We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a total rip off never stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach to your Saves list
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 S. Hemlock Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$84 (USD)
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Kildare , ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“what a total rip off never stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

we arrived in Cannon Beach with nowhere to stay around 6pm on a saturday evening. the only place we could find was in the hallmark, the check in staff were rude and very unhelpful. the room itself was actually around 7 blocks away from the hotel with a view of the road. the room smelled of smoke, the bath was dirty and there were black hairs on the bed sheets.my husband and i were so dissappointedconsidering Cannon Beach is such a lovely town this really ruined our memory of it. i metioned all this to the staff at checkout the next morning and they couldnt have been less helpfull. i really feel we were totally ripped off paying 125.00 inc tax for the one night. this was the only time in a two week road trip from LA ot Seattle that we felt this stongly about accomodation. all we can do now is to make sure no one else gets done the way we did so be ware and do not stay here

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    150
    39
    20
    23
See reviews for
141
239
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We booked at this hotel b/c of the view. We read that it was second to none. In my opinion all views on Cannon Beach are second to none. It is a stunning destination that I recomend to anyone who likes what I call angry water. Ive stayed in Best Westerns cleaner and fresher than this hole. Trust me, dont book here. There is a gym but unless you like to inhale mold when you workout just walk the very long beach. Indoor pool was ok. Everything here is just done so cheaply I really would just advise that you book somewhere cleaner. The wifi is a myth. Does not work and didnot work the entire 5 day stay. They promised to send somebody to fix this issue but noone did even after we lost our temper.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Check in "begins" at 4 meaning it might not be until the next day that your room is available, then when you can check in expect to get snippy and snotty attitude from one of the managers and when you finally do get to your dark extremely outdated room do NOT expect it to be clean, and if you want it clean either bring your cleaning supplies with you or expect to call in at least 10 times for some half a** job hours later. I would have had better accommodations sleeping in my car. But it doesn't end their, at check out you will be treated like an idiot and dismissed when you inform them again about your dirty room and the rude attitude from the manager lady the night before, you'll just get a "well you should have called someone and we could have helped you with that!" Uhhhhh you don't think I tried? I requested to speak with another manager and all I got was her eyes rolling and a very VERY dismissive reply. I have never been anywhere with such horrible service. STAY FAR AWAY!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We have stayed at the Hallmark resort several times in Cannon Beach. You can't beat the view but they REALLY need to do some updating with that $275 a night they make off all the rooms. This year we also stayed at the Hallmark in Newport and WOW!!!! That place is AWESOME. HUGE rooms, very clean and $100 less per night than the Hallmark in Cannon Beach. It seems like we should of been paying the $275 a night for the one in Newport and the $175 a night for the one in Cannon Beach. Its backwards. Anyway, the rooms are really small, especially compared to the one in Newport, not real clean and like I said, they REALLY need updating. Most of the outside carpets are worn through to wood. The entire room needs a facelift. I also had to kill a HUGE spider that I saw walking up the wall one evening. I swear it was the size of a tarantula(maybe not quite) but, it was the biggest spider I've ever seen. I know its "Cannon Beach" but I dont know if we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

This is my second stay at Hallmark @ Cannon beach. The hotel staff is friendly, and helpful. Both times I have been greeted with a clean room, firm beds to sleep on, and spotless baths. (This hotel does the basics very well… my previous experience was a knothole room under the stairs in a building facing the street. It was just as clean & neat as the high dollar view room)
This time I brought along friends and we sprung for the ocean view of Haystack Rock just outside the hotel. The view is what allows them to charge what they do. It was just short of fantastic. We had a balcony room on the first floor. Ample room to spread out, and enjoy the view.
Minor negatives: Our room had no air-conditioning. The hot summer day had us wishing for the AC until the sun sunk into the Pacific. After that, the cold Pacific waters cooled everything off and almost made us light the fireplace logs.
The interior of our room was stuck in the mid 80’s. Not bad or worn, but just a little out of date. Sound proofing is a problem. Rent the top floor room to keep your neighbors heard of elephants from waking you at 0730...
If you reserve a room well in advance, you will be charged for it the day you make the reservation; something to keep in mind when making reservations. Other hotels on this trip were booked at the same time (three months in advance) did not charge in advance and gave us the same 48 hour re-schedule / cancel opportunity. (Something to think about in this down economy)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

So-so rooms where 'some' windows are clean and you pay for it too. Request cleaning if you like but don't expect it to happen. Bring your own window cleaner & squeegee. The same goes for the deck chairs. Oh you mean you shouldn't expect clean windows or chairs at $200+ per night? Oops.
Oh did you want to 'choose' your room in advance? You might get a general area, but that ocean 'view' just might come with your fellow travelers parking below your room which equals noise. Staff...I can't hear you over the noise...do you have a complaint? Here put it here with all the rest in the 'round file' and we'll get back to you...ha, ha, ha and have a nice day.
Weather was ok, rainy on one day so we were glad to have cleaned the windows which nearly doubled our view. Hotel probably would have charged us more if they knew.
They have such a great location, but such average service and apathetic or empathetic staff it makes you wonder why people would stay here at these prices.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Just came back from a 3 day stay @ the Hallmark Square, stayed in unit 155. Upon entering there's a tear on the carpet right by the door, a tripping hazard. The window blinds are also falling apart. The vanity top in the bathroom has a big chip, the shower has a brown stain and the grout looks moldy. The dishwasher left a big puddle on the kitchen floor every time it was used, I was told that you have to "load it right" to prevent the puddle. Most concerning of all is the old , rusting fridge with moldy looking stuff. I took pictures of all my concerns and requested to meet with the resort manager but I was told that he was in a meeting so I talked with the front office manager instead. The room is definitely not worth the $159.00 + tax per night .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach

Address: 1400 S. Hemlock Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest resort to famous Haystack Rock, we offer panoramic oceanfront views and a variety of room styles to meet your needs, including guestrooms with fireplaces and romantic in-room spas. For the family experience, choose suites featuring 1 or 2 bedrooms, Sico beds, kitchenettes, and spacious living areas. Rejuvenate at Elements By The Sea, our on-site day spa and enjoy our 2 indoor heated pools, 3 swirl spas, exercise room, and sauna. Complimentary house-baked cookies at check-in, popcorn in your room, and high-speed WI-FI are available in guestrooms. We are pet friendly in 50% of our guestrooms. Newly renovated oceanfront guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach Hotel Cannon Beach
Hallmark Hotel Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.