking and waterfalls, Hood River wind and kite surfing and the Columbia Gorge sternwheeler which is located just down the street from the hotel. Be aware that there are train tracks along the river and many trains going by so if you are sensitive to noise it may not be the place for you. We enjoyed ourselves immensely and would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Traveler, I am so please you were able to stay with us in Historical Cascade Locks, you are right we are tiny town, but we pack a punch with great things to do in the National Scenic Area. Thank you for staying with us and we invite you to return to the Columbia River Gorge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Pretty nice room. Kind of thought it would have a balcony from the pictures on the website and the fact that I booked a view room. Evidently view room doesn't mean balcony like in the pictures, probably were not any available on the days I searched or I would have realized the difference if I saw a view room and a balcony room available at the same time. Not sure I would have shelled out 150 bucks for the room had I known.

Anyway it was still a nice view, bed was very comfortable and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Get the BALCONY room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest, yes we are the middle of the National Scenic Area, a long ways from the cities. The views from the hotel are fabulous and I am sorry you did not get a balcony. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will return to the Gorge and we will do our best to get you into a balcony room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I love this place, and visit regularly. Consistently comfortable and professionally managed. Wonderful location on the Columbia River, next to a beautiful bridge, which you can enjoy from a view room or their deck and sunroom. Quiet little town, but be aware that trains run day and night on both river banks, so non-view rooms are quieter. If you hike, the Pacific Crest Trail crosses the river here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for being a returned guest and if I could move those train tracks I would do it today. We hope you will return to stay with us and enjoy all the Columbia River Gorge has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our favorite hotel on this trip back home from Yellowstone national park. Our room overlooked the beautiful Columbia river and Bridge of the Gods and was spacious. The staff were helpful and kind. The accommodations for our 2 small dogs were excellent. The breakfast was good. Re breakfast I only did not like the cheese used in the omlet (may have been American Cheese). Would have preferred another type of non processed cheese. The rest of the meal was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your return trip home from what sounds like a fabulous trip to Yellowstone. The weather has been wonderful this year in our area and sitting on the balcony watching the river is great. we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The balcony room did not disappoint with magnificent view of the Columbia River and Bridge of the Gods. Great location as a basecamp for hiking the waterfalls. Free breakfast was decent. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room was very clean, spacious, nice. Hallways were smelly and old feeling, but once in the room all was forgotten outside.

Room Tip: absolutely get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
The weather has been spectacular this summer and the views from the balconies can not be beat. We are very please you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will return. thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The room was average size, quiet. Breakfast was the normal fare-decent
Town has nothing to offer. Should stay in Hood River instead.
Easy to access the water falls on the Cascade River. Great view of the river and Washington State

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and I'm sorry that Cascade Locks did not meet your needs. Our "little" historic town is all about outdoor activities and the Marine Park where the historic locks are. We hope you will come back and stay with us, I'm sure we can show you all that the Columbia River Gorge has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn

Address: 735 Wanapa Street, Cascade Locks, OR 97014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Cascade Locks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel Cascade Locks
Best Western Cascade Locks
Cascade Locks Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.