We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Morris' Fireside Restaurant

Morris' Fireside Restaurant
207 N Hemlock St, Hemlock and Second Sts., Cannon Beach, OR 97110
503-436-2917
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 42 Restaurants in Cannon Beach
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stopped for dinner there while staying at McBee Cottages. It looked like a nice place from the outside, and we were celebrating a special birthday. When we entered we stood in the lobby, no one came to greet us. We had almost decided to turn around and leave when someone showed up and seated us. We were the only ones in the restaurant which made us wonder if we should question our decision to stay. I ordered a cocktail, my husband ordered a beer. Beer only comes in a can there, but he said ok. We ordered dinner, he had the rib eye and I had the halibut. It was just ok. Nothing special. Neither of us touched the vegetables on our plates. They just didn't look very appetizing. While we were eating we saw other couples enter the restaurant and stand there waiting to be seated. When no one came to seat them they turned around and walked out. I wonder if the restaurant realizes they are losing potential customers? Maybe that is why there was only one other couple in the restaurant while we were there. Would I recommend this restaurant? No, I think we could have done better elsewhere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    81
    59
    40
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Richland, WA, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Service was good, the menu was varied and reasonably priced. We had Crab Louie's crab very fresh. This is a family owned restaurant with a long history in Cannon Beach.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Save your money and stomach”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This would be a great location for a restaurant. The building is interesting with some history, but the server was untrained and unkempt and the evening's special was deplorable. This place needs a cook who understands (and cares) about basic food preparation. If you can't make a meat loaf that holds together with a gravy made from scratch... Have to say the mashed potatoes wouldn't have been bad except they had some (maybe celery) bits incorporated, uncooked. The broccoli side was dry and flavorless. All in all, I found this meal to be a waste of money. A good cleaning crew might help, as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“If only I'd checked TripAdvisor first!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Got up early and drove to Cannon City from Portland on a dreary Monday morning. At first I thought the town had been evacuated - not a creature was stirring and it was rainy and foggy.

The first place I saw with an "Open" sign was Fireside Restaurant. It's just breakfast - everyone can make a good breakfast. Right?

Having eaten some unhealthy meals during this trip, I zeroed in on the spinach / onion / mushroom / sausage omelet. I make those at home and they're great! And it came with hashbrowns and a biscuit (to which I added country gravy - I don't cook those at home).

I'm sure glad I ordered the country gravy (paid extra, too) . . . it was the only thing with any flavor. Seriously. I took several sips of water between bites and kept trying the omelet. Bland. How do you make a bland omelet with spinach, onions and mushrooms? I mean, almost no flavor at all. Without the country gravy lighting up my taste buds I actually questioned whether I'd lost the ability to sense flavor.

Service was attentive (I was one of four tables).

Just . . . disappointing. And expensive for what you can get at Denny's for $6 (not that there's a Denny's in Cannon Beach).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria B.C.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast & dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were walking by this restaurant yesterday morning and smell of bacon pulled us is. The building is a large log cabin style. It was quite early and there were only a couple other tables being served. We were offered up a full pot of coffee which was left on our table. The breakfast menu was a good size but we decided to have eggs, hash browns and bacon. The eggs and hash browns were the usual, but the bacon was amazing. It was thick cut and properly cooked. Worth going back tomorrow. The decor was nice but they have left out different garage sale finds like vases and glasses, all with big price tags. Seems very out of place. Still, we would go back. Breakfast for two was $22 plus tip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morris' Fireside Restaurant also viewed

 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Morris' Fireside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morris' Fireside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.