We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at Cannon Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lighthouse Inn

Save Saved
You added The Lighthouse Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lighthouse Inn
939 & 963 South Hemlock, P.O. Box 1388, Cannon Beach, OR 97110 (Formerly Van Buren Lighthouse Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend at Cannon Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I can't say enough great things about The Lighthouse Inn. Our first time staying there and I found the suite to be absolute charming. The suites have recently been remodeled. The staff at the checkin at The Lodges were beyond wonderful. The amenities offered to their guests is absolutely unbelievable - fresh baked cookes, breakfast, movies, marshmellow skewers, sand buckets for the kids, umbrellas, and even jackets - they thought of everything. Both my husband and myself were very impressed and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    19
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you have a dog(s); this place is excellent. They were extremely nice and accommodating for them (treats, frisbees, towels, sheet covers for bed/couch). It was set only a block back from the beach (2 minute walk to the nearest entrance). Down the street from the convenient store and the parking lot which held the farmers market. Drive to downtown only took a couple minutes. They also had a fairly decent movie collection to 'rent' (free) from. The only negative things I can say is that it is a little drive from their main office (they have multiple properties, so make sure you're at the right one!), but Cannon beach isn't a big town, so it only took about 10 minutes. The freezer part of our mini fridge didn't keep my pint of Ben & Jerry's frozen (so unless you plan to eat it right away do NOT waste $8 buying at it the convenient store). There also wasn't a close place to buy crab to cook yourself, so we took a little drive to Seaside for that. They also offered coupons to your choice of restaurant/bakery/movie theater to check out their newest rentals; it took less than 5 minutes and the salesman was very nice, completely worth checking out and receiving the coupon. All in all, nice place and we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great location just a couple of blocks from the beach in mid-town and a few minutes drive from the busier downtown area. Very helpful staff at the check in down the road, and good breakfast there as well. Nicely finished unit that fit our family of 5 (kids aged 10 - 15). Definitely could hear the people and dog in the unit above though, so may want an upper unit if noise bothers you.

Room Tip: Definitely could hear the people and dog in the unit above though, so may want an upper unit if nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at The Lighthouse Inn in mid-June 2012. We had originally wanted to stay in the Surfsand because it's right on the beach and our family had a really positive stay there last year, but they were full and we were not planful. We were referred to the Lodges and then finally to the Lighthouse Inn. It was newly renovated, however, the person who referred us really over-promoted the comfort of the suite for four people (we are a family of four).

That being said, there were several charming elements to the room, which included a very nice pet-friendly accessories and treats and some sea salt taffy for its human occupants. It has a lovely fireplace and location-wise it is only two blocks off the beach, six blocks or so from 'downtown' and two blocks from another little strip with Sleepy Monk Coffee.

For two people, I say, "Perfect!" For more, cramped and lacking in privacy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Lighthouse Inn is an excellent value with a lot of nice amenities for families and a convenient location, but with some limitations as one would expect at this price point.

Stayed in a second floor king suite during mid June, 2012 with my wife and two kids. Recently we stayed at its sister property, The Lodges at Cannon Beach, so much of this review will be in comparison to that hotel. Our average nightly rate at the Lighthouse Inn, taking advantage of a “2 nights for the price of 1” special, was $125 + tax. In comparison, the two bedroom condo at the Lodges at Cannon Beach would have been about $300/night for the same stay.

On the positive side, the staff are uniformly friendly and helpful. The room at the Lighthouse Inn was recently remodeled and spotlessly clean. It comes with a lot of nice amenities: a small refrigerator, microwave oven, 2 burner stove, coffee maker, 2 small flat screen TVs and a DVD player. You also get a nice continental breakfast, free fresh baked cookies, coffee, tea, salt water taffy, and DVD rentals at the main office, which is a less than 5 minute drive away. We were impressed with how comfortable both beds were. Our large, 12 and 14 year old boys commented that the queen size sleeper sofa was surprisingly comfortable, and the fact that they could share that bed for 3 nights without fighting was notable. We also liked the walk in shower which had great water pressure. They provide lots of towels. One of the nicer advantages of the Lighthouse, Inn compared to the other properties that are further south, is its convenient location. The beach is one block away and the shops and restaurants of “downtown” Cannon Beach are also within walking distance. There was a quaint farmer’s market one afternoon one block south of the hotel, and the Sleepy Monk Coffee Shop and Irish Table (our favorite Cannon Beach restaurant so far) are right next to that.

