We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always stay at Blue Gull spa unit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Gull Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Gull Inn to your Saves list
Blue Gull Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   632 S. Hemlock St., Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Spa Suite for $129
Ranked #7 of 17 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Seattle area
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We always stay at Blue Gull spa unit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2007

It is simple to make a reservation.
When we arrive to pay, it is so nice to have the bowl of nuts
for guests to munch on after a 4-hour drive, plus the DVD's
to use in the unit!
The rooms are tastefully decorated (except for the sputnik
lamps!), the grounds are lovely, and the staff courteous
and efficient.
I'd like to suggest a spare blanket for the murphy bed be
provided for fall visits.
I've been coming to Blue Gull for 30 years and introduced
my best friend to it about 20 yrs ago. She flies in from
Denver to go to the beach with me.
In spite of how much development has occurred in the
past 30 years, the town and beach still feel serene.
Walking the beach gives one the sense of going back
to Victorian strolls.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    43
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

We stayed at the Blue Gull Inn in room nine over Labor Day weekend in September. Our initial goal was to stay at a place that cost under $150/night and that was close to the beach (we paid around $125 per night). We definitely reached our goals! The room is very simple, nothing special, but contains a kitchen which was important to us as we did not want to eat out for every meal. Our room had a back door entrance, which was handy when coming back from the beach. The beach is literally a few hundreds yards away-you can’t get any closer for that price! At the check-in office, there was dozens of movies the guests could rent at no charge, which I thought was a nice touch. We’ve traveled to many places all over the world, but Cannon Beach is one of our favorite destinations-the sunset there is amazing!

  • Liked — The close location to the beach and the in-room kitchen
  • Disliked — Nothing that I can think of!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

We had a great experience at the Blue Gull Inn - we were steps from the beach and downtown. The hand carved furniture in the rooms were beautiful.. the people at the front desk were also great to work with..especially Adam..

  • Liked — Location and Carved Furniture
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

Cozy room with good amenities at the Blue Gull. Very large bathroom with good ventilation. Micro, fridge and coffeepot in room (micro popcorn was a bonus find). This little place even had wireless internet! It couldn't have been 200 yards to the beach. Great location, just off downtown...walking distance. Only negative is that parking is tight - although you're not sweating it if you have a compact car. Staff was helpful and took their time when talking with us - and I really appreciate that.

  • Liked — service, location, wireless internet
  • Disliked — limited parking
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

One weekend, my boyfriend planned a little trip away from home. We live in Astoria, Or. and we took a trip down to Cannon Beach where we had a reservation at the Blue Gull Inn. The accomodations were wonderful and the room/ammenities were great! We recommend this and other Haystack Lodging Properties, which we have also stayed at since our first wonderful experience. We have not been let down yet! Keep up the good work.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiler Bay, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2006

"Just what we needed"

My husband & I were looking for a quiet and relaxing get away. Which is sometimes hard because we are in the hospitality business and we notice things that most wouldn't.
We feel that we have found it at The Blue Gull Inn. From the moment I spoke with the front desk to the time of check out, it was perfect.
The furnishings are so beautiful, the bed was great, and the room was so very clean.
On a scale of 1-10, I would rate The Blue Gull Inn at 15.
A very nice walk to the beach and to town.
Also Cannon Beach is one of the cleanest towns we have been to in quite awhile. You can tell the community takes pride in there town.
Keep up the good work folks.
And to all of you who do get the opportunity to visit, ENJOY.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2006

We heard from friends that we should try the Blue Gull Inn and this year we finally did.. oh my gosh..the place is beautiful..all the furniture is handcarved with coastal scenes by their local woodshop..very unique style and comfort.. The rooms were exceptional clean and well furnished.. we really like the location.. 1/2 block to the beach and few blocks from downtown.. If you are tired of the cookie-cutter style of rooms at most local motels.. then step into hacienda style Blue Gull Inn - for now on - its our place to stay in Cannon Beach..

  • Liked — The hand carved furniture and location to beach and town..
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Gull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gull Inn

Address: 632 S. Hemlock St., Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Gull Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and modern Hacienda style cottages, remodel just completed with new kitchens, furniture and tile. Some with in-room Jacuzzis, fireplaces and full kitchens. Rooms feature our own hand-crafted furniture and original artwork. Nestled around a rose-filled courtyard with Fountain. Steps from the beach and downtown. All smoke and pet free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Gull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Gull Hotel Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Gull Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.