We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lighthouse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lighthouse Inn to your Saves list
The Lighthouse Inn
939 & 963 South Hemlock, P.O. Box 1388, Cannon Beach, OR 97110 (Formerly Van Buren Lighthouse Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fall Beach Special!
Ranked #4 of 16 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The only drawback to our stay here was that <bookings.com> neglected to tell us we had to register a mile down the road from where we were staying. But, this was a fabulous suite with a peek-a-boo ocean view from the balcony. The people were super friendly and when you check in, there are freshly baked (still warm) cookies and saltwater taffy at the front desk. Breakfast was included and was in the "gallery" with lots of choices. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    26
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had the most wonderful relaxing time at the lighthouse inn! We rented movies are the cookies and loved the taffy:) it was a delightful experience!
The staff was very friendly and the room was clean and comfortable- we will be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Excellent service - from everyone on their staff.
Nice details throughout (free sand bucket for daughter to play on the beach, list of things to do around town, complimentary movie rentals - with plenty of new movies, popcorn, cookies and coffee at any hour up till midnight. Buffet breakfast, great location. We really enjoyed our stay, and the customer services was really exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. We came on a Living Social special, so the price was right. I'm not sure I would be willing to pay the standard rate for the room, since there was no ocean view. Room was clean, nice little deck, windows that open, comfortable sofa and chairs, nice decor, lots of towels, kitchenette and dishes with plenty of pans, pleasant staff and an easy walk to store to the south and the downtown area with all its charms to the north. Would definitely stay again, if we could get the same price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The Lighthouse is cozy, comfy, and everything we needed. The shampoo and bath salts were local and very high quality, such a nice touch. Breakfast was more than adequate (thank you for having boiled eggs and yogurt! I am celiac and usually continental breakfasts have nothing for me). We had a nice handwritten note on a bag of salt water taffy awaiting us in the room. The sleeper sofa was memory foam and very comfortable. The fireplace was a lovely touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The Inn was recently redone and the rooms have a nice beach getaway feel. Nice size bedroom (this room had no closet just a cloths rack - which was unusual but no problem). The kichenette/living room/dining area were all in one room - the eating table had room for two people. Kitchenette was small but fine for our needs-microwave and small under counter fridge.
A plus was a huge DVD selection at the sister Inn (The Cannon Beach Inn) beach chairs were also available there along with fresh baked cookies. The breakfast was included in our package and served in a pleasant room. The breakfast location is 1.3 miles south from the inn. We walked to breakfast along the beach and back every morning - it took about 30 minutes each way. Great way to start the day. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have balcony it that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Over all the Lighthouse Inn is very nice. It was clean and well taken care of. The staff are wonderful. Very helpful. My first visit to Cannon Beach and I enjoyed it very much. Also the Lighthouse Inn is just steps from the ocean and very close to down town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse Inn

Address: 939 & 963 South Hemlock, P.O. Box 1388, Cannon Beach, OR 97110 (Formerly Van Buren Lighthouse Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Lighthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Buren Lighthouse Hotel Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lighthouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.