We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seaside Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tolovana Inn

Save Saved
You added Tolovana Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tolovana Inn
3400 South Hemlock St., Tolovana Park, Cannon Beach, OR 97145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Seaside Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a few days extra to spend in this area of Oregon and decided to get a room at the Tolovana Inn. The room was small but very comfortable. Indoor pool and whirlpool were just the ticket after long hikes along the beaches. Very clean and confortable place to say. If we have the opportunity to stay in this area again for a longer period of time, we would like to check out their condos.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not by the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    116
    49
    38
    17
See reviews for
112
133
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Loved the view and our rooms, but the check-in was slow and our room mixed up. When we checked out the bill was incorrect. Nancy told us she would call after she talked to the night auditor, but she never did. Several days later we found our credit card had been charged. We wouldn't stay here again just based on the front desk. They were friendly but slow and didn't follow up.

Room Tip: The southern beach view was more private. No view of Haystack which we didn't need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I drove through Cannon Beach eyeballing the "fancy" hotels and calling frantically as the sunset. We wanted to walk on that beautiful beach as the sun set, but, couldn't seem to find anything that was suitable yet affordable.
As I was on hold, my husband ran into the hotel to check availability and rates, VIOLA, we hit hit the jackpot.
We were provided a wonderful ocean view room, newly renovated, re-decorated. The room had a fireplace and a Murphy bed, no carpet, all laminate (much easier to deal with sand). Great kitchen, all utensils provided, including the toaster. The mini stero with I-pod capadibilty was a bonus, as was the free wi-fi.
All of this, and, miles of unspoiled, unpopulated beaches. The area is absolutely beautiful and unspoiled.
We found our stay quiet and relaxing. The room was fantastic, the rate very affordable. The Murphy bed was comfortable and the furnishings abundant.
We're looking forward to our next trip to the Oregon coast and won't think twice as we pass the the other hotels and head to room 206 at the Tovolana Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Tolovana Inn is located right on Cannon Beach, not far from Haystack Rock and offers families lots of opportunity for fun get togethers. Our room had a gas fireplace, good for chilly nights, and there are fire pits on the beach and gas barbecues between buildings at the Inn. We flew kites and ran the dogs near the surf, and did lots of people watching, including marveling at recumbent beach cyclists race along the water's edge. All in all, lovely way to spend a week or a weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here over labor Day weekend. We had a queen studio suite with a murphy bed and twins in a separate room. The ocean front view was fantastic. The room was functional with a kitchen (ancient appliances). We had 2 updated bathrooms. It was clean enough (some spots and dirt on carpet). The facilities have a very nice indoor pool with hot tub and sauna.

There are firepits in front of buildings on the beach. White bunnies running around on the property. A few restaurants within walking distance. Overall for an oceanfront hotel that can accomodate a family I thought this was a very good value.

Room Tip: Building 3 and 4 have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Labor Day vacationers had the place packed so couldn't park by our building. Other than that, the beds were cozy, the room was well stocked, evenings were quiet and relaxing by fireplace. The view was awesome! We left our stuff out on beach and it was left alone! Loved our stay. Can't wait to do it again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hiotel is well located on the beach, but if you are on a lower floor, a large parking lot between you and the beach blocks your view. The room was well enough furnished and included a very nice kitchen, so it would be good for families with children. But the room was noisy - you could hear people walking in the room over you, hear the toilet flushing or shower working in nearby rooms, etc. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rates were acceptable but no bargain. If I were going back to Cannon Beach, I think I would try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go for top floor if you want a view and no noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tolovana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolovana Inn

Address: 3400 South Hemlock St., Tolovana Park, Cannon Beach, OR 97145
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just south of downtown Cannon Beach, The Tolovana Inn offers breathtaking views of Haystack Rock on the beautiful Oregon Coast. Relax and enjoy the scenery of Cannon Beach or have a fun filled family vacation with comfort and convenience. Tolovana Inn has earned the reputation of being a top choice when it comes to Oregon Coast lodging and is the premier oceanfront resort facility in Cannon Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tolovana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tolovana Hotel Cannon Beach
Tolovana Inn Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tolovana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.