We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Waves to your Saves list
The Waves
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   188 W 2nd St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous view and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed at the most ocean front lodgings on the second floor. It would be impossible to be any closer to the water.
The room appeared to be newly renovated and was beautiful.
The queen bed was comfortable but not big enough for me and my husband since we are so spoiled by king beds.
The location is wonderful for other reasons. Park here and you are done. You have a very short walk to wonderful dining and food.
So many beautiful nearby hikes as well.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    126
    17
    11
    7
See reviews for
94
203
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

The wife and I stayed here in early April and had a very nice stay. I believe we stayed in the 'Southwind'; not all units have beachfront views, but our unit did. I especially liked the seating alcove where you could sit for hours with a glass of wine and read. The wife really liked the gas log fireplace -- even though it wasn't that cool, she kept it on for most of the evening; it does add lots to the ambience.

Although we did not have much contact with the staff, they were quite friendly and welcoming when we arrived.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Spent two nights here on a weekend getaway. The location is great - it is located one block from the main road through "downtown" Cannon Beach so it's super convenient to walk to shops, restaurants, galleries and the local grocery store. It is also located right on the beachfront so the view is fabulous and there is immediate access to the beach. However, it is slightly NW facing so your direct view is of the estuary leading to the main beach. The room has been updated and there is a convenient kitchenette with small fridge, two-burner range, microwave, sink, coffeepot as well as a gas fireplace and small private deck. The bathroom is cozy but functional, the furnishings are decent. Don't expect a 5-star establishment - this place is for people who just want to get away and enjoy the view and the town - there are no frills, no pampering, not even friendly service. Just a low key environment with the functional amenities in a great location. All in all, we had a great weekend and would return to The Waves to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

cold, grey and windy in Cannon Beach but my 2nd floor room in La Colina at Waves was fabulous. The log fire (gas) and that amazing ocean view out of the window. Wifi excellent. Close to all you need downtown too. room very comfortable and table in window perfect for gazing out at those HUGE seagulls. My first visit to Oregon and a great spot to land.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Awesome, oceanfront location. Beautiful room.

Only problems were too many sea gulls flying around and even coming onto our balcony. They need to eradicate them some how. Shotguns maybe?

Also, maids failed to wash our dishes, another minus. And they waited to clean our room until late in the afternoon. Another minus.

Overall, great stay though.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We really enjoyed our getaway to Cannon Beach and the Waves. It has been years since we last stayed here and this time we stayed in one of the Flagship rooms. It has excellent beach front views, and so much light in the room! Bed was very comfy, the room swas clean and the people were very attentive.

We really needed the time to relax on our weekend, which we did. Location made it a breeze for beach walks anytime we felt like it. Brunch at the Lasy Susan was a must! Some wine tasting and shopping rounded out our weekend. We will be back again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We have been staying at the Flagship rooms for many years. We don't stay as often as we'd like, due to the price. But when we have a special occasion we stay here due to the beach front location in the center of town, the gorgeous views, and the design of each room to enhance light and comfort. The rooms are one large room with a kitchenette, a bed, gas fireplace and table and chairs. There is also a large chair and hassock for reading. We understand the flagship design received an award and it is easy to see why. The skylights let in sun and light, and the stair step placement of rooms allows for maximum views and privacy. The only disappointment we've had in these rooms is the recent upgrade. The rooms were worn and it is great the owners are upgrading them. However, we wish they had retained the river rock trim around the fireplaces and the tiny ovens (we don't know if this rehab is the same in all units, however). Nevertheless, we will likely continue to stay here as we love being close to the beach and also town. It is great to park our car for the entire stay and just enjoy being at the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Address: 188 W 2nd St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cluster of six buildings located on or near the beach that provide great views of the Pacific Ocean, the Tillamook Lighthouse, and the rocks fronting Ecola State Park. Located in the village center, park and walk to most all shopping and restaurants. Accommodations for parties of one to eight people. Most all rooms will have fireplaces, kitchenettes, and private decks. All rooms are smoke and pet free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.