We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B experience ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
648 W. Main Street, Carlton, OR 97111   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Carlton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, OR
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best B&B experience ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Yamhill County is in the heart of Oregon wine country; the tiny town of Carlton is in the heart of Yamhill County; and The Carlton Inn is in the heart of the town. You can easily walk to many tasting rooms. Heidi Yates, the B&B owner, made our experience the best ever!

Her 1920 home has four guest bedrooms, all decorated differently, all cozy and comfortable. Heidi welcomed us even before we arrived, offering lots of advice when we called for reservations - and honoring our two-year-old gift certificates without hesitation! We shared a glass of wine and conversation with Heidi in the spacious and comfortable living room before heading out to dinner, learning a bit of her amazing life story. She is a delight, as is her amazing fly-hunting dog, Jake.

Breakfast was delicious - made from local produce, local eggs, local blueberries for the scones - even homemade granola and homemade yogurt. There was lively conversation with other guests at the common table. Our experience at The Carlton Inn was everything one could hope for from a B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Six of us spent Saturday, visiting various wineries around Carlton in the Willamette Valley Limousine, including tours at Lemelson's, Raptor Ridge, and Sotar's. The day was fun and informative. Dinner was at the Cuvee Restaurant in downtown Carlton. It is French, relaxed, and has a wonderful menu. We drank fabulous Belle Pente wines with our meal. The night ended with our stay at the Carlton Inn Bed and Breakfast. It is comfortable, cozy, and Heidi, our innkeeper, made us all feel very special. She fixed us an amazing breakfast on Sunday with fresh fruit, scones, and lots of other homemade and local items. We all hated to leave.

Our entire trip was donated to the McMinnville Education Foundation for the auction. We were lucky enough to purchase it. How great to have all these generous people in our community.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We spent a weekend at the Carlton Inn in April, 2010. The rooms were clean and comfortable and reasonably priced. Heidi was the perfect hostess with winery and restaurant recommendations which were right on. Heidi's breakfast was terrific with freshly baked scones, fresh fruit and a great fritata. The Inn is just a couple of blocks from downtown Carlton and numerous wineries, tasting rooms & restaurants. From Carlton, it is only a 10 minute drive to McMinnville, with a beautiful downtown and even more great restaurants and wineries. Two thumbs up! We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

We had a great night at the Inn, very cozy and clean. However, it's a small 4 unit B & B, and if you want to ensure a great night's sleep, make sure to reserve the room downstairs. Heidi had great recommendations, and her breakfast was homemade and super high quality. Thanks Heidi and Jake! We came to review wineries for our blog, portlandoregonwine.com, and it was a great place to end up the day after wine tasting.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

My husband and I just spent two fantastic nights at this warm and charming bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Dundee Hills room, but all the rooms looked inviting and the breakfasts were wonderful, with fresh fruit, homemade granola and yogurt, and a yummy hot entree all prepared by Heidi. She also knows the wine industry, so any recommendations given were appreciated. We had numerous conversations with Edward and enjoyed them all. If you want a comfortable room, a yummy and filling breakfast, good company, and all around good time, make a beeline to Carlton Inn.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

It was a delightful find to discover The Carlton Inn for our spur-of-the-moment trip to the Willamette Valley. We loved the proximity to both McMinnville and the great vineyards. We also loved Jake, the friendly Brittany Spaniel!

The rooms were clean, spacious, and very comfortable. Best of all was the hospitality provided by the innkeeper, Heidi. She was gracious, helpful, and just plain fun!

We look forward to our next trip back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

I stayed here with my wife and then three-year-old in August 2007 and unless things have changed -- and they haven't, according to recent reviews -- this is easily one the best B&Bs I've ever stayed at. It's rare to see a place combine a casual style with such high-quality service. Moreover, the location is perfect, both in Carlton and in the region.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 648 W. Main Street, Carlton, OR 97111
Location: United States > Oregon > Carlton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you arrive as a guest... Depart as a friend. Built in 1915, The Carlton Inn B&B is located within the charming community of Carlton, known as Oregon's most walkable wine district, "The Wine Capital of Oregon." A short walk and you will discover nearly two dozen tasting rooms and wineries as well as unique shops and wonderful restaurants. Within our B&B find four comfortable guestrooms, each with a private bathroom, equipped with blow dryer, fluffy towels, bath and body products; and two king rooms, and two queen-sized beds, each encased in soft microfiber sheets, and a warm, fluffy comforter; a living room with fireplace and TV area, and a shaded back porch overlooking the garden. You will dine on a multi-course breakfast prepared from scratch, using local products and produce when possible, some coming from the Inn's own garden and chickens. The Inn is considered a wine country destination, for this reason, no children under 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.