We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecola Creek Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ecola Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Ecola Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Fifth Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Everett, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I never write reviews but have too.. They were having some computer issues so she upgraded us rooms to one with a fireplace. Cute place, very clean and cozy. I would come back again. Close to everything by foot. It's a must stay for anyone traveling through.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    60
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
69
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to have stumbled on this little New England-looking gem in such a pretty location. The lodge captures the individual charm of yesteryear, yet affords all the modern conveniences. We liked the inclusion of microwave and small refrigerator and the abundance of extra bedding. The oversized bathroom was spotless, and the manager was very helpful with area information. The pretty grounds with small pond were a good introduction to Ecola State Park, with easy to follow signs, just down the road. The park offers lots of hiking trails, even one several miles to Seaside, and the beaches were almost deserted. The public beach is about 2 blocks away from the lodge. Coming from the north on Hwy 101, take the first exit into Cannon Beach, then right on Beech St; last exit if coming from the south. Located at the northern end of town, it is just a short walk or drive to Cannon Beach and all its shops and restaurants on Hemlock Street which runs parallel with Hwy 101, a pretty drive. We enjoyed the peaceful location, near but not among all the traffic and hustle & bustle. AND we thought the room was very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 6 with a queen bed and fireplace. Despite the facility being full, the room and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Had a wonderful overnight stay at Ecola Creek Lodge. Room was spacious, opened onto a beautiful garden area (complete with a resident pet rabbit!), was clean, and was handy to the state park and town. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. I loved the old charm and family feel of the lodge. Super value in Cannon Beach!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

There were four adults in our party, we had plenty of room for everyone. Very clean and the kitchen had everything we needed. We really liked that we could come and go right outside the room. The court yard was beautiful.. No steps no hallways to walk down. Close to down town/ walking distance.

Room Tip: Sorry about the room service rating,There is no room service. Not that we needed it. I could not get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was a very quiet and clean lodge which is convenient to many attractions. You can walk to downtown and the beach. The rooms are very spacious and clean. It is reasonable, especially for the Cannon Beach area. The staff is very nice and helpful. We were greeted by two really cute towel creations when we arrived which put a smile on my face. I would recommend the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jblm
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stopped in to check out the rooms. It looked so charming from the outside. We couldn't believe the size of the room when walked in for a family of four! Spacious! We decided to leave the hotel we were at to go there. The courtyard is beautiful. Beautiful wildlife. Elk. Bunnies. Birds. Koi pond. View of the ovine from room 21. You can hear the ocean. So beautiful. The staff was super friendly helpful and outgoing. Absolutely nothing bad to say about this place. Love it and will be back.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Ecola Creek Lodge is an outstanding deal especially for such a high cost location as Canon Beach. We stayed in room 8 which had a turret for the dining area, a nice large kitchen, living room with sofa sleeper and separate bedroom. It was extremely clean and the kitchen, bathroom, and closet were well stocked with cooking utensils and pans, extra towels, and extra blankets and pillows, respectively. They had free full strength wireless internet, a nice large flat screen TV with blueray player and a fairly well stocked DVD rental area (DVDs rent for $2 each) at the front desk. The rooms were tastefully decorated with local paintings/prints of Ecola Park. This is an older building so ventilation in the kitchen and bathroom consist of opening a window in each room as needed but blinds cover all of the windows so privacy is not a problem. The motel is about 2 blocks from the ocean with only a glimpse of the mouth of the creek/beach when the leaves are off of the shrubs and trees across the road. We were on the north side of Ecola Creek which put us away from Haystack Rock and closer to the headland that makes up the Ecola State Park section of the Lewis and Clark National Park. (Ecola, meaning whale, beach is where the beached whale was shown to Lewis and Clark by the Native Americans the winter that they were at Fort Clatsop.) As we were there on a sunny January weekend following New Years, there were a lot people in Canon Beach but mostly on the beach south of the creek near Haystack Rock and only a few on our side. We had the better view of Tillamook Rock lighthouse and access to some other interesting rocks as well as access to Indian Beach at low tide. It was also a nice view of Haystack Rock and the Needles from that section of beach. The south section of Canon Beach (with Haystack Rock) can easily be accessed by crossing the bridge across from the lodge and then walking the two blocks to the beach on that side of the creek. The grounds at Ecola Creek Lodge include a nice deck with benches (and probably potted flowers) overlooking a koi pond in the warmer months. Smaller wildlife, such as bunnies, roam the grounds and further up the road towards the beach there is plenty of evidence that larger wildlife such as elk also roam that section of town. The access road to Ecola State Park is just on the other side of the lodge. If you don't mind not having an ocean view and want a great deal in a convenient location then this is definitely a place to try. Everyone that we encountered at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 8 has LOTS of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ecola Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecola Creek Lodge

Address: 208 Fifth Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cannon Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecola Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cannon Beach's most inviting places to stay, "Where Oregon Coast beauty meets New England charm". Ecola Creek Lodge consists of four buildings with their distinct Cape Cod architecture, which are surrounded by spacious lawns, gardens and a beautiful Koi Pond water feature. The 'classically' decorated Guestrooms range from Studios to our "Family Friendly" 1 and 2 bedroom Suites with kitchens. We're located on the quiet North end of town just two blocks from the beach and a five minute stroll into downtown Cannon Beach's shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ecola Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecola Creek Hotel Cannon Beach
Ecola Creek Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecola Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.