We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Loved Our Picture perfect Honeymoon...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Surfsand Resort to your Saves list
Surfsand Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   148 West Gower Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Redmond
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply Loved Our Picture perfect Honeymoon...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

This resort is simply awesome place to stay....Beachfront cosy rooms...amazing sunset...endless ocean with you...what else you can ask for? This is THE perfect place for honeymoon according to us.

We stayed at the executive beachfront suite.. Rooms have great furniture and facilities....loved the 24 hours Sirius Jazz radio station in the living room, bedroom and bathroom, 3 big Flat panel TVs everywhere in the room...awesome ocean view from the balcoy, soaking tub and the bathroom...we got 2 1/2 hour massage for free as a promotional offer and it was a bonus....and on the last day the we have arranged a bonfire at midnight....the hotel staffs have arranged for the wood and all....and it was awesome....

Overall i shall give a perfect 10 on 10 for this hotel....We recomend this hotel for arranging perfect honeymoon.... :-)

  • Liked — Awesome VIew
  • Disliked — Bed and pillow was a little too soft.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    125
    34
    8
    4
See reviews for
187
289
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new bern
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

Stayed at the Surfsand for two nights in one of the two bedroom suites with family. The room was great. Both rooms were private. Very clean and the rooms looked new. Great view of Haystack Rock and nice porch to relax and watch the sunset. Nice amenities and a great clean big bathroom with a huge tub! The hotel is close enough to town that you cold walk instead of drive. The fitness facility is very nice with the highest quality equipment. We ate the the onsite restaurant the Wayfarer for breakfast and it was good, a bit pricey though. Loved the Surfsand and will definately return!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfortable beds, and the great view of the beach!
  • Disliked — There is nothing not to like!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

We arrived on the Friday afternoon & stayed until Sunday. I was a little concerned about the price of the room we had booked as it was $275 per night plus taxes. However, our room was literally on the beach & we were able to have the doors open day & night & enjoy the sound of the surf & seagulls.
We were traveling with an infant & we were provided with a Pack n Play. I'm not a fan of the Temper-pedic beds but for many this would be a plus. The room was clean & quiet.
Everyone & everything was of exceptional quality. We enjoyed the room, the facilities (we swam in the pool three times & we were the only peope in it) & the employees were gracious & helpful. I left my phone charger in the room when we left & received it in the mail yesterday - how thoughtful!
I would definately return to the Surfsand & I would recommend The Stephanie Inn for anyone traveling without infants. Cannon Beach was also a pleasant suprise - great place to explore.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dogs barking in other rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

We just returned from a wonderfull stay at the Surfsand Resort, even though the weather was not up to par. Great king bed suite in the ocean front building. Had one small problem in that the safe didn't work, so we called the front desk and within two minutes a maintenance worker was in the room and replaced the batteries so the combination would function.

The Wayfarer restaurant on the property was great, both food and the service. We had a corner table with a terrific view of Haystack Rock - through the wind and rain - yes, it was August 19th, but that can happen at the ocean in the Pacific Northwest.

Only negative comments were the king mattress and the so called art on the walls - blah! If you don't care for foam mattresses then book a room somewhere else. I found it tollerable for three nights, but I certainly wouldn't own one.

I've stayed in Cannon Beach numerous times over the past 40 years and the Surfsand is definetely one of the best properties in the local area and we give it high marks the mattress notwithstanding.

  • Liked — The view from the room
  • Disliked — The king bed mattress
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

*Very* helpful staff on reception. Free movies, cookies, milk, beach towels, etc - really made an effort. We paid extra for a room with a balcony overlooking the beach and were very happy with the suite we got, very comfortable, roomy, and great view.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

We booked at the Surfsand when we were not able to get a reservation at the Stephanie Inn. I am happy to say that this hotel was WAY beyond my expectations. I actually think I liked it better than the Stephanie Inn. Due to our last minute planning, there were only 2 rooms available when I called the Surfsand. An eye level king, which they said did not have the best views, and a room in the Veranda building. We booked the Veranda, and it was great. The bathroom is spacious with a soaking tub (not a jacuzzi but still large) and a king size bed. The decor was modern, and not what I expected, but in a good way! I will definitely be staying here again...

  • Liked — Great rooms, right next to Wayfarer
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger,Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

My in-laws had a 50th wedding anniversary "get together" here and let me tell ya...fantastic!We booked our stay thru Martha who is just a sweetheart....She is pretty much in charge of everything,or at least she was our wisdom on the where to's and how to's!There is a nice elevator on every building so it was wonderful for my mother-in-law to get around.You are a few short steps to the beach from anywhere in the complex.Johnathon was a great cobana boy serving on the deck ,as was rachael at the front desk.....we couldn't of ask for a better time!Free milk,cookies,Apples and taffy were there for the taking.WE WILL BE BACK!Hotdog feed and icecream social were awesome out on deck also.Can't say enough.........book it!

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Address: 148 West Gower Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfsand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. iPod docs, deep soaking tubs, a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfsand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.