We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newmans at 988

Newmans at 988
988 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
503-436-1151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 42 Restaurants in Cannon Beach
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Food was excellent as was the waitstaff. Lobster ravioli was a wonder start, the salmon and halibut done perfectly. It was our 30th anniversary and it couldn't have been more perfect. Thank you John and Wendy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    48
    26
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Modesto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Charming historic house, intimate dining. A bit slow on the service. Lobster ravioli was excellent, albeit only 2 pieces on the appetizer. Highly recommend the grilled romaine salad, fantastic! BUT.... our entree was awful. Not just so-so. Really not very good. Hubby ordered chicken piccata to split with me (I really wanted the salmon special....I mean, why order just a chicken when you can have so many other wonderful options???..... But I digress....). The chicken was way over-cooked, tough and dry and no real lemon/butter sauce to speak of. Veggies were OK but sparse (one piece of carrot? Really?). They redeemed themselves on dessert. Bourbon pumpkin cheesecake with some sort of cream sauce. And the coffee was excellent. Our waitress should have steered us away from the chicken as we were open to suggestions. Had the main course not have been so abysmal, I would have given this place 5 stars. But the main course should have been the highlight, not the major disappointment that it was. So, try it, but DO NOT order the chicken!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were looking for a new place to have a nice dinner in Cannon Beach and we read the Yelp reviews. We found it to be every bit as good as reviewed. I had the four course chef dinner: a rich tomato bisque with goat cheese, a peppery arugula and garlic shoot salad and a french inspired duck breast and prawns entree. I shared it with our 10 year old. My wife had the delicious lobster ravioli and loved every minute of it. We shared the traditional creme brulee dessert. It was great but we ought to have been more adventurous and tried one of the infused ones...
The service was great: knowledgeable, friendly and attentive without being over-bearing. This is our new favorite on the coast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've have eaten at Newman's many times and have reviewed it here each time and it's becoming redundant. The food is good and so is the service and it has been each time as it was again this evening.

I had rack of lamb and my wife had her favorite, the lobster ravioli plus a salad that she has always enjoyed. Once again everything was great. This place is certainly one of the best restaurants in Cannon Beach as well as the entire Oregon coast and I've enjoyed a great number of them. Always have had a great meal here and highly recommend it to those who love good food. Looking forward to the next time we have the opportunity to dine here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The looks of the restaurant are deceiving but once inside you'll be pleasantly surprised. The food is delicious! Try the crab cakes they are worth every penny.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newmans at 988 also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Newmans at 988? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newmans at 988, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.