We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Access Favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfsand Resort

Save Saved
You added Surfsand Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   148 West Gower Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Cannon Beach
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beach Access Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights for our 48th anniversary. We had stayed here for our 35th and decided to stay again because this hotel has level beach access, i.e., no steep stairs to reach the beach. We love the room's amenities including the walk-in shower, soaking tub, and gas fireplace (although it wasn't used due to warm weather). The hotel offers an on-demand shuttle service to and from town that was perfect for older customers. We would have liked better beach service. We were not told until check out that wind blocks were available. The hotel could do a better job at making known to their customers all the hotel services and amenities. We could have used bell service for luggage or a better explanation about how to access the elevator via a ramp (discovered after lugging luggage up some steps to reach the two-sided elevator. We recommend this hotel but not for those concerned about costs. We think it is excellent but overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront-facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Happy Anniversary! I’m glad that you enjoyed our driving service we offer. I’m sorry you were not informed about our wind breakers that we offer on the beach at check in. Looking forward to seeing you in the future!

Gratefully,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    116
    32
    4
    4
See reviews for
168
260
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our preferred hotel was not available but we are extremely pleased to have found our new favorite. Great location with view of Haystock Rock. Our room was extremely clean with elegant decorative touches. The TV in the bathroom was also a fun touch. It's not located in the main town but it's close enough to quickly run in to poke around the shops. The beds are tempurpedic style and was extremely comfortable, the linens were also high quality. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are excited to hear that you found a new favorite place to stay in the Cannon Beach area. Glad you enjoy all the small touches in your room! Also next time enjoy our complimentary driving service to take you into town!

We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldens Bridge, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Park yourself at this resort with incredible service, views and amenities. Cost is high end but Cannon Beach make memories with this hotel. A wonderful indoor pool and whirlpool add to the fun. Umbrella and chair set-up with wind barrier are yours for the asking. Handicapped accessible with elevators and ramps to all levels.

Room Tip: Spend more for a view of the ocean. Mezmorising sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the beach set ups provided by our Cabana Service. We are so glad we could be part of the memories that were being made!

Hope to see you in the future!
Jerry W Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Center, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We paid $900 for two night and the room was hot. No AC on the property. Great location though. They do have a fan in the closet if your ok with that. It was just an ok for the too. Some do not mind sleeping when it is hot but I don't feel that for the price was worth the temp in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our first trip to Cannon Beach so we were not sure what to expect. This resort was recommended to us by another resort in town since they had no vacancy and we were traveling with a small dog. Positives: Fantastic location on the beach with easy beach access on either side of the resort. Very close to Haystack Rock. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean and well appointed with a small refrigerator, microwave, dishes, table and chairs, sofa bed, flat screen TV, DVD player, iPhone radio/alarm clock/charger. Great and abundant services: Indoor pool, gym, a la carte items such as purchase of robes, chocolates, flowers at reasonable prices. Love the fact you can be set up for a bon fire on the beach. L'Occitane bath amenities - but what you expect for the price. We paid nearly $400 for an ocean front King room. They have activities seems each day and warm cookies in the afternoon. The front desk staff is efficient, helpful and very welcoming. They even welcome the pets on a sign in the lobby. Amenities for the pooch included bowls, place mat, lightly padded blanket, towels and treats. Bath wash available on side of resort. Negatives: small balcony and closed in, expected more open balconies as in photo. With all windows open the room was warm, it was much cooler outside in the evening than in our room. No AC, poor ventilation. Would be nice with at least ceiling fans, we discovered a fan in the closet as we were leaving. We would stay here again but we'll know there is a fan next time.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for making us a part of your first trip to Cannon Beach! I’m glad you and the pooch enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer during your stay.
Cheers,
Jerry W Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The resort is right on the beach or a few hundred steps away o you cant get any better than that. The resort is clean and well appointed however, our room had no air conditioning and no air circulation which meant it was very hot and stuffy even though it wasn't really warm outside. Beds are memory foam so they are very tough to move in, soft yes, but difficult to sleep in all night as it was warm and those beds tend to be on the warmer side. Staff were friendly. Bathroom toilet seat was not the right one for the toilet and was worn. It really was very misplaced given how nicely the room was decorated. Overall I might consider staying here again but I would have to ensure there was air conditioning in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. Even rooms behind main building have partial view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent location and perfect view of Haystack Rock. Ask for a room on the third floor -- definitely NOT in the basement. We were in room 301 -- perfect with fireplace and great view. Only disadvantage was the the fireplace stayed very warm even after turning it off -- maybe need some air conditioning which normally wouldn't be needed since it's on the chilly side there. We had evening turn-down service (no charge) and got a handful of chocolate mints instead of the usual one each. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean and neat.

Room Tip: Third floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed the view from your room, and turndown service! Sounds like the staff took great care of you.
Hope to see you in the near future!
Jerry W Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Address: 148 West Gower Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfsand Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. iPod docs, deep soaking tubs, a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfsand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.