We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tolovana Inn

Save Saved
You added Tolovana Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tolovana Inn
3400 South Hemlock St., Tolovana Park, Cannon Beach, OR 97145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Cannon Beach
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simple getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Staff was friendly, very professional. Updated pictures on website, quick look for pricing. Late check in time though, was disappointed with that. We got a one bedroom ocean front suite, pretty happy with it, nice balcony, furniture, bedroom but the bathroom was very small. And ugly lighting though, especially for It being the top floor, thought we would have skylights since they want to be considered Eco friendly. Cute decorations and nice they have cute cannon beach magazines. Loved the salt pool, hot tub and sauna. The pool goes down to 8 feet deep, which was awesome. But thought the pool would be a tad bit warmer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    106
    43
    36
    15
See reviews for
104
125
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Staff was friendly, very professional. Updated pictures on website, quick look for pricing. Late check in time though, was disappointed with that. We got a one bedroom ocean front suite, pretty happy with it, nice balcony, furniture, bedroom but the bathroom was very small. And ugly lighting though, especially for It being the top floor, thought we would have skylights since they want to be considered Eco friendly. Cute decorations and nice they have cute cannon beach magazines. Loved the salt pool, hot tub and sauna. The pool goes down to 8 feet deep, which was awesome. But thought the pool would be a tad bit warmer. but I am happy overall an plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary. We had originally planned on going to seaside but weather conditions had other plans for us. This place was wonderful actually. The bed was very comfortable. We had a lot of fun in the pool and hot tub. The game room was a really nice touch. I would reccomend this facility to anyone. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland,oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

first off the only good thing i have to say is beautiful ocean front view,, my wife, 6yr old son and i stayed at one of the oceanfront properties.paper thin walls, heat remains on when shut off..could hear others talking constantly!! best part of all i was told when we first checked in stay 2 nights and the 3rd free.. when we asked about it the lady who checked us in told us oh no its 3 nights then the 4th free.. well tonight my wife looked online and found the special 2 nights get the 3rd free avaliable until feb. of next year!! i have looked at my credit card statements and see that my card has been over charged considerably by the tolovana inn!! i will be contacting my lawyer first thing in the morning!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TolovanaGM, General Manager at Tolovana Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Unfortunately this guest has misrepresented the events of his stay. The guest checked in November 13th for three nights. He originally was receiving our “3 for 2” offer. His signed folio clearly shows he was to pay the first two nights and receive the 3rd night free. He continued to extend his stay with us an additional 4 nights staying a total of 7 nights. For his seven nights, he was charged only 4 nights (a better offer than the “3 for 2”). He called the Front Desk around mid-night on his 7th night claiming the heater wouldn’t shut-off (we found the heater worked fine). Upon check-out he refused to pay the balance of his stay and requested a supervisor call him. Our Front Desk Manager and myself have tried contacting him several times and he will not return our calls. He only paid for 2 of his seven nights and his credit card declines the balance. Ironic that he accuses the Hotel of theft.

Jim McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We came in late. Mo's closes at 8pm. Had to eat a Pub across the street. Food and drinks were good. Hotel has a saltwater, heated pool and hot tub, so bring your swimming gear. View of ocean was great, as you can order an oceanview room instead of oceanfront to save a few dollars. Has a full kitchen, stove, microwave and frig with everything you need if you want to eat in and save money on eating out. Beds very comfortable. Offer DVD rentals for $4. This is our third time hers and like it a lot. One question, when will Mo's construction be done?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TolovanaGM, General Manager at Tolovana Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Steve G.,

Thank you for the nice comments. We’re glad to see you’re a member of our “Email Discount Club”. The “2 for 1” offer has been very popular. While Mo’s is a separate business, they have indicated they plan to have their remodel completed by February 14th. Of course, this is a great time to come back and celebrate Valentine’s Day and the Holiday Weekend! Also Steve, if you’re not a member of our Frequent Guest Program, please be sure to sign up on your next visit to receive additional discounts! We’ll look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you-
Jim McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our family has spent our last few summer vacations here. Very roomy and comfortable. Pet friendly. Staff is very helpful. Right on the beach just south of Haystack. Great part of the beach for walks and kite flying. Only complaint is that if you plan to return each summer, they do not give any kind of priority to returning customers. Reservations are strictly first come, first served so you cannot count on having a room the same week next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TolovanaGM, General Manager at Tolovana Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Unfortunately this guest has incorrectly stated a policy. We certainly give existing customers the opportunity to book the following year and guarantee their reservations will be confirmed for the dates they select when making their reservation. Guests have the ability to book their reservations a year in advance. The key is to make your reservations early for high occupancy periods like Holidays and the Summer Months. Again, once you book your reservation, we’ll guarantee you’ll have those dates.

Jim McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was looking forward to the weekend at Tolovana Inn: I'd paid more for a room with a full view of the ocean and happy that it would have a full service kitchen. The view was as good as I'd hoped.

What disappointed me was the housekeeping. For the price of the room, I expected the housekeeping service to be top notch. I'm not extremely messy and I hung up the towels to be used again (there was no option for the sheets - they were not changed during our stay which is fine but it was not an option to have them changed.)There was sand near the doorway which was never swept up during our entire stay. We didn't get a full set of kitchen towels the second day, and the pen which I used to write a note asking that the bathtub drain be fixed disappeared and never showed up again (the bathtub drained very slowly to where I was in water above my ankles after taking a shower - was this not noticed when the tub was cleaned from the previous use or was it cleaned?). The light above the sink was burned out as well as one of the lights in the ceiling. I will say that the drain was fixed to my satisfaction. I did not mention the burned out lights until checkout. There were dogs in quite a few of the surrounding units and I wanted to hear the roar of the ocean without the bark of the dogs.

I expected this to be above the standard hotel scene and certain parts of it were but the overall experience was more average than I'd hoped it would be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TolovanaGM, General Manager at Tolovana Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
This reviewer enjoyed an oceanfront room with a beautiful view of the ocean and coast line. I was sorry to hear about the comments regarding Housekeeping. We strive to provide “top notch” service in every guest experience. I will say that we provide an option for guests to participate in our “green practices” by hanging towels if they choose to re-use them and placing a special card on the bed if they prefer their sheets not be changed. The card appeared to have been in this unit but it’s possible it was a simple oversight. The kitchen towels are provided as a “bundle” that includes towels and dish cloths. Unless the bundle was unfolded, the guest may not have realized it was a full set. It is possible the room attendant may have inadvertently taken the pen when they picked up the note. This would be a simple issue to solve as we have the pens conveniently located for replacements. Regarding the tub drain, I’m glad to hear the it was fixed timely. The room attendants do not use the same amount of water as one would use when showering so I understand how that might have been missed. We discovered the lights were operating but the location of the switches for the various lights in the unit can at times be confusing. We do have several units which are “pet friendly” and the vast majority of our pet owners have well-mannered dogs under their control. If there are noise issues which are reported, we remedy the situation quickly for the benefit of all.

Thank you -
Jim McDonald
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tolovana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolovana Inn

Address: 3400 South Hemlock St., Tolovana Park, Cannon Beach, OR 97145
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just south of downtown Cannon Beach, The Tolovana Inn offers breathtaking views of Haystack Rock on the beautiful Oregon Coast. Relax and enjoy the scenery of Cannon Beach or have a fun filled family vacation with comfort and convenience. Tolovana Inn has earned the reputation of being a top choice when it comes to Oregon Coast lodging and is the premier oceanfront resort facility in Cannon Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tolovana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tolovana Hotel Cannon Beach
Tolovana Inn Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tolovana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.