We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Else Comes Close” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Waves to your Saves list
The Waves
188 W 2nd St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Ocean View 3rd Night Free
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
B.C.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing Else Comes Close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

Just returned from a five night stay at The Waves Inn in Cannon Beach. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are already planning next summer's visit there. The suite we rented had an impressive ocean front view and was less than two minutes from all the shops and restaurants. It was well maintained, up-to-date, comfortable, and maybe even a little upscale. There were five of us (we have three kids) but we all slept comfortably and there was plenty of room for all our stuff. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. We just could not have hoped for a better visit! Next time, we'll stay for a full week.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    110
    13
    10
    7
See reviews for
77
176
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

What a great stay at the Waves Motel in Cannon Beach, it has been about 4 years since our last visit and really enjoyed some of the changes.

Once again we stayed at the Waves Motel. While still very active in our 60's we can park the car and never touch it the entire week...set in the 'village' just steps from shops, restaurants, etc. and right on the beach at the mouth of the creek it couldn't be better located. Rooms are clean, recently updated...I do miss the wood fireplaces which now seem to all be gas...but the comfort is the same I guess. The staff was great, but not overbearing or pushy...you can tell it's locally owned and operated...we received the benefit of that when the office manager (I think she was the owner) called and helped us get into the great new cooking school/restaurant called EVOO which is just down the street from the Waves.

It might be another 4 years before we are back in Cannon Beach but will once again stay at the Waves Motel.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

My husband and I just got back from our second stay at the Waves Motel, specifically the La Colina building. It is a wonderful faciilty, clean, breathtaking views, great in-town location. They have everything you could possibly need - microwave, dishes, dvd player, vcr, cd player, etc. I really feel that this hotel is an excellent value for its beachfront location and views in Cannon Beach and couldn't recommend it enough.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

My husband and I stayed at The Waves for 3 nights in late August of this year. Before booking in, we viewed two of the rooms to decide which one we like. Both rooms were apparently recently redone and were bright and airy with light neutral colors, fireplaces ( gas), windows with a view to the ocean, and compact little kitchens with granite countertops.

We chose the one directly on the ocean, as we couldn't resist its corner window looking both north and west over the ocean and the rocks.

The bed and bed linens and pillows were extremely comfortable, there were three comfortable chairs- two surrounding a small table by the window where you could eat or set up your computer as we did, while watching the waves crash on the beach. The kitchenette was lovely, granite countertops, sink, small cooktop and refridgerator, and was supplied with basic cooking utelsils. The bathroom was well done in white subway tiles and travertine floors.

The fireplace was a joy and we used it every night.( just flick the switch) There was a small patio off the room ( upper units have decks, but we were on the first floor) with chairs, which we again used regularly to watch the ocean. The Waves does not have a hotel or motel feel- which we liked very much.

The only draw back was really the lack of storage. The units only have one small closet, and few drawers in which to unpack. Difficult if you were staying a week, or had a lot of luggage, like we did. But the lovely room and its location- right on the ocean and right in the middle of town, more than compensated for that. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2005

We just spent three nights in the Upper Lighthouse suite at the Augusta Inn (a part of The Waves Motel complex) and while Cannon Beach is always fabulous the same can't be said of this operation.

At check-in the desk clerk's indifference was akin to a passive-aggressive rebuke. No assistance was offered, we were not shown to our $150 room, guest parking was a possibility if we could beat another guest to one of the inadequate number of spaces - otherwise we were on the street, we were offered no information about the facilities or the town, and no instructions about how to work the fireplace, the blinds or the VCR. (Tip: the VCR is set to work on channel 4, not 3.) We put it down to end-of-season burnout and happily settled into what could be a divine room.

The Upper Lighthouse is the tastefully remodeled upper floor of an older house about 50 steps from the beach. It has a spacious deck with a priceless view of the ocean and sunsets. There is a convenient kitchenette and a stone fireplace that is truly a work of art. The translucent Roman blinds take a bit of figuring out, but they are stylish and attractive. The modest 24" TV has lots of cable channels and a VCR. (The market next to the post office has a decent library of rentals.) Sounds pretty good, and it could be great if these people would just put some effort into thinking about their guests' needs.

F'rinstance. Paper towels are supplied, but no towel holder on the wall. There is one 30" wide closet to hang clothes, way too small and it has the maid's honkin' big commercial vacuum cleaner stored in it! No place to store suitcases (they don't fit under the bed) and no stand to set them on. No coat hooks anywhere, no hooks in the bathroom to hang a bathrobe, two easy chairs but only one ottoman to fight over, no towel rack for the dish towels, a ridiculous bar-size double sink too small for more than a few cups or glasses - why not just have a useable single sink? An iron with a next-to-useless mini ironing board. No radio. These are minor inconveniences, but all the more disappointing for being so easy to remedy.

To be fair, there is a guest book filled with rapturous reviews from honeymoon couples and people who conceived their babies there. (TMI folks!) But we've been together twenty-six years now; we notice that there are no coat hooks.

If we thought that the desk clerk's attitude was an anomaly, that notion was dispelled on checkout. The older couple working in the office (we suspect they were the owners or managers) were abrupt to the point of being downright rude. Guests were kept waiting, the clerk/owners spoke in grunts and monosyllables while avoiding eye contact, and it was made abundantly clear that it was a huge imposition to print out our statement.

Sorry for the long story, but it was frustrating to have something that could so easily have been special and memorable spoiled by a lack of care and effort. You could do a lot worse than staying at the Augusta Inn/Waves Motel, but you could also do a lot better. Like staying somewhere that gives a hoot about its guests.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2005

We arrived at Cannon Beach for start of a 2 week Oregon vacation, not even thinking it was Memorial Day weekend. Despite driving into a town packed with holiday crowds, we managed to find one room available at the Waves, in the Southwind building. Everything was new & clean, with a kitchen, fireplace, deck overlooking the beach & rocks at Ecola Pt. and Tillamook Light. We ended up staying 4 nights instead of the 2 we originally planned for the area! Great location, grocery within easy walking distance, friendly staff gave us some tips on places to go. We'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2005

Just got back from 5 days in Cannon Beach. My wife and I went early and the kids & grandparents joined for the weekend. We stayed right on the ocean in one of the 'Flagship units'...very romantic, so close to the beach we could throw crusty bread to the seagulls and have it hit the sand from our deck. The property is right in the heart of town and right on the beach. When the family came we moved to the 'Beach House' - perfect. Four rooms, huge kitchen and yard right on the seawall, even had an old jukebox which made for fun evenings while we sat by the fire. I've stayed at other hotels in Cannon Beach and while some might be a bit more fancy (i.e. Stephanie) the Waves has charm, character and location...and I've always been satisfied with the service.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Address: 188 W 2nd St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cannon Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cluster of six buildings located on or near the beach that provide great views of the Pacific Ocean, the Tillamook Lighthouse, and the rocks fronting Ecola State Park. Located in the village center, park and walk to most all shopping and restaurants. Accommodations for parties of one to eight people. Most all rooms will have fireplaces, kitchenettes, and private decks. All rooms are smoke and pet free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.