We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Surfsand Resort to your Saves list
Surfsand Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   148 West Gower Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Surfsand Resort is absolutely amazing! After traveling 1800 miles over 4 days and seeing beautiful sights (from Phoenix to Cannon Beach), our final destination was Surfsand Resort. We couldn't have picked a better location to end our epic journey at! The beach is breathtaking, and the hotel is so clean and charming. We booked the romance package, and while it was a little pricier than it should have been, it was still great (for almost $200, I wish we could've at least kept the robes!). With the package, we had rose petals on the bed, a bath bomb, candle & beach glass & shells by the soaking tub, delicious champagne & chocolate covered strawberries. It was so nice to arrive and have chilled champagne to sip on. We spent 2 nights, and we are already planning another cross country trip that will end in Cannon Beach. This time, we plan to stay 4 nights. The staff was so friendly and knowledgeable. We purchased a bonfire on our last night, and had a very nice time. The s'mores package had way too much in it for just 2 people, but it was a fun experience.

The room was perfect. We stayed in a Beachfront Suite. I loved the separation of the bedroom & living room. We had a fire going at almost all times in the living room. The tub was amazing! We couldn't get the tv to work in the bathroom, but really, who needs that anyway??? The only issue I had was the bed. I have back issues, and I couldn't get comfortable in the bed. This is not to say that the bed wasn't great...my husband absolutely LOVED it, and I'm sure I would've as well had I not been experiencing back pain. It's a tempur-pedic, so you sink into the mattress. I need to toss & turn at night, and it took too much energy to lift myself up and roll over. The balcony was nice, but it was too cold for us to sit out and really enjoy it (we live in Tampa, not used to 60 degree temps!).

The town is also very charming. There's plenty of places to eat, we did try out the Wayfarer Restaurant on property, but probably won't go back again. There's too many other places to try out.

One weird thing we noticed, the beach had an awful lot of dead birds on it. We mentioned it to the man that set up our bonfire, and he seemed mystified as to why there were so many dead birds. We speculated that they might've been diving & hit some rocks, but it was strange that the local didn't have an explanation & seemed surprised by it himself.

All in all, this was the best trip we've ever taken, and the highlight was this amazing resort. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments about the Surfsand Resort. We are so happy that you had such a wonderful time during your stay with us! The bonfires on the beach our wonderful and the s’mores our delicious! We’re looking forward to your next trip to stay with us!

Salutation,
Jerry W Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    125
    34
    8
    4
See reviews for
187
289
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westville, Indiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I love Cannon Beach, it was our first visit there. I would recommend the second or third floor.
We had 2nd floor oceanfront. It was beautiful. We got a glimpse of bottom floor and it felt like a basement. We ate breakfast at the Wayfarer restaurant, attached to the hotel and it was delicious and service was great. I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We had oceanfront 2nd floor, it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
I’m glad you enjoyed your first trip to Cannon Beach and making us apart of it! Next time stop by around 3:30 and enjoy are fresh bake chocolate chip cookies! The Wayfarer does have a fantastic breakfast menu, next time maybe room service so you can relax in your room while you eat. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Ever grateful,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

For a first time visitor to the town and hotel Diana was a huge help in walking me through the myriad of room options available. We settled on an ocean front room and the balcony was perfect for enjoying the sunset. But as many have noted, this is really just a very expensive motel. Having stayed in water front resorts in Florida and Northern Michigan, at comparable prices, I have to say this greatly pales in comparison. The room was very small (no ocean front suites were available and I had no idea how tiny the room would be), the tv does not have HD (at these prices it should be a given), and the single computer in the hallway of the lobby is a cheap laptop connected to a printer. Additionally, the turn down service was nothing more than pulling the sheets back and dropping four chocolate mint sticks on them. A first rate property would have dimmed the lights, set the clock radio to a soothing station (if the room had a clock radio, which it didn't) and set four Godiva chocolates on the sheets. But this is an upscale motel, not a first class property or resort. Lastly, we could not close our door when leaving without the door latch blocking it. I got the impression it's been that way for decades. I suppose if they could get away with all that at these premium prices, all the power to them. But don't say you weren't warned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated right on the beach, just to the north of Haystack rocks. The beach is lovely to walk on, uninterrupted for quite a long stretch.
The hotel is very nice inside the rooms, they've been meticulously upgraded with marble counters, mini kitchens, gas fireplaces and oh-such-heavenly beds! Beautiful microfiber robes, lightweight but cozy, top off the excellent experience. My room had a balcony which overlooked Haystack rock- a sublime stay!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for such wonderful comments about our rooms! Sounds like your beach walks were wonderful! Next time enjoy a cozy bonfire on the beach with lovely views of Haystack Rock! We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Thanks again,
Jerry W Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights for our 48th anniversary. We had stayed here for our 35th and decided to stay again because this hotel has level beach access, i.e., no steep stairs to reach the beach. We love the room's amenities including the walk-in shower, soaking tub, and gas fireplace (although it wasn't used due to warm weather). The hotel offers an on-demand shuttle service to and from town that was perfect for older customers. We would have liked better beach service. We were not told until check out that wind blocks were available. The hotel could do a better job at making known to their customers all the hotel services and amenities. We could have used bell service for luggage or a better explanation about how to access the elevator via a ramp (discovered after lugging luggage up some steps to reach the two-sided elevator. We recommend this hotel but not for those concerned about costs. We think it is excellent but overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront-facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Happy Anniversary! I’m glad that you enjoyed our driving service we offer. I’m sorry you were not informed about our wind breakers that we offer on the beach at check in. Looking forward to seeing you in the future!

Gratefully,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our preferred hotel was not available but we are extremely pleased to have found our new favorite. Great location with view of Haystock Rock. Our room was extremely clean with elegant decorative touches. The TV in the bathroom was also a fun touch. It's not located in the main town but it's close enough to quickly run in to poke around the shops. The beds are tempurpedic style and was extremely comfortable, the linens were also high quality. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are excited to hear that you found a new favorite place to stay in the Cannon Beach area. Glad you enjoy all the small touches in your room! Also next time enjoy our complimentary driving service to take you into town!

We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldens Bridge, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Park yourself at this resort with incredible service, views and amenities. Cost is high end but Cannon Beach make memories with this hotel. A wonderful indoor pool and whirlpool add to the fun. Umbrella and chair set-up with wind barrier are yours for the asking. Handicapped accessible with elevators and ramps to all levels.

Room Tip: Spend more for a view of the ocean. Mezmorising sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the beach set ups provided by our Cabana Service. We are so glad we could be part of the memories that were being made!

Hope to see you in the future!
Jerry W Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Address: 148 West Gower Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfsand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. iPod docs, deep soaking tubs, a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfsand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.