We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach to your Saves list
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 S. Hemlock Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$84 (USD)
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Albany, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here after a last minute reservation. You can use the other sites (expedia, etc) but you can find rooms directly on their site to get reservations that are available. Just be sure you click the Cannon Beach hotel and not the Newport one (nothing wrong with Newport but if you are headed to Cannon Beach, Newport is a ways away).

We found the place very nice even though they are going through a revision. Had excellent views from the ocean front balconies with great views of the rock.

Great hotel staff steered us toward some more "local" eateries. They sent us to Cannon Beach Hardware and Public House. When you bust a wall open between a hardware store and a restaurant that was closed down you get the Screw and Brew (hardware and beer/eats in the same place)

They also directed us to Bill's Brewery. OK food, but I like the Hardware store better! Great little town to get away from everything franchised in our state and directly pay the locals. I would definitely stay here again!!!!!

Room Tip: Get an Ocean View. Super views. Definitely recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Kuffmup,
I am delighted you discovered the Hallmark Resort & Spa during your last minute trip to Cannon Beach. You are right regarding reservations. You will always find the best rates and availability if you go to our own website or call us directly. I suggest you sign up for our monthly specials on our website. At the beginning of each month we send out special offers only available to our email guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your Hallmark experience and we look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    150
    39
    20
    23
See reviews for
141
239
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This property is our resort of choice in Cannon Beach, we can't say enough good things about the Hallmark Inn. The resent remodel of the rooms is bonus, wonderful views of the beach from the balcony, swivel flat screen TV's, cozy beds, and the gas fireplace make it hard to even leave the room! We always ask for Room #320 top floor and in the corner, best room because it sports and extra window & on the balcony there is a window that acts as a wind break so you are pretty comfortable. We were fortunate to witness a rare treat....snowing on the beach! Haystack Rock looked like an ice cream sundae! There were also surfers braving the chilly waves. So make your reservations, they will have popcorn for the microwave in your room and a warm cookie on your arrival when you check in!!

Room Tip: Room #320 top floor, you can almost touch Haystack Rock from the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Materialblessings,
Thank you so much for making the Hallmark Resort & Spa your 'home away from home" when visiting Cannon Beach. I agree room 320 has absolutely drop dead views of Haystack rock and the Pacific. I'm delighted you like our new look and we look forward to welcoming you home the next time you visit Cannon Beach.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We've stayed as a family many, many times in Cannon Beach. The Hallmark's beach house rentals are the way to go for trips with our family. We've stayed in a three beach houses over the years. Depending on how many family members are making the trip, there's a house to fit upwards of 12+ people.

The beach access and living literally steps from Cannon Beach, is unbeatable. Plus, maid service, clean towels, and access to the Hallmark's swimming pool makes any of the Hallmark's beach houses perfect rental.

And I can't say enough about the hotel's front desk staff; great service and attention to little details.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Ryan_Awram,
Thank you for sharing your Hallmark experience with other travelers. The oceanfront beach houses are a great alternative for large families. Thanks for making the Hallmark Resort & Spa a family tradition and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catoosa, OK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We always stay at the Hallmark when we head to Cannon Beach. It's clean & kept up, the staff are friendly and helpful, and it's in a great location (plus is right on the beach). Highly recommend. Best rooms are on the top corner, but they're all good.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Haystack Rock. Top corner rooms best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Penelope54,
I'm delighted you have made the Hallmark Resort & Spa a tradition when visiting the Oregon coast. Thank you for sharing your experiences with other travelers. We strive to make the Hallmark Resort your home away from home and we look forward to seeing you the next time.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a beachfront resort with stairs going down to the beach. We stayed in one of the oceanfront rooms that had a great view of the rock and the coast for miles in each direction. The view is definitely worth the extra money. The room is a little on the small side but adequate for a couple. A family would need one of the units that have at least one bedroom and they are much more expensive. The furnishings were new and the room appeared to have been recently renovated. The only sounds we heard during our stay were the large waves. There was work still going on and we were told the building across from the office is being currently renovated. The workers and equipment did take up some valuable parking spots which were at a premium on a Saturday night so hopefully they will be done soon. We would suggest they replace the in room coffee because unlike some other hotels their coffee is loose and not sealed in a filter. Also, the taste could have been a little better.
The staff at the front desk was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms with the full ocean view are worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Mark951,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated oceanfront guestrooms and the spectacular views of Haystack Rock and the beach. While we are not the cheapest place to stay in Cannon Beach, we are also not the most expensive. The fall and winter months are the value season and always look at our web site for each month's specials. I'm delighted to inform you our guestroom renovation is now complete and the re-roofing project will be done soon.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Hallmark has always been a favorite place to visit and stay at in Oregon. When we first were married and started going to Cannon beach we saved our money so that we could stay in the front rooms by the ocean. The rooms were beautiful, and we treated ourselves to the jacuzzi room. You can see the ocean and rest and relax. The sunsets sitting on the balcony is something you will never forget!

Room Tip: Always the front ocean rooms are the best where you can hear the ocean crashing. All the ones in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Connie F,
Thank you for making the Hallmark Resort & Spa a tradition when you visit Cannon Beach. The oceanfront rooms do have amazing views of Haystack Rock and the Pacific. I'm delighted you enjoy your visits. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you the next time you come to the coast.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Property is well maintained, service was positive and what we were looking for. Room was nice, clean, and well appointed. Wonderful view of the Pacific ocean with easy beach access. We were on the 2nd floor and there was little noticeable noise from any side, which makes the stay even better. My side of the bed, the wall side was very comfortable, but my wife mentioned that her side, the one where every sits was less comfortable, most likely due to all the people who sit there. I realize this is something that probably happens to all beds over time. Especially on the side that is so well used.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear dandwj,
Thank you for taking the time to review your Hallmark experience and thank you for choosing the Hallmark Resort. I'd like to know your room number so I can take a look at the mattress. We replaced most all of our mattresses this past spring and I want to make sure we take care of this one. If you have the time, please contact me at Kirby@hallmarkinns.com and let me know. Thank you again for choosing the Hallmark Resort & Spa and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Cannon Beach.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach

Address: 1400 S. Hemlock Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest resort to famous Haystack Rock, we offer panoramic oceanfront views and a variety of room styles to meet your needs, including guestrooms with fireplaces and romantic in-room spas. For the family experience, choose suites featuring 1 or 2 bedrooms, Sico beds, kitchenettes, and spacious living areas. Rejuvenate at Elements By The Sea, our on-site day spa and enjoy our 2 indoor heated pools, 3 swirl spas, exercise room, and sauna. Complimentary house-baked cookies at check-in, popcorn in your room, and high-speed WI-FI are available in guestrooms. We are pet friendly in 50% of our guestrooms. Newly renovated oceanfront guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach Hotel Cannon Beach
Hallmark Hotel Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.