We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ecola Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ecola Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ecola Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Fifth Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
"Walk-in Specials"
Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Cannon Beach
kc
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a very well kept, quaint and reasonably priced motel in an otherwise fairly expensive town. The room we stayed in was extremely small, mostly just room for the bed, but I believe that we had one of the smallest rooms due to the price that we paid. The bathroom was very nicely sized, kind of a strange counterpart to the size of the living quarters.
The room was exceptionally clean, and the grounds and all other appearances of the motel very nicely kept and pleasant.
I had interactions with three different people at the front desk and each was very friendly and helpful in giving me advice about the town or directions to our destinations around the area. Coffee, cider, and treats are always available in the office, another nice touch.
We highly recommend this affordable motel in a town where lodging prices are generally high.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    57
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
66
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have visited this hotel for more than 30 years--and it has never looked better! Built in the 1940s, the suites at the Ecola Creek Lodge exude charm. We stayed in the one-bedroom Turret Suite with a large living room and cozy kitchen. The koi pond and occasional visiting bunny only add to the ambience. If you're looking for ultra-modern, then this isn't the spot for you. But if you want a warm, inviting place with vintage appeal and modern amenities (like wifi), this is the spot. The pet-friendly rooms are fine, but the real value is in the one- and two-bedroom suites with fireplaces that face the front. We could not have been more comfortable, and it's only a five-minute walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for the one- or two-bedroom suites that face the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We decided to head to Cannon Beach as a last minute trip over the labour day weekend. To those who have not visited Cannon Beach, the town in high season is extremely busy and very expensive (normally we tend to visit in the off season). The only hotel listed with space was the Ecola Creek Lodge and the price of $109 made this hotel less expensive than what we usually end up paying at other hotels in Cannon Beach during low season, so we hoped for the best. The room (regular queen) was very clean, a good size and in good shape. We had a balcony which had a bit of an ocean view. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a guest laundry facility, the office has coffee and other hot drinks available. The hotel itself is on the Ecola Park side, so just north of the Cannon Beach downtown area. We were pleasantly surprised with the Lodge and would reccomend to those with families (there were many families staying at the lodge during our visit) and we would also reccomend the lodge to those who don't want to be on the downtown strip. We found that for us it was a bit far from the main beach as we have a young family and many sand toys.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The lodge is located 5 minutes away from the beach. You have no direct view on the see.
The room is spacy and we had a gas fire place and a seperate room with a fridge and cupboard.
The manager is very helpfull and friendly. Great! They even printed our ticket I gave them via an usb stick. I never expected such a nice lodge for this price.
I recommend this lodge if you do not need a pool or spa. If I ever come back to cannon beach I will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this lodge while in Cannon Beach. The management is extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are very spacious and clean. It feels like you're at home here with many great adventures awaiting at your doorstep. Internet available and within walking distance to the beach and the main strip! Also hiking trails just behind it and it is very close to Ecola State Park which I highly recommend checking out! Worth every reasonable penny.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just returned from a three night stay at the Ecola Creek Lodge. This was our third stay and enjoyed it just as much as the last time. Each room is unique. It is a great place to stay while visiting Cannon Beach. It is easy walking to the beach and the town, but far enough away to miss the noise and traffic. The staff is very accomodating and provide morning hot drinks and afternoon warm cookies in the lobby. Most rooms do not have an ocean view. The room we had was 17 and looks at the center lawn and koi pond area from a small private deck.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a home away from home. We stayed for our wedding 7/20-7/22 2012 in room 8 the turret room. It was really cute and charming. We had all of our wedding party stay here and each room was decorated differant and they all had charm from what I saw. The staff was friendly and accomedated us with an early check in which was very kind (since I needed to steam my wedding dress). It was adorable and we enjoyed our stay. The bunnies running around the grounds added a lot of charm. I dont want anyone to get confused by my review because I like to provide honest feedback. If you are looking for something on the beach or a resort this isnt where you want to stay no spa services etc. If you want a home away from home a steps away from the beach and friendly staff then come and stay here the fireplaces in the rooms give it a very warm touch. It is very cozy and comfertable. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ecola Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecola Creek Lodge

Address: 208 Fifth Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecola Creek Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cannon Beach's most inviting places to stay, "Where Oregon Coast beauty meets New England charm". Ecola Creek Lodge consists of four buildings with their distinct Cape Cod architecture, which are surrounded by spacious lawns, gardens and a beautiful Koi Pond water feature. The 'classically' decorated Guestrooms range from Studios to our "Family Friendly" 1 and 2 bedroom Suites with kitchens. We're located on the quiet North end of town just two blocks from the beach and a five minute stroll into downtown Cannon Beach's shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Ecola Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecola Creek Hotel Cannon Beach
Ecola Creek Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecola Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.