We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
735 Wanapa Street, Cascade Locks, OR 97014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Switz City, Indiana
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel is right off Interstate. One of the nicest stays of a 7,000 mile road trip. The Plus hotels cannot be beat. The hotel is a good price for the traveler. The room was nice and clean. The place was very busy but still was pretty quiet. We used the hot tub, it was clean and very hot. The bed was comfy and breakfast had a lot to pick from, eggs, cereal and good coffee. We stayed on ground floor, didn't care to have a river view. Hotel staff was very nice and helpful. We would stay again sometime. Nice place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    150
    38
    8
    3
See reviews for
120
218
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leadville, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great hotel, nice views of the bridge and of the river. Sat quietly out on the deck. I was a little worried about the noise from the train but the beds were so comfortabl that I slept like a baby. Staff was helpful and attentive. Would recommend a stay here. Enjoy walks near by....

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a room with a balcon. The sight on the Columbia river and the bridge of the Gods was beautifull.
This hotel has clean and comfortable rooms. The breakfest in the morning was good and the staff was very kind. We enjoyed are stay in this Best Western hotel.
The only concern can be the railroadat both sides of the river, but there was not much traffic that night so we slept very well.
.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last night with my wife and daughter after attending a wedding in The Dalles. The location of this hotel is perfect--right along the Columbia River in the small town of Cascade Locks (be sure to check out Char Burger next door--the french fries are amazing!!). Based on other trip advisor reviews, I expected to hear trains running all night on the near-by tracks, but can't remember hearing even one (never saw the ear plugs in the room as mentioned by other reviewers). Here's my list of pros and cons:

Pros:
1. This place is literally spotless....from the room to the pool area to the lobby...kudos to the cleaning staff!
2. My daughter LOVED the heated indoor pool (it wasn't too cold) and jacuzzi...the entire pool area was immaculately clean and well-maintained.
3. There was a wide variety of breakfast items available (my family especially enjoyed the make your own belgian waffles with whipped cream)...my wife was particularly impressed with Karie, the breakfast attendant, who worked hard to make sure food items were re-stocked and at the same time stayed friendly and never frazzled :)
4. The rooms were well appointed--we particularly loved the large, flat screen tv...if we had been staying longer, the in-room refrigerator and microwave would have been appreciated as well.

Cons:
1. If you are a BW Rewards elite member, this hotel provides ZERO recognition of elite status. I am a Diamond elite member myself (which is Best Western's highest level in their rewards program) and despite my check-in form showing the "Diamond" level designation, none of the usual Diamond level benefits were provided--no welcome beverage/snack and definately no room upgrade (we had a lovely view of the parking lot). If these elite benefits mean a lot to you, you may want to check-out the Best Western down the road about 20 miles in Hood River. I've never stayed there, but it looked pretty nice when we drove by on the way to The Dalles for the wedding.
2. If you enjoy sleeping in on the weekends, keep in mind that the breakfast buffet closes at 9:30am, even on Sundays. I did feel a bit rushed trying to make sure I went to get food before it closed--perhaps they would consider keeping it open until 10am on weekends??

So, over-all, it was a great hotel experience, particularly for leisure travelers and families traveling with kids. For the the business traveler, don't expect any elite member benefits and you won't be disappointed--you will get a clean, comfortable room, along with a staff that does seem to genuinely care about everything else.

Room Tip: It felt strange to be along the beautiful Columbia River in the Columbia River Gorge scenic area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

When I checked into my room, the guests next door were very noisy - they were celebrating an anniversary. I was here for a relaxing vacation, so I asked the front desk if I could change rooms. Although the hotel was sold out for the night, the staff quickly moved us to a new room. The front desk staff member was kind and understanding. Problem solved. The hotel was clean and quiet and the staff was friendly and accommodating.

I am a light sleeper and was worried about the train. I requested (at booking) and received a room on the 4th floor. I heard the train once during the night the first night and never heard it again. Note: The train does not blow the whistle; it just rumbles along the tracks.

There are limited food options in Cascade Locks. We drove to Hood River for dinner each night. I can't imagine any hotel in Hood River being a better value than BW Columbia River Inn, and the views of the river are spectacular.

Also, first time visitors should buy the book Curious Gorge. The locals love it. We loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 4th floor with a balcony facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

First i'll start by explaining our stay here was very enjoyable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The looby inviting and the rooms in tip top shape. Our balcony overlooked the columbia and the view was spectacular. Now here could be the only down side, the train tracks, which are very active, are about 15 yards from the rooms. The hotel provides ear plugs but truthfully the clickity clack-clickity clack was calming. The complimentary breakfast was nothing fancy, but fresh and as a complimentary breakfast goes very good. All in all we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: If your a lite sleeper look for the ear plugs and the rooms higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, ID
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had requested a room not near and elevator, or vending, and what did they do but put us in a room under the stairs, across from the elevator, vending and the breakfast room. On top of that, the sinks are out in the room area, not in the shower area, makes it difficult for those trying to sleep when others are getting ready. The worst nights sleep we had on a 2500 mile trip. The staff at the hotel were really great, not problem with them, really quite helpful. The location is great, the views are terrific, just not a good sleeping situation.

Room Tip: This location says they have a room with 2 queen beds, family room and Third king bed, don't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn

Address: 735 Wanapa Street, Cascade Locks, OR 97014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Cascade Locks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel Cascade Locks
Best Western Cascade Locks
Cascade Locks Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.