We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay at R.R.Thompson House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   517 North Kutch Street, Carlton, OR 97111   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Carlton B&B and Inns
Shorewood, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great stay at R.R.Thompson House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our first stay at a bed & breakfast and we had an excellent stay at R.R. Thompson House. The owners were very welcoming and gracious, quickly explaining to us the setup at their place. We stayed in the Rose Suite and it was very spacious and well appointed. The breakfasts were very well done.

The principal reason for going to Carlton, OR is to tour the Willamette Valley wine country and the location of this B&B is perfect for that. There are more than a dozen wine tasting spots within walking distance of the B&B and all the top wineries in the vallley are within about a 20 minute drive. One day we drove to the coast and it was only about an hour away. All in all, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welches, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited the Yamhill-Carlton wine country in early June 2013. Roselyn and Mike, innkeepers at the R. R. Thompson B & B, were key to a wonderful two-day experience. Their vintage home put us in the spirit of this historical Oregon valley. Eclectic furnishings, a homey feeling rich with access to local historical reading material, and a great home-cooked gourmet breakfast topped off our visit. All in all, Roselyn and Mike’s hospitality led us to a fine wine tasting adventure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I can't say enough about our experience at RR Thompson last weekend, when we were attending my son's graduation at Linfield College. We had an unexpected need to accommodate my daughter who had arrived late from out of town the previous evening. Roselyn and Mike were incredibly gracious, flexible and helpful in meeting our needs and contributed in a significant way to what turned out to be a memorable weekend. Besides that the house is beautiful, the Lavender Suite was fabulously furnished and comfortable, and the breakfast quite delicious. I travel a great deal all over the world and stay at many hotels - however this was definitely one of those rare places, nestled in Oregon's beautiful wine country, that I will always remember. We look forward to going back sometime soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The R&R Thompson Inn is something else. We stayed for a weekend as we toured the wine country and have nothing but amazing things to say about this place.
1) Perfectly located in Carlton, right in the middle of wine country. The town is walking distance and has great food, live music, and tasting rooms. All major wineries in this area are short drives away
2) Best breakfast - amazing eggs, french toast, juice, tea. Cozy ambience and wonderful setting
3) We stayed in the Rose Room, upstairs. Wow. That bed is the most comfortable thing I have slept on in a long time. Large (read: giant) room, lots of windows, super cozy and comfortable.
4) Lovely hosts - we had a wonderful experience, they were just SO warm!!

Would definitely come back, in fact, fingers crossed, hope to come back very soon!

Room Tip: Rose Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were made to feel most welcome, with a tour of the house and the history of the development explained. Our intention to visit the nearby Aviation & Space Museum fortunately led us to this place. Our hosts wanted to ensure that the breakfast would meet our needs and was very tasty. The room was furnished and equipped to a very high standard ensuring a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Even though we were on the top floor - this did not limit our comfort in anyway. All the rooms are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Interesting hosts, great breakfasts, yummy anniversary cake. Beautiful room. And we loved being in Carlton where there are some great restaurants and lots of tasting rooms - all within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Staying at this B&B was by far the best experience I have had at any B&B. They not only had delicious food, but they made sure to ask about allergies, and also made us a special birthday cake. They went over the top to make sure we were happy with our stay. The room was clean and spectacular! The location of the B&B is perfect for any wine tasting or fun getaway as it is in the middle of downtown Carlton. I will for sure make my way back to R.R. Thompson B&B and will make sure I recommended it to all my friends. What a wonderful place!

PS...the Brie Omelet is amazing!

Room Tip: The Rose Room was so exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 517 North Kutch Street, Carlton, OR 97111
Location: United States > Oregon > Carlton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast Carlton, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.