We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ecola Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ecola Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ecola Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Fifth Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Cannon Beach
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We decided to head to Cannon Beach as a last minute trip over the labour day weekend. To those who have not visited Cannon Beach, the town in high season is extremely busy and very expensive (normally we tend to visit in the off season). The only hotel listed with space was the Ecola Creek Lodge and the price of $109 made this hotel less expensive than what we usually end up paying at other hotels in Cannon Beach during low season, so we hoped for the best. The room (regular queen) was very clean, a good size and in good shape. We had a balcony which had a bit of an ocean view. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a guest laundry facility, the office has coffee and other hot drinks available. The hotel itself is on the Ecola Park side, so just north of the Cannon Beach downtown area. We were pleasantly surprised with the Lodge and would reccomend to those with families (there were many families staying at the lodge during our visit) and we would also reccomend the lodge to those who don't want to be on the downtown strip. We found that for us it was a bit far from the main beach as we have a young family and many sand toys.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    54
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
60
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The lodge is located 5 minutes away from the beach. You have no direct view on the see.
The room is spacy and we had a gas fire place and a seperate room with a fridge and cupboard.
The manager is very helpfull and friendly. Great! They even printed our ticket I gave them via an usb stick. I never expected such a nice lodge for this price.
I recommend this lodge if you do not need a pool or spa. If I ever come back to cannon beach I will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this lodge while in Cannon Beach. The management is extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are very spacious and clean. It feels like you're at home here with many great adventures awaiting at your doorstep. Internet available and within walking distance to the beach and the main strip! Also hiking trails just behind it and it is very close to Ecola State Park which I highly recommend checking out! Worth every reasonable penny.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just returned from a three night stay at the Ecola Creek Lodge. This was our third stay and enjoyed it just as much as the last time. Each room is unique. It is a great place to stay while visiting Cannon Beach. It is easy walking to the beach and the town, but far enough away to miss the noise and traffic. The staff is very accomodating and provide morning hot drinks and afternoon warm cookies in the lobby. Most rooms do not have an ocean view. The room we had was 17 and looks at the center lawn and koi pond area from a small private deck.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a home away from home. We stayed for our wedding 7/20-7/22 2012 in room 8 the turret room. It was really cute and charming. We had all of our wedding party stay here and each room was decorated differant and they all had charm from what I saw. The staff was friendly and accomedated us with an early check in which was very kind (since I needed to steam my wedding dress). It was adorable and we enjoyed our stay. The bunnies running around the grounds added a lot of charm. I dont want anyone to get confused by my review because I like to provide honest feedback. If you are looking for something on the beach or a resort this isnt where you want to stay no spa services etc. If you want a home away from home a steps away from the beach and friendly staff then come and stay here the fireplaces in the rooms give it a very warm touch. It is very cozy and comfertable. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

After a 4 day stay in Portland, we headed to our next destination, the Oregon Coast. After some researching on the internet, we booked a two night stay at The Ecola Creek Lodge in Cannon Beach. This hotel is located right off Highway 101 (a beautiful, scenic drive to the beach). There is a bit of traffic noise, depending on your room's location, but it's pretty quiet for the most part. Don't forget to bring a jackets and pants. It was pretty cool while we were there! (in July)

Ecola Creek Lodge is believed to be located on the very spot where Lewis and Clark's expedition set up camp. Ecola was the Indian word for whale, and Clark named the stream Ecola Creek. The grounds are clean and well maintained. The office has coffee, tea, and cookies and an awesome, DVD rental collection with super new movies, to some classic films. Outside, the lodge looks cabin and rustic, quite appropriate for its location. We had Room 1, which was a one bedroom with pull out sleeper couch. Each room has a fireplace (a nice touch...we were cold!) flat panel tv, kitchen with lots of kitchen essentials, microwave, stove, fridge, sink, and a huge master bedroom. The decor is a little dated, but clean and usable. There wasn't A/C, but with the cool temperatures, you just need to open your window for a nice breeze. I loved the La Fresh makeup towelettes! There is free wifi; it was slow at times, but still nice to have during our stay. The beds were super comfy and our parents didn't mind sleeping on the couch. (They insisted!)

The Ecola Creek Lodge is within walking distance to downtown Cannon Beach. You should probably drive so you don't have to worry about finding parking. There's lots of shops, and restaurants, and a short walk to beautiful Cannon Beach. There are plenty of nature trails for the hiking enthusiasts, so there's something for everyone. If you're looking for groceries, there's a Safeway 15 minutes away by car. The staff here is super nice and helpful. I felt welcomed and relaxed during my stay in Cannon Beach. Hopefully I'll return to this quiet beach town!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the main road. See you if you could get a room with a "vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

What a beautiful property! We stayed one night and I wished we had stayed longer. We had a one bedroom suite and it was clean and cute. The bathroom was really clean and well-maintained. There is a beautiful pond and landscaping. Quiet at night but also close to 101 which is ideal for a coastal tour. Only thing that stopped me from giving top marks was that the dresser and tv stand were old but not in a good way so maybe replace those. The owner is a very kind and friendly man! Love it!

Room Tip: Our room faced a courtyard not the road or parking lot and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ecola Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecola Creek Lodge

Also Known As:
Ecola Creek Hotel Cannon Beach
Ecola Creek Hotel
Ecola Creek Cannon Beach
Address: 208 Fifth Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecola Creek Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cannon Beach's most inviting places to stay, "Where Oregon Coast beauty meet New England charm". Ecola Creek Lodge consists of four buildings with their distinct Cape Cod architecture, and are surrounded by spacious lawns, gardens and a beautiful koi pond water feature. The 'classically' decorated Guestrooms range from Studios to one and two bedroom Suites with kitchens. We're located on the quiet North end of town just two blocks from the beach and a five minute stroll to downtown Cannon Beach's shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Ecola Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecola Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.