We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Waves was Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Waves to your Saves list
The Waves
188 W 2nd St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Near Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Waves was Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2005

We arrived at Cannon Beach for start of a 2 week Oregon vacation, not even thinking it was Memorial Day weekend. Despite driving into a town packed with holiday crowds, we managed to find one room available at the Waves, in the Southwind building. Everything was new & clean, with a kitchen, fireplace, deck overlooking the beach & rocks at Ecola Pt. and Tillamook Light. We ended up staying 4 nights instead of the 2 we originally planned for the area! Great location, grocery within easy walking distance, friendly staff gave us some tips on places to go. We'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    110
    13
    10
    7
See reviews for
77
176
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2005

Just got back from 5 days in Cannon Beach. My wife and I went early and the kids & grandparents joined for the weekend. We stayed right on the ocean in one of the 'Flagship units'...very romantic, so close to the beach we could throw crusty bread to the seagulls and have it hit the sand from our deck. The property is right in the heart of town and right on the beach. When the family came we moved to the 'Beach House' - perfect. Four rooms, huge kitchen and yard right on the seawall, even had an old jukebox which made for fun evenings while we sat by the fire. I've stayed at other hotels in Cannon Beach and while some might be a bit more fancy (i.e. Stephanie) the Waves has charm, character and location...and I've always been satisfied with the service.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2004

There are many better properties than the Waves and I would definitely recommend staying elsewhere. First the good - the location is very convenient and right by the beach. Although Cannon Beach is extremely small, the closer to the beach the better. Now for the rest - the property is very tired with dirty and worn carpets, holes in the bedsheets, and 70s furniture in dire need of replacing. There were little brown bugs in the bathroom. Watch out if you sit out on the deck as the rails are flimsy. The staff were not very polite at all. The maid service is spotty at best and sometimes you can barely notice if your room has been serviced. Not the kind of service you'd expect for $250+ per night. We've been coming to Cannon Beach for the past 5 years and will definitely stay elsewhere next year. Given the high summer tourist season, management probably doesn't have to work very hard at attracting guests, but I would recommend staying elsewhere for much better service and value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, NJ
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2004

After an Alaskan cruise, I drove the Oregon coastline and stayed at The Waves, Cannon Beach. Not your typical hotel, this had much more of a 'bed and breakfasty' feel, seeming more like condos converted to over night rentals. Quaint and quiet and clean, I was not disappointed...until the sun came up. The blinds on the windows provided no shade from the sun. If you're anything like me, and enjoy sleeping in in the morning (yes, even on vacation on the west coast), I suggest a sleeping mask!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2003

Stayed this weekend (Halloween) at the Waves in Cannon Beach. Unit 6 overlooking the ocean. A bit chilly - the thermostat had been mounted upside down - but comfortable, ideally located, accessible and just right. Fully priced, but gives full value, for a change. You will like it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2003

The Waves Motel is simply Fantastic! Excellent Location. Beach Front Units and shops are just a stroll around the corner! During our three day vacation we never needed to use the car. We stayed in the Flagship suite..., just beautiful! 2nd floor unit with panoramic views and spacious deck. 2 bedrooms, 2 full baths and an extra wall sleeper, large kitchen and pantry with family size eating area that opens onto the balcony. Check it out and enjoy, I am sure you will love this!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2003

Exceptionally clean, high quality units with great location both on the beach and in the heart of town. Friendly, family run business. None of the units are more than a few steps from the beach and you can enjoy both the beach and the town's amenities without using your car. Situated right next door is Oregon's best pizza place. There are a lot of great hotels in Cannon Beach, but this is our favourite.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Address: 188 W 2nd St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cluster of six buildings located on or near the beach that provide great views of the Pacific Ocean, the Tillamook Lighthouse, and the rocks fronting Ecola State Park. Located in the village center, park and walk to most all shopping and restaurants. Accommodations for parties of one to eight people. Most all rooms will have fireplaces, kitchenettes, and private decks. All rooms are smoke and pet free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.