We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lobenhaus Bed & Breakfast & Vineyard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobenhaus Bed & Breakfast & Vineyard
Save
You added Lobenhaus Bed & Breakfast & Vineyard to your Saves list
6975 NE Abbey Road, Carlton, OR 97111   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Carlton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our reservations were booked as a gift from my boss as a thank you & congratulations on our new baby. We, as well as my boss, we unaware of the "no children" policy at Lobenhaus. After traveling over four hours with a 2 month old, we arrived at Lobenhaus excited about our stay including visiting local area vineyards. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very unfriendly Shari when she realized we had a baby. We tried to explain to her that we were unaware that children were not allowed as we were not involved in making the reservations & I explained that my boss was obviously unaware as well. It was raining, almost dark & we were in an area that we were very unfamiliar with & rather than being hospitable & helpful in trying to help us find other alternatives of where to stay, Shari was extremely rude & only concerned about who was paying for our stay, regardless of whether or not we would be there. Never in my life have I been treated so rudely!!! I'm shocked at Shari's attitude & her inhospitable behavior. I will NEVER recommend Lobenhaus!! Not to mention, the facility is out dated with early 90's country decor. I felt like I was visiting my grandmother's house. Not modern & obviously appealing to those 50 & older. Thank goodness for smart phones as we found a classy & modern hotel along the Columbia River. Much happier!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enofly, Owner at Lobenhaus Bed & Breakfast & Vineyard, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
It is unfortunate that this situation occurred. When booking a stay at our inn online, the purchaser must read and accept our policies before the booking will complete. The policy clearly states no children under 10 years of age. Our guests receive a confirmation from the online system as well as an additional one from me. Even though the reservation was a gift, this guest still received the information. Additionally, this same guest changed the dates of their stay which I accommodated, with no fee. The reservation system and I again sent confirmation of the date change including our policies - so they received these policies four times. On the day they arrived, we had a full house. Many people choose our inn for a get-away from their children as well as the wonderful access to wine country. We cannot break our stated policies because of the mistake or error on one guests' part. To say that we did nothing to assist her in finding alternate accommodation is false. She and her husband left abruptly when I explained the policy to her and that we could not let them stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
67
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Though the exterior of the facility has weathered a bit since the webpics were taken, the interior continues to sparkle. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet with only a soft purr from the AC and minor plumbing sounds and no conversation from adjoining rooms. The Lobens were on their own vacation, but the substitute innkeeper (Coral) did an exceptional job: wonderful breakfasts, helpful suggestions, and cheerful demeanor. She seemed to be enjoying her work as much as we enjoyed our stay. The location is convenient to the wineries, restaurants and other attractions. And a walk thru Loben Haus grounds is a treat in itself! By the way, roadside signs throughout the valley are very helpful in finding your destinations.

Room Tip: Rooms along the back have a better view and are only slightly less convenient to the parking area th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Nj
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were 6 college friends, enjoying a mini-reunion in Oregon's wine country. I picked Lobenhaus B & B off the internet because the reviews were good, the price was mid-range, and the location was superb for visiting vineyards. I picked a winner! We were first struck by the absolute cleanliness of the place. It is well kept; nothing was shabby or needed repair. Each guestroom has its own bathroom - all are large and tastefully and comfortably furnished. There are two large sitting rooms and a huge dining space. We actually spent more time outside wandering the grounds. There are beautiful gardens, vineyards, and wild spaces to enjoy. Shari pointed us toward the blackberry vines and we picked some beautiful berries to add to our breakfasts. Little did we know that our breakfast was going to be so delicious and so plentiful that even fresh berries couldn't surpass it. After serving our breakfast, Joe and Shari joined us in the dining room for coffee and conversation. They were a wealth of information on the area and Joe was very generous in sharing his time and knowledge of viticulture with our friends who had just planted their own vines. We stayed three nights and our great disappointment was that we would have to leave so early the third morning to make our flight that we would miss breakfast. When Shari learned this, she provided us with breakfast to go (freshly baked muffins, fruit, and yogurt) and Joe got up before the crack of dawn to brew us coffee. I would be remiss not to mention Grandma's cookies: every afternoon we would come home to wonderful, just baked cookies that Shari's mother had made. Even though we were often rushing out the door again to go to dinner, we would stop and gobble up the cookies. They were not to be missed! All in all, Lobenhaus gave us everything that epitomizes a great B & B - a businesslike reservation and payment system, a good website, impeccably clean rooms that were large, attractive, quiet, and comfortable, delicious and creative breakfasts, and warm and gracious hosts who were glad to share as much or as little time with you as you liked. A wonderful balance of being warm but not intrusive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We loved our stay at Lobenhaus. The breakfasts every morning were amazing, the rooms were spotless and the location was fantastic for wine touring. It's right down the road from Ghost Hill Cellars, so close enough to walk home after a tasting! We enjoyed sitting on our balcony in the evenings. Joe and Shari were great hosts and we'd definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My mother and I recently visited the Lobenhaus and had the most wonderful visit. The innkeepers were delightful and extremely helpful with places to eat, wineries to visit. The room was lovely --quiet, spacious and clean. And breakfast was completely delicious! We would definitely like to return--but for a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

What a charming B&B. Shari & Joe run a spacious place with lots of room to roam inside and out. Lovely large balcony overlooking hilly property with vines and ponds. Many walking paths to relax before and after a hard day's work visiting wineries. Wild blackberries all over! Breakfast is absolutely deliciously prepared. Recommendations for excellent restaurants that I never would have found otherwise.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Birch room but I'm not sure there's a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, OH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lobenhaus B & B was so relaxing, and had the most comfortable bed! We were late arriving, due to plane troubles, and they were so accomodating. . . the breakfasts were wonderful, and they really know the area. When we needed suggestions for dinner and winerys to visit, they really helped, and their suggestions were great!. Relaxing on the porch in the evening, with all the trees and land was amazing! Defnintely a place to go back to!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobenhaus Bed & Breakfast & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobenhaus Bed & Breakfast & Vineyard

Address: 6975 NE Abbey Road, Carlton, OR 97111
Location: United States > Oregon > Carlton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect home base for visiting Oregon's Willamette Valley wine country. Tri-level lodge surrounded by woods, creek, & vineyards. Six well-appointed rooms with upgraded amenities. Hearty full Oregon Bounty breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobenhaus Bed & Breakfast & Vineyard Carlton, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobenhaus Bed & Breakfast & Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.