We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Ocean Lodge to your Saves list
The Ocean Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2864 S Pacific St., Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in February over Valentine's Day. The one thing that stood out above all else was the staff of the Inn. From the minute we walked in the door, everyone we came into contact with was pleasant, friendly and professional. A welcome change from so many places. We would like to specifically thank Martha and Vick for their cordiality and helpfulness, but all were very pleasant folks. Our room was right on the water with a small deck with chairs. The bed was very comfortable with ample pillows. I am an early riser and being able to sit by the fireplace in the upstairs lounge and have coffee while reading in the morning is a real plus for me. The ambiance is homey and comfortable, many books and magazines available for guests, and the continental breakfast a notch above most. Would gladly recommend this location for travelers or a special occasion.

Room Tip: We were in 206 and it was close to the fireplace lounge which was a plus. Small but adequate for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    144
    30
    7
    6
See reviews for
214
588
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here a while back, and have just recently had chance to review it on TA - My memory of the waves crashing gently into the shoreline below the balcony of my room, wathing the moon rise into the starry sky while drinking a cup of the best coffee maybe ever is so deeply imbeeded in my soul that I could never forget it. The room was sooooooo cozy, I had a nice corner Jacuzzi, king size bed, plush cozy robe - aaahhhhh. I picked this place off a whim from the exterior view, and I have never made a better choice for superior lodging. The view is spectacular and the atmosphere makes you feel ike its your own little slice of Northwest Paradise. Anytime I'm back on the caost I will be making a stay here part of my plans for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltby, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed there in May of 2012. It was a great experience, We were made to feel very welcome and as we had our beloved dog with us, we stayed in a pet-friendly room. The service was excellent. Every night the turn down service would bring a special basket for him with clean towles, clean sheet (for the couch he slept on) and dog treats. We found the town to be very pet friendly as well, with many other dogs on leashes and bowls of drinking water placed around on the sidewalks. We found a restaurant with an outdoor deck area that allowed him to sit with us. Fun place and of course the beach is spectacular and the whole week was just very relaxing and nice! We ate one meal at the very fancy restaurant located in the hotel next door, and it was a nice meal, a little $$$ but I thought worth it for the experience, and a nice time overall. I came away with no comlaints! We will be going back again this year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
368 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Cold rain, fog, crashing waves outside. Cozy fireplace, Oregon pinot noir, terry cloth robes inside. A perfect winter getaway.
You may prefer other coastal hideaways in summertime, since The Ocean Lodge is also a preferred vacation spot for children and dogs. Many ocean view rooms lack a balcony roof. In these rooms sitting outside, or even opeing the door to listen to the surf, is uncomfortable during drizzle or rain.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony sheltered by a roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have to say, this is the best place to soak up the Oregon Coast! Instantly upon our arrival, the desk staff were very helpful (Angel in particular). The room was so nice and cozy, with a spectacular view of Cannon Beach and the infamous Haystack rocks. We picked this place in particular because of the fact that they are pet friendly, boy is that an understatement! Not only were they pet friendly, but the room contained a lovely doggie basket and made us feel right at home with our very well behaved furbaby. Why more hotels aren't pet friendly like this is beyond my comprehension, but nonetheless, we were so impressed with this hotel and it's staff. Upon returning home to California and back to the "grind" of our normal lives, what to our surprise?? We get a "Thank You" card in the mail from the General Manager thanking us for filling out the comment card and for visiting their establishment. It's the little things that mean the most, and I have to say that was an unexpected, very delightful way to conjure up the memories we won't soon forget of our visit to that part of the Oregon Coast.

Room Tip: A "Room with a View" is the only way to go when staying at Cannon Beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Ocean Lodge is just the best! The furniture is most comfortable, the beds are very good, and the whole resort is clean and very well maintained. The staff are friendly and most helpful. The views of the ocean are wonderfully close to the water which most of the other hotels don't have and it is a easy short walk to the beach. The best part for us is that there are nice rooms in which dogs are welcome to stay. The Warren Pub is quite close and has good food and a great bakery, Waves of Grain, is a couple of blocks away that has excellent, very good quality bakery goods. (They have shorter hours in the winter.). The Cannon Beach Bakery in town also has delicious products. The WiFi is free and say to use.

Room Tip: If you take a dog the second floor is best as there is a deck where they can be outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Prado, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have been to The Ocean Lodge several times around our anniversary and really love the proximity. A very short walk to the beach or to eat is wonderful. The rooms are luxurious with fireplaces and a jacuzzi tub for two. The staff spoils you with genuine care and attention. It's a little pricier than some other hotels in the area but more than worth it! The continental breakfast is incredible with anything you could desire. Overall very romantic for couples but very family friendly too. Highly recommend it! The town has great restaurants from casual to fine dining all within walking distance. And by all means, don't forget to make at least one trip to Mo's Seafood! Clam chowder to die for!

Room Tip: All of the ocean view rooms are wonderful but we prefer the second or third floors for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#14 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.2 mi away
Lodges at Cannon Beach
Lodges at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surfsand Resort
Surfsand Resort
#6 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Lodge

Address: 2864 S Pacific St., Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ocean Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge is ocean front and top drawer without being pretentious while exuding beach culture at every turn. Views from the hotel are breathtaking. The guest rooms are warm and welcoming, and the lobby with it's massive river rock fireplace blazing is always inviting. The Lodge staff are consummate service professionals. Overlooking famed Haystack Rock and the scenic Oregon coast, the Ocean Lodge offers its guests fireplaces in all guest rooms, wireless internet access, a casual breakfast buffet, home-baked cookies, is in close proximity to boutique shopping, art galleries, and restaurants, in a convenient location. Pet friendly rooms are available. You will check-out feeling relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Hotel Cannon Beach
Ocean Lodge Cannon Beach Or

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ocean Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.