We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beach resort !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Surfsand Resort to your Saves list
Surfsand Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   148 West Gower Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Brecksville, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach resort !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Cannon Beach was recommended to us 3 yrs ago via Trip Advisor, when we were looking for a side trip from Portland. We spent 2 nights @ Surf Sand. We loved it & the area so much, we vowed to come back again ( from Ohio) for a longer visit. Earlier this month, we returned for 4 nights to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We again booked an ocean view suite. They are a bit pricey, but worth it. The bathroom is incredible-- soaking tub & glassed shower stall with ocean views
(thanks to a sliding screen that can also be closed). The rooms are comfortable and lovely & include mini fridge, coffee maker, safe, fireplace, multiple flat screen TVs, and balcony. Beach is very deep, and right by Haystack Rock. During the day, complimentary umbrellas, chairs & wind breaking screens are available & complimentary. Evening bonfires on the beach include S'mores, and you are welcome to bring down a bottle of wine. Everyone we dealt with on the hotel staff was great. Upon check-in, we found a congratulatory note and nice bottle pf champagne that we enjoyed in mimosas on our balcony the morning of our anniversary. You can easily walk into town for some fun shops, and a variety of good restaurants are also an easy walk. The hotel is dog friendly, but all of the dogs we've encountered there were well behaved/supervised by their owners. Ecola State Park is a short drive away, with incredible coastal views. We love the Surf Sand, and hope to return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    125
    34
    8
    4
See reviews for
187
289
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed several days in Cannon Beach, and during that time made The Surfsand our home. We had a one bedroom suite overlooking the ocean, and loved the spectacular views from our balcony. We wanted an upscale beach resort and that is exactly what we got. The accommodations were great-comfy furniture, a big bathroom, and three flat screen tvs. My only complaint would be the very small and challenging-to-drink-from mugs. I love my coffee each morning and treasure each sip. I believe if you are paying over $400 a night, they should offer some nicer mugs for their guests. Otherwise, it was a perfect stay!! We can't say enough about the wonderful staff on the beach each day. They are all very hard workers, super friendly, and will do whatever it takes to make you happy. The campfires each evening were a special treat. We are big fans of Cannon Beach and The Surfsand Resort. We can't wait to get back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Wanted to see the Oregon coast so we picked Cannon Beach as the home base. Very pleased with the choice. The Surfsand is a great place for a beach stay. We rented a one bedroom suite with an ocean view. Great view and room layout. Sitting area with fridge and coffee maker and large bathroom with spa tub and separate shower. Staff will build you a fire on the beach for the price of the wood. Even have a Smore kit for sale. Kit will make a lot of smores. Hotel has a resort style architecture with room doors opening to the parking lot. Staff was very friendly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a great way to end the summer! We took advantage of the specials that Surfsand offers on the internet and had a wonderful end of summer family vacation. We arrived early, and they had a room for us already. From the afternoon cookies, to the indoor pool to the close proximity to the beach, it was outstanding. The staff was warm and friendly. Kids eat free at the Wayfarer, although they are across the street, we found the service subpar and a little expensive. The kids had a great time and would definately return to Surfsand in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Great position we were on the beach, which we could not see for the fog for the first day. But, great service, lovely spot pricey but best place to stay in town. The Wayfarer restaurant had the best fish n chips and Cobbler I have ever eaten.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just returned from on stay at the Surfsand resort. We were amazed by the beautiful beach and spectular sunsets from our patio. The ocean view room was nice but we found it overpriced at $409 per night + tax. We have stayed at many luxury resorts over the years and found the Surfsand lacking in luxurious amendities for this price point - NO Air CONDITIONER in rooms. We were also very disappointed when we checked out we used an American Express gift card, at first they said oh we don't think you can use these. I insisted that they use it and after it went through they promptly cut the card in two leaving me SOL for the $60 balance remaining on the card. The girl said oh I'm so sorry, I've never done that before maybe you can use the balance on line? We are returning to Cannon Beach next year and plan on staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived before check in time but they were able to get us our room. This property is located on a great beach and they provide chairs, umbrellas and even wind barriers. There was a bomb fire on the beach and lots of families with children. The staff were hard working and very friendly.
The room was comfortable and clean with an awesome shower.
I would love to bring the grandkids here one day.

Room Tip: We were in a lower level room with a view of the deck and beach. It was fine but if we stayed longer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Address: 148 West Gower Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfsand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. iPod docs, deep soaking tubs, a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfsand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.