We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a wonderful experience eating here, when we visit from Miami, Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Basil's Cafe

Sweet Basil's Cafe
271 N. Hemlock St., Cannon Beach, OR 97110
503-436-1539
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 40 restaurants in Cannon Beach
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always a wonderful experience eating here, when we visit from Miami, Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Sweet Basil's is one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at on the coast of Oregon.
I don't love most of the restaurants in Cannon Beach, Oregon; however, everytime my family and I visit Cannon Beach, we eat at Sweet Basil and thoroughly enjoy it. There are lots of options for lunch, and I hear dinner is great there too. Try their daily soup specials, and sea food specials. The service is always great. Sitting outside is also a great way to catch some sun, some nice breeze, and meet some other tourists, and locals too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    93
    55
    15
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service and pooly managed kitchen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Looking at the menu my husband and I were excited to try Sweet Basil's and were sadly disappointed! As longtime visitors to Cannon Beach we were thrilled to finally try Sweet Basil's. The restaurant is small and intimate with a menu that upon reading looks very tempting.

Upon arrival we selected a out door table and were notified that they just received a rush and would get to us as soon as possible. As former NYC restaurant people we understand that you can get a rush and were appreciative of the notice. Little did we know that after that they would forget my wine and that we would have to wait 45 minutes for a cheese plate!

As for the food, our first appetizer/small bite was delicious but the cheese plate was nothing but Costco cheeses and jams arranged carefully on a plate (note to chef...Oregon is home to many wonder cheese makers...do some research because many people shop and buy cheeses at Costco)! I would like to say that we enjoyed our entrees but after waiting a good hour had to tell them we had to leave to make a show at the theater (which we mentioned to our server prior to ordering our drinks). Our food was then wrapped and brought to us with the bill. We were assured by our server that the owner/manager felt terrible but never saw them.

Note to owner/manager: if you are truly sorry for the services a customer receives tell them in person. Also, when guests have a noticeably bad experience comp a drink or two...you would be amazed at what this goodwill will do towards getting a return customer. But as we received neither, we will look towards other restaurants in Cannon Beach to fill our stomachs (like Driftwood or the Irish Table) and will tell everyone we know going to Cannon Beach (and living in Cannon Beach which we know many) to avoid this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Rude service - good food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We went because of the vegan options and good reviews. Food was good however I have never been treated more rudely. We were a party of four. After 15 minutes of waiting for any service even to place order, one of our party asked if they remembered we were there. The rest of the evening, the staff were belligerent asking if we really wanted to wait. We should have left. Obnoxious attitude continued through the long evening. Almost an hour with only glass of water. When food came, it did not have ingredients listed on menu. Will never return. Too bad since we enjoyed the food that was correctly described.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Definitely worth going! I went with my friend and husband and the food was definitely worth the wait! I love that they have options for vegans, since that seems to be the hardest part of traveling. The service was great, and the food was delicious! Their vegan chocolate brownie was to die for! We will definitely stop by again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great music and people! Good food also and an excellent variety of wines from around the world.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Basil's Cafe also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sweet Basil's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Basil's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.