We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Room at My Favorite Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ocean Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Ocean Lodge to your Saves list
The Ocean Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2864 S Pacific St., Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Off Season Special!
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Bremerton, Washington
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Lovely Room at My Favorite Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had a chance to spend one night in a beautifully-appointed ocean front room overlooking Haystack Rock. It can't get much better than this. The bed was sumptuous. Breakfast was all I remembered it to be from the last time I stayed here the month they opened some years ago.

Room Tip: I saw people with dogs and was hoping we weren't near enough to hear barking. I didn't so pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    117
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
153
456
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I would give them a 5+. The hotel is beautiful. The staff is l amazing. . They go above and beyond to make every one Feel Welcome. I will definitely recommend this place to other people and will definitely be returning

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Ocean Lodge was a great choice on Cannon Beach. Haystack Rock is right there, fireplace in room, balcony to sit and watch the waves roll in. My husband wanted to smoke a cigar, which you can't do within 20 feet of a building, so they gave him a bundle of firewood, matches, 2 big blankets, and we sat on the beach enjoying a bottle of wine and a cigar. Awesome! There's a fun bar nearby with a pool table, and a great Irish restaurant in walking distance too with a great Irish stew. We would definitely recommend the Ocean Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in February over Valentine's Day. The one thing that stood out above all else was the staff of the Inn. From the minute we walked in the door, everyone we came into contact with was pleasant, friendly and professional. A welcome change from so many places. We would like to specifically thank Martha and Vick for their cordiality and helpfulness, but all were very pleasant folks. Our room was right on the water with a small deck with chairs. The bed was very comfortable with ample pillows. I am an early riser and being able to sit by the fireplace in the upstairs lounge and have coffee while reading in the morning is a real plus for me. The ambiance is homey and comfortable, many books and magazines available for guests, and the continental breakfast a notch above most. Would gladly recommend this location for travelers or a special occasion.

Room Tip: We were in 206 and it was close to the fireplace lounge which was a plus. Small but adequate for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here a while back, and have just recently had chance to review it on TA - My memory of the waves crashing gently into the shoreline below the balcony of my room, wathing the moon rise into the starry sky while drinking a cup of the best coffee maybe ever is so deeply imbeeded in my soul that I could never forget it. The room was sooooooo cozy, I had a nice corner Jacuzzi, king size bed, plush cozy robe - aaahhhhh. I picked this place off a whim from the exterior view, and I have never made a better choice for superior lodging. The view is spectacular and the atmosphere makes you feel ike its your own little slice of Northwest Paradise. Anytime I'm back on the caost I will be making a stay here part of my plans for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltby, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed there in May of 2012. It was a great experience, We were made to feel very welcome and as we had our beloved dog with us, we stayed in a pet-friendly room. The service was excellent. Every night the turn down service would bring a special basket for him with clean towles, clean sheet (for the couch he slept on) and dog treats. We found the town to be very pet friendly as well, with many other dogs on leashes and bowls of drinking water placed around on the sidewalks. We found a restaurant with an outdoor deck area that allowed him to sit with us. Fun place and of course the beach is spectacular and the whole week was just very relaxing and nice! We ate one meal at the very fancy restaurant located in the hotel next door, and it was a nice meal, a little $$$ but I thought worth it for the experience, and a nice time overall. I came away with no comlaints! We will be going back again this year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Cold rain, fog, crashing waves outside. Cozy fireplace, Oregon pinot noir, terry cloth robes inside. A perfect winter getaway.
You may prefer other coastal hideaways in summertime, since The Ocean Lodge is also a preferred vacation spot for children and dogs. Many ocean view rooms lack a balcony roof. In these rooms sitting outside, or even opeing the door to listen to the surf, is uncomfortable during drizzle or rain.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony sheltered by a roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Lodge

Address: 2864 S Pacific St., Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge is ocean front and top drawer without being pretentious while exuding beach culture at every turn. Views from the hotel are breathtaking. The guest rooms are warm and welcoming, and the lobby with it's massive river rock fireplace blazing is always inviting. The Lodge staff are consummate service professionals. Overlooking famed Haystack Rock and the scenic Oregon coast, the Ocean Lodge offers its guests fireplaces in all guest rooms, wireless internet access, a casual breakfast buffet, home-baked cookies, is in close proximity to boutique shopping, art galleries, and restaurants, in a convenient location. Pet friendly rooms are available. You will check-out feeling relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Lodge Cannon Beach Or

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ocean Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.