We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tolovana Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tolovana Inn to your Saves list
Tolovana Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3400 South Hemlock St., Tolovana Park, Cannon Beach, OR 97145   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Staff was friendly, very professional. Updated pictures on website, quick look for pricing. Late check in time though, was disappointed with that. We got a one bedroom ocean front suite, pretty happy with it, nice balcony, furniture, bedroom but the bathroom was very small. And ugly lighting though, especially for It being the top floor, thought we would have skylights since they want to be considered Eco friendly. Cute decorations and nice they have cute cannon beach magazines. Loved the salt pool, hot tub and sauna. The pool goes down to 8 feet deep, which was awesome. But thought the pool would be a tad bit warmer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexrrr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Staff was friendly, very professional. Updated pictures on website, quick look for pricing. Late check in time though, was disappointed with that. We got a one bedroom ocean front suite, pretty happy with it, nice balcony, furniture, bedroom but the bathroom was very small. And ugly lighting though, especially for It being the top floor, thought we would have skylights since they want to be considered Eco friendly. Cute decorations and nice they have cute cannon beach magazines. Loved the salt pool, hot tub and sauna. The pool goes down to 8 feet deep, which was awesome. But thought the pool would be a tad bit warmer. but I am happy overall an plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexrrr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary. We had originally planned on going to seaside but weather conditions had other plans for us. This place was wonderful actually. The bed was very comfortable. We had a lot of fun in the pool and hot tub. The game room was a really nice touch. I would reccomend this facility to anyone. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie_and_evan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland,oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

first off the only good thing i have to say is beautiful ocean front view,, my wife, 6yr old son and i stayed at one of the oceanfront properties.paper thin walls, heat remains on when shut off..could hear others talking constantly!! best part of all i was told when we first checked in stay 2 nights and the 3rd free.. when we asked about it the lady who checked us in told us oh no its 3 nights then the 4th free.. well tonight my wife looked online and found the special 2 nights get the 3rd free avaliable until feb. of next year!! i have looked at my credit card statements and see that my card has been over charged considerably by the tolovana inn!! i will be contacting my lawyer first thing in the morning!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydee392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TolovanaGM, General Manager at Tolovana Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Unfortunately this guest has misrepresented the events of his stay. The guest checked in November 13th for three nights. He originally was receiving our “3 for 2” offer. His signed folio clearly shows he was to pay the first two nights and receive the 3rd night free. He continued to extend his stay with us an additional 4 nights staying a total of 7 nights. For his seven nights, he was charged only 4 nights (a better offer than the “3 for 2”). He called the Front Desk around mid-night on his 7th night claiming the heater wouldn’t shut-off (we found the heater worked fine). Upon check-out he refused to pay the balance of his stay and requested a supervisor call him. Our Front Desk Manager and myself have tried contacting him several times and he will not return our calls. He only paid for 2 of his seven nights and his credit card declines the balance. Ironic that he accuses the Hotel of theft.

Jim McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We came in late. Mo's closes at 8pm. Had to eat a Pub across the street. Food and drinks were good. Hotel has a saltwater, heated pool and hot tub, so bring your swimming gear. View of ocean was great, as you can order an oceanview room instead of oceanfront to save a few dollars. Has a full kitchen, stove, microwave and frig with everything you need if you want to eat in and save money on eating out. Beds very comfortable. Offer DVD rentals for $4. This is our third time hers and like it a lot. One question, when will Mo's construction be done?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TolovanaGM, General Manager at Tolovana Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Steve G.,

Thank you for the nice comments. We’re glad to see you’re a member of our “Email Discount Club”. The “2 for 1” offer has been very popular. While Mo’s is a separate business, they have indicated they plan to have their remodel completed by February 14th. Of course, this is a great time to come back and celebrate Valentine’s Day and the Holiday Weekend! Also Steve, if you’re not a member of our Frequent Guest Program, please be sure to sign up on your next visit to receive additional discounts! We’ll look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you-
Jim McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our family has spent our last few summer vacations here. Very roomy and comfortable. Pet friendly. Staff is very helpful. Right on the beach just south of Haystack. Great part of the beach for walks and kite flying. Only complaint is that if you plan to return each summer, they do not give any kind of priority to returning customers. Reservations are strictly first come, first served so you cannot count on having a room the same week next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gallagrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TolovanaGM, General Manager at Tolovana Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Unfortunately this guest has incorrectly stated a policy. We certainly give existing customers the opportunity to book the following year and guarantee their reservations will be confirmed for the dates they select when making their reservation. Guests have the ability to book their reservations a year in advance. The key is to make your reservations early for high occupancy periods like Holidays and the Summer Months. Again, once you book your reservation, we’ll guarantee you’ll have those dates.

