We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and welcoming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecola Creek Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ecola Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Ecola Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Fifth Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful and welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just returned from a three night stay at the Ecola Creek Lodge. This was our third stay and enjoyed it just as much as the last time. Each room is unique. It is a great place to stay while visiting Cannon Beach. It is easy walking to the beach and the town, but far enough away to miss the noise and traffic. The staff is very accomodating and provide morning hot drinks and afternoon warm cookies in the lobby. Most rooms do not have an ocean view. The room we had was 17 and looks at the center lawn and koi pond area from a small private deck.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    60
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
70
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a home away from home. We stayed for our wedding 7/20-7/22 2012 in room 8 the turret room. It was really cute and charming. We had all of our wedding party stay here and each room was decorated differant and they all had charm from what I saw. The staff was friendly and accomedated us with an early check in which was very kind (since I needed to steam my wedding dress). It was adorable and we enjoyed our stay. The bunnies running around the grounds added a lot of charm. I dont want anyone to get confused by my review because I like to provide honest feedback. If you are looking for something on the beach or a resort this isnt where you want to stay no spa services etc. If you want a home away from home a steps away from the beach and friendly staff then come and stay here the fireplaces in the rooms give it a very warm touch. It is very cozy and comfertable. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

After a 4 day stay in Portland, we headed to our next destination, the Oregon Coast. After some researching on the internet, we booked a two night stay at The Ecola Creek Lodge in Cannon Beach. This hotel is located right off Highway 101 (a beautiful, scenic drive to the beach). There is a bit of traffic noise, depending on your room's location, but it's pretty quiet for the most part. Don't forget to bring a jackets and pants. It was pretty cool while we were there! (in July)

Ecola Creek Lodge is believed to be located on the very spot where Lewis and Clark's expedition set up camp. Ecola was the Indian word for whale, and Clark named the stream Ecola Creek. The grounds are clean and well maintained. The office has coffee, tea, and cookies and an awesome, DVD rental collection with super new movies, to some classic films. Outside, the lodge looks cabin and rustic, quite appropriate for its location. We had Room 1, which was a one bedroom with pull out sleeper couch. Each room has a fireplace (a nice touch...we were cold!) flat panel tv, kitchen with lots of kitchen essentials, microwave, stove, fridge, sink, and a huge master bedroom. The decor is a little dated, but clean and usable. There wasn't A/C, but with the cool temperatures, you just need to open your window for a nice breeze. I loved the La Fresh makeup towelettes! There is free wifi; it was slow at times, but still nice to have during our stay. The beds were super comfy and our parents didn't mind sleeping on the couch. (They insisted!)

The Ecola Creek Lodge is within walking distance to downtown Cannon Beach. You should probably drive so you don't have to worry about finding parking. There's lots of shops, and restaurants, and a short walk to beautiful Cannon Beach. There are plenty of nature trails for the hiking enthusiasts, so there's something for everyone. If you're looking for groceries, there's a Safeway 15 minutes away by car. The staff here is super nice and helpful. I felt welcomed and relaxed during my stay in Cannon Beach. Hopefully I'll return to this quiet beach town!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the main road. See you if you could get a room with a "vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

What a beautiful property! We stayed one night and I wished we had stayed longer. We had a one bedroom suite and it was clean and cute. The bathroom was really clean and well-maintained. There is a beautiful pond and landscaping. Quiet at night but also close to 101 which is ideal for a coastal tour. Only thing that stopped me from giving top marks was that the dresser and tv stand were old but not in a good way so maybe replace those. The owner is a very kind and friendly man! Love it!

Room Tip: Our room faced a courtyard not the road or parking lot and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ecola Cree Lodge for a week and just had a wonderful time there.The grounds were lush with green grass, flowers,clean,private and cozy. The staff was wonderful and very accomadating. They even let us borrow an umbrella because we had none and didnt expect a drizzly day. A real treat staying there and a spits throw away from the amazing Ecola State Park and Cannon Beach 's main street. We had everything we needed just a 5-10 minute walk away. We had coffee, the post office, great restaurants, a cooking school, pet stores and some of the most beautiful galleries I have ever seen. I loved ending a beautiful day at Cannon Beach and returning to a one-of-a-kind hotel room/lodge. It was truly a great experience and one Ill never forget. Whenever I go back I will always stay at this lodge & recommend it to others. Thanks Ecola Creek Lodge for a grand experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Ecola Creek Lodge on numerous occasions and have always found it to be clean, comfortable and cozy. The grounds are well maintained and the grandkids love to watch the the bunnies hopping around on the grounds. The rooms were well appointed and well furnished. The towel art is something special. The kitchens were well stocked with equipment and we had everything we needed. There was a large selection of DVD's in the office. Charles and the front office staff have always been friendly and more thank helpful. I would certainly recommend Ecola Creek to anyone - it is well worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, B.C.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here two nights in June. It is a tidy property with clean, well equiped rooms about a five miute walk from main street Cannon Beach. There were large family groups with kids on either side of us and we didn't hear any noise at night or in the morning.
The only complaint is the windows in the bedroom do not have curtains, only shades and the room was bright too early in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ecola Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecola Creek Lodge

Address: 208 Fifth Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecola Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cannon Beach's most inviting places to stay, "Where Oregon Coast beauty meets New England charm". Ecola Creek Lodge consists of four buildings with their distinct Cape Cod architecture, which are surrounded by spacious lawns, gardens and a beautiful Koi Pond water feature. The 'classically' decorated Guestrooms range from Studios to our "Family Friendly" 1 and 2 bedroom Suites with kitchens. We're located on the quiet North end of town just two blocks from the beach and a five minute stroll into downtown Cannon Beach's shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ecola Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecola Creek Hotel Cannon Beach
Ecola Creek Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecola Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.