The negatives for the resort are pretty minor. Although the room is spacious, because so much stuff is packed into it, the layout can be strange. For example, the silverware is in a tray in a cupboard about one inch off the floor and right next to the front door. The bathroom has no vanity, so there is no place to put a dopp kit, except on the toilet or the floor. Although the sleeper sofa is comfortable, there are a couple of windows in the main room which do not have shades, and the room can get quite bright in the morning. Also, the room is overall not as luxurious as the condos at the Lodges at Cannon Beach: the towels are not as plush, the countertops are formica not solid surface, the appliances are functional but not luxurious like at the Lodges, and the TVs are a lot smaller. Of course, this is not unexpected given that the Lodges are 2.5x more expensive. Overall, our family was divided in our opinion of the hotel. I prefer the space and luxury of the condos at the Lodges at Cannon Beach, whereas my wife (who is more value-minded) thinks the Lighthouse Inn is perfect for our family. Both are really nice hotels and excellent values, it just boils down to which price point you prefer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We had a last minute weekender at this property over Easter weekend. The weather was predicted to be beautiful (and it was), so hotels boosted all their rates for the occasion of coarse. We tried to book at the sister property and they were full, so recommended The Lighthouse Inn for alternative. Special low rates were offered for the Fresh remodeled rooms. We had a top floor end unit with one bedroom, mini kitchen and balcony. Room is pet friendly with a basket of goodies for Fido. Room was spotless and everything was new and fresh. Giant shower in remodeled bathroom with tons of towels. There are only 8 units in complex keeping it a quiet and private stay.
Best part is the walking distance to everything. Block off of beach. Markets, Coffee, and shopping all a nice close stroll away.
Check-in/out is at sister property a cpl. miles down the street as well as continental breakfast if you like. We chose a little coffee house within blocks to enjoy a light breakfast and a Latte.

Overall, we would stay here again if the price was right again. Dog friendly, great people at desk, and spotless room.
Great job guys!!!

Room Tip: Choose top floor, for balcony and vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

was one of the only places with a room available for the nights I wanted, but was underwhelming for the price.

Cons:
* minor annoyance of having to go to drive to various sister properties to check inn / out / breakfast
* the shower head flipped out constantly spraying the whole bathroom
* the wifi was extremely slow
* it smelled very strongly of paint
* no views of anything
* first floor handicapped accessible unit doesn't have the same amenities as the other rooms but has the same price (to be honest I think I was warned about this when booking but didn't really pay attention since it was last minute/last room available) and is tucked away in the corner of the building making it claustrophobic feeling, the upstairs rooms might be a lot better.
* when I mentioned these various issues on checkout no apology was made.

Pros:
* was very clean
* was quiet
* good for sleep

some of these are probably just growing pains as the place was just remodeled a few months ago. but given the price I had expected better.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escape L, Manager at The Lighthouse Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience! We always like to hear your comments, and would like to thank you for making us aware of where we need improvement. We are glad you found your room clean and quiet, and we appreciate your acknowledgement that you were told about the ADA accomodations. Our staff prides itself on its thoroughness and attention to details such as these. Most guests choose this property for its fantastic location. We strive to clearly communicate the amenities each of our properties have to offer, and usually find that the percieved inconvenience of checking-in at our managing property is far outweighed by the convenience of the Lighthouse's central location and privacy. You are correct in observing that this hotel was recently renovated. Several upgrades occurred, including retiled showers, new carpet, mattresses and furnishings, and of course: new interior paint! Regrettably, we were unaware of the lingering 'newness' that diminished your stay. As time has passed, we are confident this issue has subsided. We are disappointed to hear that we did not appropriately acknowledge the disappointments in your experience upon check-out. We are committed to delivering "second mile service", and clearly we missed our mark. We do hope you continue to patronize Excape Lodging properties in the future, and give us the opportunity to grant you the stay you deserve. We will not disappoint!

Thank you!
The Lighthouse Inn Managment team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse Inn

Address: 939 & 963 South Hemlock, P.O. Box 1388, Cannon Beach, OR 97110 (Formerly Van Buren Lighthouse Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lighthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Buren Lighthouse Hotel Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lighthouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.