We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing January Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tolovana Inn

Save Saved
You added Tolovana Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tolovana Inn
3400 South Hemlock St., Tolovana Park, Cannon Beach, OR 97145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Cannon Beach
Portland, Or
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing January Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our family came down for our annual January visit to Tolovana Inn. We rented a two bedroom ocean front room on the third floor in Building D. Our room was was clean and well stocked with everything we needed. Great view of Tolovana beach. Swam in the indoor pool and used the sauna the entire weekend. Very clean with plenty of towels on site for use. We ran low on toilet paper and called down to the front desk. Within 5 minutes a staff member was at our door with our request. Our weekend was excellent and even the weather cooperated with sunny skies the entire weekend. Great location and great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TolovanaGM, General Manager at Tolovana Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to let other know about the great experience you had at the Tolovana Inn. Our staff takes great pride in our service as well as oyr ability to provide the cleanest, best maintained resort on the Oregon Coast. Thank you for your kind comments recognizing their efforts, we hope to see you back soon !

Sincerely,

Matthew P. Foley
Gedneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    95
    36
    33
    15
See reviews for
93
114
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Have stayed here on a couple of occcasions around Mother's Day and have always enjoyed the stay and the price. Even when we had checked in to our room and wanted to switch, they had no problem with it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TolovanaGM, General Manager at Tolovana Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Tolovana Inn and for your kind comments. We think we always offer a very good value for the rates paid, however, during our winter season we run the best specials and lowest prices throughout the year. It is an excellent time to walk the beach and watch for migrating whales or to curl up by a romantic fireplace and enjoy nature's showcase during a seasonal storm. Thank you again for your staying with us at the Tolovana Inn. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon!

Matthew P. Foley
General Manager
Tolovana Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The location is great and there is a view of the rock, and there was a fireplace. Those are the only three good things about this inn. We chose Tolovana based on the pretty good tripadvisor reviews. We were on a budget but also on our honeymoon, so we wanted a decent place that wouldn't break the bank.

The balcony was TINY and the room was hot but if you open the sliding glass door, the room fills with smoke from the beach fires. The rest of the space was ok, but seems like a lot to spend for an outdated studio-type room where the bed is in the middle of the room.

The main reason we are giving Tolovana a poor rating is that we found BLOOD on 4 surfaces. A streak on the wall, a streak on the door, on the doorjamb and then a smear on the shower curtain. DISGUSTING. Clearly, they don't clean the rooms well. I called the front desk and they were apologetic, and sent a maid up within 15 minutes. However, all she did was a quick spot clean on the parts she could see and switch out the shower curtain. I wanted either a new room at that point, or a major, every surface scrub-down. For the rest of our time there, I was laying out paper towels to make food and treading lightly on surfaces. I'm not even much of a germ-o-phobe or a clean freak. But finding blood all over your condo and having them barely clean it, that is just nasty. They never even offered a discount or checked in to make sure it was cleaned. On your honeymoon, the last thing you want to think about is who was there before and why they were bleeding.

We would never, ever stay here again, and wouldn't recommend it. Spend the extra $ and get a cute little cabin or something.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TolovanaGM, General Manager at Tolovana Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Jennifer, I wish to apologize for the cleanliness issue and want to assure you that complaints of that nature are truly a rare occurance. We pride ourselves in the condition of all of our rooms and suites, both in terms of cleanliness and maintenance. I tried to investigate the particulars of your stay, but noted that your stay was in September but your posting was made during the last week of December. Memories tend to fade after several months, but we are always vigilant about following up on our guest's concerns.

I came aboard as the new General Manager at the Tolovana Inn during the month of December and would appreciate more details as well as the opportunity to make things right. I would ask that you please contact me directly at Matt@TolovanaInn.com so I may personally address the matter. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments so that we may continually improve our operations.

