We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but still quaint” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Courtyard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Courtyard to your Saves list
The Courtyard
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   964 South Hemlock Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct and save
White Rock, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old but still quaint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have stayed in Cannon Beach before at other locations, but they were further from the town centre. As there is no taxi service and transit is limited we chose to stay here on the recommendations of our friends. The good: Cleaning staff did a great job, Close to town, Close to Newman's (a must must), small, good parkings and close to the beach. The bad: older interior and need of repair, unusable deck (dirty and small). Unit #17 backs to Newman's and they start prepping dinner service at 7:45am!. All in all a 3 star at best. I would rathe step up my budget and get a more current style of accommodations. Average room, good kitchenette, clean bathroom.

Room Tip: Get a beach side room and avoid the street noise and other early morning wake ups~
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at The Courtyard, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you sharing your comments concerning your stay at The Courtyard. It is very upsetting to hear that your experience was one that prevented you from enjoying our lovely property to the fullest. Because you left a comment card with the same problems listed I was able to check these issues personally an hour after you departed. The noise you experienced was the garbage being picked up, thankfully not John Newman! We certainly apologize. As a result of your feedback we have contacted the trash company and asked them to change their 8 am pickup time. Thank you. I took my Housekeeping Manager with me to review the patio area mentioned and we were unable to determine what was dirty. I had The Courtyard custom designed and built by a well-known Portland architect, Rod Graham, in 1995. It has classic, timeless lines and upscale finishes you do not often find in a small lodging property, all built around a beautiful courtyard, fountain, and garden only three doors from the beach. We regret that it was not to your liking. As a matter of routine all comments and comment cards are discussed with our staff immediately, we take them very seriously. We certainly welcome the opportunity to host you again and would love to leave you with a more positive impression.
Sincerest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    42
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
72
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We booked a 2-night stay at the Courtyard for our honeymoon get-away and were totally thrilled with everything. The room was beautiful, we were right above the fountain in the courtyard and could hear the water falling below our balcony. The room was sparkling clean and provided lots of nice fluffy heated towels for the Jacuzzi tub and cozy robes for afterwards! The beach was just around the corner and we had a perfect day for beach combing. The staff was very accommodating and gladly provided anything we asked for with a smile. We look forward to another stay here.

Room Tip: Great for a romantic get away! Our location was perfect, highly recommend room #21 at the Courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at The Courtyard, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Don-RitaL,
Thank you so much for choosing The Courtyard for your honeymoon in Cannon Beach, and for providing your feedback. We are thrilled to know that your experience with us was satisfactory. Please consider us for your upcoming anniversary. When you spend your honeymoon at one of our properties, we do our best to make your anniversary memorable as well. Your feedback was shared with our entire team, please know that you brought some smiles to our day. We have a dedicated housekeeping staff (some here 21 years) who are completely devoted to keeping the Courtyard perfectly clean. We care, we value your business, and we do appreciate your comments! Thank you.
Warmest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our son and future daughter-in-law gave this to us as a Christmas gift. I forgot about and it was hard to book a room. But reservation people helpful in finding a day and a room that we wanted. So it was new to us as far as the area and the place. It is located for me and my wife the perfect spot. We liked the walking distance to town to shop and eat. The ease of getting to the beach. For us it was more than I expected. It's not the 5star everyone wants, but if you are self sufficient there is a lot you can accomplish, and it is accomadating. Only thing bad about it was we had bad weather that weekend. Cold, windy and rain. Heater and fire place work just fine for my wife. So for us, everything we needed was there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side you can hear the garbage truck in the morning......I can deal with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at The Courtyard, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Freddy A,
It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed The Courtyard during your trip to Cannon Beach. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We do hope you will consider staying with us when you are in the area. Many thanks from us to your son and future daughter-in-law for choosing us and sharing it with you! We are always improving and do what we can to make our rooms cozy and comfortable. Hope to see you next time!
Warm Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnpruett
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have stayed at a number of these motels. The Cannon Beach hotel was a favorite but room quality has slipped (no more breakfast basket) so decided to try the neighboring Courtyard. Really nice place close to the beach and Newman's restaurant.

We were given instructions which included maid service was "only" available 10a-2p so we left the please clean note on the door and left. Came back around 2:45pm and no maid service. Called front desk and the disinterested staff said something probably came up, would check it out and call back. No call back so we walked over the CB Hotel. Talked to staff who could care less - finally got them to give us some towels.

This was the lowest level of customer service i.e. oh so sorry but do nothing. Funny thing is the sign behind reception "we only hire good people" or something like that.

Enjoy but do not count on the front desk providing any real value or personality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at The Courtyard, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback.
We are very disappointed your stay was not what you had hoped it would be. Nothing is more upsetting to us than to hear about a bad experience. Regarding breakfast at the Cannon Beach Hotel, it is now served in the cafe each morning between 8 a.m. and 10 a.m., we serve a large selection of freshly prepared items (hot dishes, homemade granola, juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc.). Many of our guests loved the breakfast basket, which we served for years, but breakfast in the cafe is a huge improvement in many ways. You may still take your breakfast to your room on a tray if you prefer. The hotel recently became a member of Unique Inns! We believe you won't be disappointed should you provide us with an opportunity to try again! There have been many upgrades and changes. As far as your experience with housekeeping at The Courtyard, we are mortified. We made a mistake, we failed in this circumstance, and we are terribly sorry and do not take it lightly. All of our housekeeping staff, some here since 1992, have heard about your experience. I assure you everyone feels terrible that a customer was left with this kind of impression of us. Housekeeping service for stayovers is usually between the specific times listed, but staff is available until 4-5 pm and could have visited your room. There have been times when the door marker has blown off in the wind and we do not know if the privacy was displayed or not leaving housekeeping in a dilemma. We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. We value your business and appreciate your comments as it is the best way for us to address any issues and strive to provide the impeccable service we expect each day.
Sincerely,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I booked three nights through booking.com at The Courtyard. Saturday, Sunday, and Monday, December 29, 30, and 31 (New Year's Eve). We had the confirmation number. A romantic New Year's get-a-way!

