We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch on the go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Basil's Cafe

Sweet Basil's Cafe
271 N. Hemlock St., Cannon Beach, OR 97110
+1 503-436-1539
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 44 Restaurants in Cannon Beach
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Sandwiches, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night
west palm beach, nyc
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lunch on the go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was an ok place for lunch on the go. No complaints, no stars, not over the top, and better than some more popular lunch places in town. I have 2 choices that were great, and this is the second of the 2 - not great, just good. I was pleased.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    74
    23
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Play live music at the ajoining bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Nice atmosphere, lovely healthy food. Highly recommend if you arent too hungry and want to a relaxing dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We struggled to find top quality food on the coast but this little nugget is working hard to be one of the best options in town. It's a small place with maybe 10 tables but churns out some tasty dishes. We had pulled pork sliders, crab cakes paired with a good selection of wines by the glass
The only other meal we could recommend in town was the wayfarer.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great gourmet food, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Love this place! My wife and I dropped in on a Friday night. There was a small group playing live music - reggae, R&R, blues - they were great and interacted with the audience. I can't speak to the entire menu, but the crab and portobello mushroom entree was OUTSTANDING. We do some gourmet cooking and really appreciated the amazing combo of flavors. Salad was fresh, fresh with sweet tomatoes. Dessert was a marionberry pie - not too sweet, which is unusual. Service was very attentive and engaging.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The perfect find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My mom and I were looking for a place to eat in Cannon Beach that had more than typical beach fried foods. We were thrilled to find Sweet Basil's. Their food was fresh and delicious! They have several vegetarian/vegan options. Their salad was amazing. The décor was quaint and really added to the place. We will be eating there again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Basil's Cafe also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sweet Basil's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Basil's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.