We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecola Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ecola Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ecola Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Fifth Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$85 (USD)
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I love the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We love Cannon Beach, Oregon, even in the winter. The sunsets are spectacular. We have stayed three times at the Ecola Creek and have enjoyed all times very much. This last time, we rented the cheapest room, and it was delightful, clean and with an ocean peak a boo view, short walk to town on the quite north side.

Room Tip: They have rooms with kitchens and some with two bedrooms. We have enjoyed one with one queen this la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    58
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
67
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have been visiting Cannon Beach since I was a very young child. Some things have changed over the years, one thing has not...finding a nice place to stay in Cannon Beach at a reasonable price is nearly impossible. Not anymore! Ecola Creek Lodge is a very affordable quaint property positioned just north of "downtown" Cannon Beach.

I was hesitant to book due to the low price and lack of minimum stay requirement (checked in on Sunday). I am glad I did as the value for the price is very good. Front desk staff was very welcoming. We stayed in room #7 which had a very comfortable queen bed, less comfortable sleeper sofa, gas fireplace, and a small fridge and microwave. A perfect space for a couple or family with a young child.

We will return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcolaCreek208, General Manager at Ecola Creek Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
As we begin 2013, we at Ecola Creek Lodge would like to express our sincere thanks, to all who recently posted reviews of their visit with us here on this important venue.
Your 'candid' reviews greatly assists other Oregon coast visitors, in their search for an affordable Cannon Beach visit, with that 'home away from home' feel, so keep up them coming!
Also, your encouraging postings have played a vital role in us receiving 'Trip Advisor's 2012 "Certificate of Excellence" Award, for which we are truely grateful and humbled.
We are already looking forward to your next visit, and hopefully many others will join you, to find what so many others have over the years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Ecola Creek Lodge is a small inn that is just outside town, close enough for an easy walk into town, and just far enough out so that the nearby beach is not as busy as the one adjacent to town, which is separated from the beach nearby by a small stream. Very friendly staff, fresh baked cookies in the lobby. We were in room 18, I believe, which had a kitchenette, whirlpool tub (no shower), and a glimpse of the ocean. Low headroom in some spaces for this particular room, but a very nice space and a terrific value for the price. Cannon Beach was a very nice little town for a weekend visit, too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

When visiting Seaside and Cannon Beach Oregon ( About 8 or 10 miles apart) I always stay at Cannon Beach and always stay at The Ecola Creek Lodge. As I have stated in previous reviews of another Oregon Coast hotel, if you can do without the pool and spa, Ecola is just awsome. Very nice clean rooms. Excellent staff. Beautiful grounds with koi pond and bunnies everywhere. Not far from beautilul Ecola State Park. Rooms with and without kitchens, 1 and 2 bedrooms or small studio rooms. Can fit all budgets. Very family friendly. Very close to the boardwalk area to visit beautiful galleries,shops and good dining. Great place to stay that is so close to other north Oregon Coast attractions. Seaside,Ft Stevens,Ft Clatsop,and Astoria.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room was clean, spacious. Great shower, best water pressure. Good location, within walking distance to the cute little town and shops, the beach. The staff was friendly, and helpful, we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and there was an initial muddle with our booking and were offered a room with only 1 bed. The hotel dealt with this immediately and to our satisfaction. We were given a 2 bed room (room 3) which had a kitchen, sitting room and 2 bedrooms. This was lovely and clean and ideally located for Ecola State Park. We found the front desk to be very helpful and friendly. An excellent choice for Cannon Beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kc
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a very well kept, quaint and reasonably priced motel in an otherwise fairly expensive town. The room we stayed in was extremely small, mostly just room for the bed, but I believe that we had one of the smallest rooms due to the price that we paid. The bathroom was very nicely sized, kind of a strange counterpart to the size of the living quarters.
The room was exceptionally clean, and the grounds and all other appearances of the motel very nicely kept and pleasant.
I had interactions with three different people at the front desk and each was very friendly and helpful in giving me advice about the town or directions to our destinations around the area. Coffee, cider, and treats are always available in the office, another nice touch.
We highly recommend this affordable motel in a town where lodging prices are generally high.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ecola Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecola Creek Lodge

Address: 208 Fifth Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecola Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cannon Beach's most inviting places to stay, "Where Oregon Coast beauty meets New England charm". Ecola Creek Lodge consists of four buildings with their distinct Cape Cod architecture, which are surrounded by spacious lawns, gardens and a beautiful Koi Pond water feature. The 'classically' decorated Guestrooms range from Studios to our "Family Friendly" 1 and 2 bedroom Suites with kitchens. We're located on the quiet North end of town just two blocks from the beach and a five minute stroll into downtown Cannon Beach's shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Ecola Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecola Creek Hotel Cannon Beach
Ecola Creek Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecola Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.