We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay on Cannon Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner's Cove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Schooner's Cove Inn to your Saves list
Schooner's Cove Inn
188 N. Larch, PO Box 86, Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Stay on Cannon Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

During our stay at Cannon Beach, we heard from other guests that this place was the best, and we agree! It was close to the water, with tremendous views, a lovely grass yard on the beach, and great service. The renovated suites were very nice, and had views of both the ocean and the mountains. They had small kitchens, stocked with everything we needed, dish soap, corkscrew, and more. They even provided laundry detergent! A little piece of heaven. As others noted, you could park your car at the hotel and walk to everything in town. We did drive to haystack rock on our last day, as our one-year old couldn't quite make the walk. The hotel is also very kid-friendly!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    170
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
204
293
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Wa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We been coming to Cannon Beach for the last several years, and we always stay at Schooner's. The location is excellent - right off the town core. You can park your car for the trip and walk everywhere (well, except for the Quilting store which is up the road). The rooms are on the beach and all have direct unobstructed views of the ocean. They have a stretch of lawn between the rooms and the beach where you can sit if you don't want to be on the sand.

They also completely renovated the rooms this year with new furniture, carpet and wallpaper. Housekeeping does a great job and the rooms have always been clean.

They upgraded to a King bed from a Queen which makes the Captain's Quarter's bedroom a bit tight, but workable. The quarters are long and somewhat narrow to take advantage of the ocean view, but for the two of us we find it very comfortable. The new kitchen table is on the small side but I quibble about minor issues.

The staff is great and we always have a very comfortable, quiet, and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A beautiful location on the beach. The Super slooper room was very spacious, clean and very comfortable. Our family of 4 stayed 2 nights and it wasn't enough. Just a perfect hotel for us. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Prices were great and Cannon Beach was lovely. I can't imagine a better place than Schooner's Cove. Thanks!

Room Tip: Super slooper, huge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have been coming to Schooners Cove for about nine years and we have never been disappointed. It is wonderful to see the upgrades since last year. The new beds are wonderful, as is the new living room furniture. The staff remains courteous and friendly. The grounds are very well kept and someone to clean the grill is a real treat! This is the perfect location on the beach, we park our car and never have to use it once we arrive.

Room Tip: Lower level is great for direct beach access for children, upper level is more quiet without the rum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Started with terrific hospitality. Front desk personnel could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The rooms were not all that remarkable until we opened the curtains to see a magnificent sunset over the incredible rock formations and beautiful beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Diamond, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Right on the north end of the beach (no view of Haystack Rock, but that's OK) and in the heart of town. Our parked car didn't move for three days. The double sloop room was perfect for our family of five. We could read, watch the surf from our deck, play games, cook light meals, or watch television.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family loved staying here for our trip to Cannon Beach. The property is conveniently located right on the beach and a block away from all the shops and restaurants in town. It was about 3/4 mile from haystack rock. When you walk onto the beach, you can see haystack rock as soon as you turn a corner out of the cove to the left. From the hotel the beach view is beautiful with a vista of rocky formations toward the north. I was pleased that the rooms looked just as pictured--clean and updated. We stayed in the Double Captain's ocean view room and the Landlubber. The ocean view room was awesome. Sliding doors open up to your own little patio with a few steps down to their lawn and then the beach. You can just leave the doors open and hear the waves crashing from your bed. Heat is provided by a gas fireplace and controlled with a thermostat. The landlubber was a handicap-accessible room, so it had a nice large bathroom. The hotel lawn overlooks the beach and has lawn chairs, four barbecue grills and picnic tables. There is also a hot tub on the third floor that overlooks the beach. I love that the hot tub is reservation only so you don't have to share. This is a great place for families. I was concerned about bringing a baby and disturbing guests with crying, but I was assured that the walls had good sound insulation and that our baby was welcome. We would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schooner's Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner's Cove Inn

Address: 188 N. Larch, PO Box 86, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cannon Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Cannon Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront hotel in the heart of downtown Cannon Beach. Enjoy oceanfront suites, kitchens, gas firplaces, WiFi, flat screen TVs, DVD players, and oceanfront decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Schooner's Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner`s Cove Hotel Cannon Beach
Schooners Cove Hotel
Schooners Cove Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooner's Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.