We arrived very excited and were promptly told the manager had overbooked and only one night was available. We were shocked. The girl behind the desk apologized and said she tried to call me on my cell phone, yet my Droid showed no calls at all. She got us into a room with a view of the ocean and reduced the price approx $10-15.00

In my line of business, when something like a booking problem occurs of this magnitude, you IMMEDIATELY comp the room...you go out of your way to make those guests feel welcome by offering a complimentary breakfast, or late check out, or something.

When I handed my keys back in the morning I told the new girl about our problem and she knew nothing about this. She was surprised and apologetic. End of story. This was handled very poorly. We will not return to this establishment in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at The Courtyard, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing The Courtyard on your stay in Cannon Beach and providing your feedback. I apologize and sincerely regret that your reservation process was so disappointing and did not meet your expectations. We are committed to providing personalized and attentive service to each and every one of our guests, and take guest feedback seriously. We absolutely do not overbook, it is NEVER our intention to do so. When we first sold rooms through Booking.com, a third party reservation system, we experienced a number of unexpected problems that we did not understand and for a short time we did not know how to prevent or fix them. Our fault, and, we, again, apologize. Unfortunately, you fell into that time period. We have since refined our procedures with Booking.com and worked out all the kinks! I've located your reservation. You were provided a $40 discount on the night of your stay. I've asked my staff to contact you to make arrangements that we hope will make up for this unfortunate error. We welcome the opportunity to host you again and leave you with a positive impression.
Sincerest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Okay, this place was fantastic! I found this online and what a great deal it was. It felt like a setting of Melrose Place (for those who understand that reference). There is a little courtyard in the middle and plenty of parking and strong wifi. Our suite had a kitchenette, a big bathroom with a tub, a large living space with a pullout sofa, a small dining table and a patio. It was a great space to eat and so close to the water. It was about a three minute walk to the ocean through a quiet street. We stayed here for three nights and it was a great stay and a beautiful town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at The Courtyard, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Courtyard. We truly value the opinions of our guests and pleased to know your stay with us was a great experience. The Courtyard is actually only three doors from the beach -- very convenient! Thanks for your comparison to Melrose Place, wow, we take that as a very sweet compliment! Improvements are continually being made here at The Courtyard, it is our goal to exceed your expectations each time you visit! We sincerely hope to see you soon.
Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Courtyard in September 2012. The room was clean and pleasant. Not the most upscale place but very adequate. There was a small kitchenette with a mini-fridge and microwave - no stove - and a standard, clean bathroom with nice toiletries. The room itself was large with a queen bed, a lovely gas fireplace (it was too warm for us to need to use it!) and a sofa with coffee table. There was a table for eating with two chairs, and a small balcony, also with seating for two. The linens were nice, although I will agree with previous reviewers who suggested the mattresses are a bit "tired." There were definitely sags but we slept comfortably and had no complaints. There is a small dish of salt water taffy - refreshed daily! - I found to be a nice touch. The property has a library for guests with fireplace - it looked charming but we didn't use it. Check-in is at the Cannon Beach Hotel a couple of blocks away. It took us a few minutes to figure that out, but once we did, they were very accommodating. All in all, this is a good choice of accommodations, only minutes from the beach and a 10-15 minute walk into the Cannon Beach main village.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at The Courtyard, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is feedback like yours that allows us to be able to exceed our guests expectations in the future. We certainly apologize if the mattress was not to your liking. We strive to provide the best experience possible and will share your comments with our team. Mentioning that you found the room clean is especially nice and it will put smiles on our housekeepers faces. Susana, our Housekeeping Manager, has been with us for over 18 years and will appreciate hearing this! She cannot hear it enough and works very hard to make sure each room is perfect before our guests arrive. We do hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future and provide you with an exceptional experience.
Sincerest Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtyard

Address: 964 South Hemlock Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtyard 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard - Secluded accommodations set back from the beaten path in Midtown Cannon Beach allows children 12 and up. With a modern and sheltered grace, this property was built for relaxation. More than a dozen contemporary guest units face a private brick courtyard with a gently burbling fountain, petite flower gardens, small guest library and comfortable Adirondack seating. Offering a variety of amenities and upgrades, rooms at The Courtyard are stylishly appointed with custom furnishings, gas fireplaces, and original art. Most rooms have petite kitchenettes and comfortable vacation studios including lounge areas with sofas, coffee tables, dining tables and patios or balconies. Our best rooms offer two-person spa tubs and queen or king size four-poster beds. A haven just three doors to the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtyard Hotel Cannon Beach
Courtyard Cannon Beach
Cannon Beach Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.