We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view and great lodging” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner's Cove Inn

Save Saved
You added Schooner's Cove Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schooner's Cove Inn
188 N. Larch, PO Box 86, Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Downtown on the Ocean!
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Cannon Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington state
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful view and great lodging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

What a wonderful, friendly lodging! We love Cannon Beach and wanted to stay closer in town. We chose Schooners Cove Inn based on their website, location and reviews. The staff was warm, welcoming, and friendly. Our room was very clean and very comfortable - and the view is spectacular. We'll be back!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — stairs - no elevator
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    152
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
189
261
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

The property's website claims that the rooms have 'kitchens' but when we arrived we found a kitchen without an oven. None of the rooms have kitchens with ovens. This won't make a difference to most travellers as Cannon Beach has some fine restaurants, but it is helpful to know this information ahead of time when one is planning meals during one's stay.

Our room did have a fridge, microwave, and two stovetop burners.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

We booked at Schooner's Cove after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. What a good choice. The Inn is nicely situated oceanfront on Cannon Beach with wonderful views. The staff was friendly and the room was perfect. We stayed on the top floor and found that very much to our liking. We would recommend Schooner's Cove and would definitely go back there again.

  • Liked — The layout of the room and being oceanfront.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2007

Schooners Cove is a small property of about 30 rooms and each has stunning ocean views. The views do not include the famous Haystack Rock, but they include a large beach front plus the mouth of Ecola Creek, headlands and seastacks to the north of the beach, adding beauty, variety and interest. In addition to the view, the best downtown shops and restaurants are just a block away. The larger properties facing Haystack require a long walk or a drive to downtown. Reservations were made by phone since their computer system was not functioning well, and the computer was still having problems at check-in and out. However, the manager, who lives on site, was very pleasant and efficient, so this was not a drawback. The room was just as requested, and it was spotlessly clean. There are four styles of rooms, all of them with a microwave and refrigerator, and three of the styles have a cooktop in addition. Rooms with a kitchen come with plenty of cabinet space and a few dishes and implements. About two blocks away there is a nice grocery store on the main street, but expect beach prices. There is a very well-stocked wine store about one block away. The rooms that have a separate bedroom have a dishwasher also. The bathroom was spacious, with a tub/shower combination, toilet and sink all in the enclosed room. Although the property is about 20 years old, two years ago it was completely renovated on the outside and inside and it still looks like new. The rooms on the lower floor all open directly to a small semi-private deck with direct access to the beach. The upper rooms have cathedral ceilings which make the rooms seem very large. There is advertised a two-person spa, but we did not use it. It can be reserved for a 30-minute time period. Be sure to look at their website or discuss rooms with the manager so you get a room that meets your needs. My room had the bed in the back in a separate bedroom. This made the bedroom very private, but I did miss the sound of the ocean, so I slept on the couch one night. There are rooms with a bed instead of a couch, so the sound and view of the ocean would be there while you are in bed. There is plenty of parking, with about half of it in parking stalls under cover. These are not assigned and are on a first come basis. The cleaning staff was fast, efficient, and had the room sparkling in short order. Because this is a small property, there is no assistance with baggage and no on-site dining room. All rooms, except for one accessible room, require climbing at least one flight of stairs. There is a guest coin-operated laundry on site. The bathroom amenities are "Aroma Botanicals" and include the basic soap, shampoo and conditioner. There is unsecure Wi-fi on site free for use, and a DVD player in each room. Bring your favorite movies or rent a movie from a fairly mediocre selection at the front desk for $4.00 each. Winter is a great time to visit Cannon Beach. It was easy to visit with the gallery and shop owners, fun to eat in uncrowded restaurants and romantic to wander the beaches without hordes of tourists, and, of course, the rooms are much cheaper. I had stayed at another location further down the beach, but I enjoyed this stay so much that I will be coming back to Schooners Cove from now on.

  • Liked — Location on beach one block from downtown.
  • Disliked — No comment
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

The hotel was very clean and conveniently located. Unfortunately there didn't appear to be ANY insulation in between the upstairs unit and our Double Sloop on the main level. We could hear the squeaking of the bed springs, and the thumping of footsteps late into the night, and then very early again the next morning. When we called and requested to change rooms, the employee at the front desk implied that we were overly sensitive, and claiming that we got a "very good rate" on the room (the published rate on the website), offered us only a studio on the second floor for the same price (more than the published rate on the website). I was also disappointed to see that the pictures on the website depict the upper story rooms (with high ceilings), when we were given a room on the lower floor. I agree with a previous reviewer that the privacy of the lower rooms is very limited, with a public space right outside the lower level rooms.

Another disappointment was the inability to cool the room off. It was 80°F inside when we arrived, and even with the heat off and patio door open and sub 50°F temperatures outside, we couldn't get the room any cooler than 72°F. That made the fireplace almost obsolete.

Overall the hotel was nice, and short of the one individual at the front desk, the rest of the hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. If I had assurance that I was staying on the upper level, I would come back.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Schooner's Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner's Cove Inn

Address: 188 N. Larch, PO Box 86, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Cannon Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront hotel in the heart of downtown Cannon Beach. Enjoy oceanfront suites, kitchens, gas firplaces, WiFi, flat screen TVs, DVD players, and oceanfront decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Schooner's Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner`s Cove Hotel Cannon Beach
Schooners Cove Hotel
Schooners Cove Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooner's Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.