We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always stay here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
735 Wanapa Street, Cascade Locks, OR 97014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Dawsonville, Georgia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“We always stay here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We came to the Gorge for a photography shoot week. This hotel is so convenient to the whole Gorge area. Had a room with a balcony overlooking the Columbia River and the bridge of the gods. Great view! Room was spacious, clean and even came with earplugs. You need them because the hotel backs up to some very active tracks. Staff very helpful and friendly. We did go to The Ale House for good pizza and burgers and also found (from staff recommendations) a terrific place across the bridge in Stevenson: Big River Grill.
This is a good hotel that works harder than it needs to given the lack of options in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is very nice to hear you had a wonderful time while staying with us in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area. I am so very luck to live here. We look forward to your return visit to the Gorge and hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    150
    38
    8
    3
See reviews for
120
216
21
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Lovely, comfortable room, beautiful setting, pleasant and helpful staff--but oh that train!!! It was too warm to close our window or door, and I don't sleep well with ear plugs. The train came by every 15 minutes all night long. The sound could raise the dead.

Room Tip: Go when it is cold enough to close your room window and door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest, I am pleased that you enjoyed the beauty of the National Scenic Area. If I could move that train track today I would! We appreciate your kind words and value you as a guest. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our hiking group, seven couples, spent two nights at this beautiful hotel on the Columbia River in the town of Cascade Locks. Our rooms were comfortable, clean and the breakfast was more than continential. The staff was exceptional, providing an area for our group to have a potluck dinner together, and also allowing one of our group to use the kitchen to finish preparing her casserole. True the hotel is directly above the railroad tracks, but the rooms are very well insulated AND the hotel provides foam earplugs for light sleepers. The beauty of the surroundings and the helpful staff added to our enjoyment of the Columbia Gorge Valley !

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view from our balcony in Room #305
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are very pleased your hiking group enjoyed your time with us in The Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area. If I could move that train track I would do it today. We look forward to your return visit and hiking the trails of the Gorge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Think of the Gorge as a valley with the Columbia River at the base. Now picture the only place to put a rail road yep, right next to the river. So if you want a great view of the river and be close to river -your going to be next to the rail road tracks. Since the Gorge is in a sense a valley and sound goes up, it is very hard to get away from the sound of trains. And there is a lot of them :) The Best Western has done a great job of sound proofing their rooms but your going to get some choo choo noise . The Inn's rooms are nice and large and very clean the small deck over looking the mighty Columbia was spectacular. You are centrally located to everything the Gorge has to offer. Secret number 2 I was surprised by the number of repeat guests. You could pay more for a room but why? My only knock? is the breakfast it's free but really it could use an upgrade

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
You are corret, the beauty of the National Scenic Area is spectacular and if I could move those train tracks today I would. We hope our fantastic river and mountain views will bring you back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very pleasant accommodations. Excellent, helpful staff. Strategically located. Close to Bonniville dam and fish hatchery. The Columbia Gorge is spectacular. Definitely stay on the 4th floor. The river is at your doorstep

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us in the heart of the National Scenic Area. The views from the building out to the river are fabulous. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our family took trip from Bellevue, Washington to the Oragon to explore the beautiful columbia river area. We stayed at Best Western Plus Columbia river. It is a center of many fabulous hiking trails, many beautiful water falls,several national parks to visit. It is a great location to stay when you want to visit Hood river village and Portland. The hotel is located along the river and railway, you must appreciate seeing and hearing the sound of the train in the night as well. We will come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased you enjoyed your time in the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area, we know how lucky we are to be living in this area. The hotel appreciates you staying with us and enjoying our view. If I could move those tracks today I would. We look forward to your return to the Gorge and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I don't know that I've ever stayed in a hotel that provided ear plugs before, but the soundproofing and windows must be very good becasue you could barely hear the trains with the balcony door and the window closed. A great view of the bridge and the river traffic, close to a good place to eat and a balcony, too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am so happy you enjoyed your room with a balcony and the wonderful view of the Columbia River. There is not a day that goes by that I don't fill thankful for such a beautiful location. If I could move those train tracks I would do it today! We do hope you will return to stay with us, we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn

Address: 735 Wanapa Street, Cascade Locks, OR 97014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Cascade Locks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel Cascade Locks
Best Western Cascade Locks
Cascade Locks Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.