Sincerely,

Matthew P. Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

First of all I want to start out by saying that my wife and I have stayed here 4 times within the past 6 months. The location is amazing, the staff are usually friendly (the occasional bad day staff member, who doesn't have that?) and the rooms are kept tidy. Overall it's a good experience. What makes it questionable to return to is the value, and the level of honesty in which the value is portrayed. We just finished a stay during the Christmas weekend, stayed 2
nights. $200 a night. I was informed on the phone that it was their holiday rate,
and that they get packed. Comparatively, from our previous 3 stays, it was a ghost town, we were astonished. They should be slashing rates to be competetive. We should've had that room for MAYBE $130. We paid less during the busy season for the same room. I asked about it, and was informed that my rate could be bumped up $15 each night, then i could get the 3rd night free. We had to be somewhere on Christmas, so 2 nights was max. I did the math, it came out to $133 per night, so just give me the darn room for $133 per night! I originally booked for 1 night and requested a second night after staying a while. Here we are, return customers, its the slow season, increased prices. This seems like a shrewd pricing practice. Nonetheless, if you are traveling to Cannon Beach you will get AMAZING views, and a decent room with ample space and trimmings. I think next time we might try staying in Seaside for $69 per night in a chain hotel, brand new suite, and drive 7-8 minutes to cannon beach and save the Tolovana Inn or other places in the Tolovana Park area for a once per year destination spot.

P.S. I am astonished at the replies on here from the general manager towards other members, accusing people of looking for a deal, lying, mis-truths, not remembering correctly. The arrogance and dismissiveness. Truly not a good practice. Defending your business is one thing, Invalidating every single persons negative experience, unacceptable. This website is to keep consumers informed, not for managers to breeze through to get smoke blown at them with 5 star reviews. I love your facility, but take the advice, paper thin walls from 50 different people.... so blow some insulation in the walls. Don't minimize people's opinion for sharing their experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TolovanaGM, General Manager at Tolovana Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for repeated visits to the Tolovana Inn and for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am new to the Tolovana Inn, having taken over as General Manager a few short weeks ago in early December. I certainly value all of our guest comments and share them with our staff as a learning tool. We are always pleased to hear great comments but when we fall short we are determined to use that feedback to do better the next time.

I do know that our rates are vary by season and usually the winter season features our best specials of the year. The discounts do tend to be better when set up in advance rather reserving a room for one night than extending one's stay. However, we certainly want to recognize our guests that stay with us the most frequently. Please e-mail me at Matt@TolovanaInn.com so that I may contact you directly and see that you are given the best deal possible on this and any future stay.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again at the Tolovana Inn!

Matthew P. Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

There are a lot of hotel's and Inn's on the Oregon coast that give a good ocean view, but really few that have the sand and surf reaching the base of the building. The Tolovana Inn has that quality. When the tide came in, we could stand on our balcony and watch the waves just below us. A Tsunami would mess up the first floor something awful I think. They've been there long enough though that I think it's unlikely to happen any time soon. The room was very nice, even with a Murphy bed because the room was so spacious. The gas fireplace provided a great ambiance to the sound of the pounding surf. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: Choose Ocean Front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Staff was friendly, very professional. Updated pictures on website, quick look for pricing. Late check in time though, was disappointed with that. We got a one bedroom ocean front suite, pretty happy with it, nice balcony, furniture, bedroom but the bathroom was very small. And ugly lighting though, especially for It being the top floor, thought we would have skylights since they want to be considered Eco friendly. Cute decorations and nice they have cute cannon beach magazines. Loved the salt pool, hot tub and sauna. The pool goes down to 8 feet deep, which was awesome. But thought the pool would be a tad bit warmer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Staff was friendly, very professional. Updated pictures on website, quick look for pricing. Late check in time though, was disappointed with that. We got a one bedroom ocean front suite, pretty happy with it, nice balcony, furniture, bedroom but the bathroom was very small. And ugly lighting though, especially for It being the top floor, thought we would have skylights since they want to be considered Eco friendly. Cute decorations and nice they have cute cannon beach magazines. Loved the salt pool, hot tub and sauna. The pool goes down to 8 feet deep, which was awesome. But thought the pool would be a tad bit warmer. but I am happy overall an plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tolovana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolovana Inn

Also Known As:
Tolovana Hotel Cannon Beach
Tolovana Inn Cannon Beach
Tolovana Hotel
Address: 3400 South Hemlock St., Tolovana Park, Cannon Beach, OR 97145
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just south of downtown Cannon Beach, The Tolovana Inn offers breathtaking views of Haystack Rock on the beautiful Oregon Coast. Relax and enjoy the scenery of Cannon Beach or have a fun filled family vacation with comfort and convenience. Tolovana Inn has earned the reputation of being a top choice when it comes to Oregon Coast lodging and is the premier oceanfront resort facility in Cannon Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Tolovana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tolovana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.