Jim McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I really enjoy Cannon Beach it is a wonderful community and there are lots of options for overnight stay. The Tolovana was ok, nice location a bit away from "downtown" but I have stayed a few other places with more satisfaction. It is a studio set up with a full sized refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher...but for the money the Tolovana fell short for me on this trip. A one night stay was quite expensive compared to other options.

First, our room was by the elevator and it was loud. Could not have the window open in the evening because you could hear very well the elevator and the people using it.
Second, the walls were super thin and I had to turn on the TV at 11pm to counter the shower, the blow dryer and the conversation in the room behind us.
Finally, you are expected to wash your own dishes when done or put them in the dishwasher but the dishwasher was not emptied and it was not until the next day I found things I needed for dinner the night prior.
You are also requested to remove your shoes outside the room...at a beach community!
The bath was a bit on the small side and not impressive.

One the more positive side:
The murphy bed in the living was a nice touch allowing the room to be split up into 2 sleeping areas and both areas had TV's.
The access to the beach was wonderful and the restaurant attached to the complex was very popular.
rooms were spacious in length but with the murphy bed out no room to easily walk by.

I doubt I will return since there are lots of options. It was peak season, but still, I have paid way less for equally suitable accommodations. My sister in law had a much different experience and therefore a better opinion just 2 weeks prior to my visit.

Room Tip: Be sure to stay AWAY from the elevators or stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NifT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TolovanaGM, General Manager at Tolovana Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for the review. I’d like to address a couple of points in this review. We consider our rates to be very competitive. You’ll find accommodations that are both more and less expensive. We know our competition and you won’t find similar accommodations for “way less”. When you consider our oceanfront location and our amenities (indoor pool, spa, sauna, game room, fitness center, on-site masseuse, complimentary wi-fi, spacious suites, etc…) we know we’re a very reasonably priced lodging option in Cannon Beach. As with any lodging facility, rooms near an elevator or ice machine can be noisy at times however, as you’ll read from our other reviews, this item isn’t an issue with our guests. I’m not sure about the noise they refer to from the room behind them but for those who travel, there can be a certain amount of noise associated with rooms in close proximity. The writer notes their stay was in our peak season. It appears housekeeping may not have had an opportunity to get back into the room to empty the dishwasher prior to their arrival. We do ask guests to remove their “beach” shoes due to beach tar that occasionally washes onto the shore and can wreak havoc on carpets. Most guests appreciate the fact that we care to keep the rooms and carpets as clean as possible and we’ve not heard of this issue being voiced as a complaint. This particular unit has two standard size bathrooms. The great thing about the murphy bed is that it easily folds up into the wall to provide plenty of room to move around the suite during the day. Again, we know our rooms are competitively priced and we offer a nice variety to meet all budgets starting at $69/night. We’re also glad to hear the reviewer’s sister-in-law had a nice experience with us!

Jim McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#13 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#7 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wayside Inn
The Wayside Inn
#4 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tolovana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolovana Inn

Address: 3400 South Hemlock St., Tolovana Park, Cannon Beach, OR 97145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tolovana Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just south of downtown Cannon Beach, The Tolovana Inn offers breathtaking views of Haystack Rock on the beautiful Oregon Coast. Relax and enjoy the scenery of Cannon Beach or have a fun filled family vacation with comfort and convenience. Tolovana Inn has earned the reputation of being a top choice when it comes to Oregon Coast lodging and is the premier oceanfront resort facility in Cannon Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tolovana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tolovana Hotel Cannon Beach
Tolovana Inn Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing