We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay here again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Waves to your Saves list
The Waves
188 W 2nd St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay here again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stayed in the Lower Lighthouse which is a somewhat small room, but which is very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and the room includes amenities such as a mini-fridge, a gas fireplace, an iron and ironing board and free wi-fi. The only reason I am not giving this an excellent rating is because the Lower Lighthouse room does not have any view of the ocean. The beach and the ocean are however only steps away so this was not a big negative for me. For a traveler on a bit of a budget, this room is great if you don't need to be able to see the ocean from your room. Staff were very courteous at check-in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    110
    13
    10
    7
See reviews for
77
176
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in the Argonauta Inn. Loved it. It was much nicer than expected. The condo was spacious, nicely furnished and close to the beach. We did not have an ocean view but we were so close that it did not matter. There were 2 bedrooms, 1 with a bathroom. That bathroom was very small but it did the trick. AWe went to Lazy Susan Cafe for breakfast both mornings because it was so good. Make sure and try the waffles!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

It didn't hurt that Cannon Beach was at its most beautiful - sunny and warm with incredible flowers everywhere. But the Waves Motel was what made the stay great. Right across from the beach, spacious clean modern rooms, fireplace, kitchenette with just the right "stuff," and a location right downtown so we walked to everything. Didn't even have to put shoes on to go for my morning beach walk.

Room Tip: The best for couples: 2nd floor (although numbers are 305, 307, etc.) of La Colina. Great deck wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our young family of 5 stayed here, and we think we've found the place we will be returning to on future trips. This is the 4th place we have stayed at in Cannon Beach in 10 years, and our best family spot so far - especially now with 5 of us. The hotel is literally half a block from the ocean, right in the middle of the village shops and dining. The suite is well maintained, sunny, with a nice deck and partial ocean view. Plenty of space for our family to sleep and eat. It is on the 2nd floor, with only a neighbor to the west. The hotel laundry is below the suite, but it definitely did not bother us or our nappers. There is a guest laundry on site, and beach toys to borrow for your beach trips. The pictures are accurate. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was our first time to visit Cannon Beach and the Waves was in an exclusive location at the north end of the beach affording more privacy from the larger multi unit properties at the other end of town. The photos on the website give you an idea of the taste and quality level of the furnishings in the rooms. We stayed in 2 different Flagship one bedroom suites due to booking commitments and overall there was very little difference. Suite 415A was our favorite due to its exceptional private patio with table and chairs. The communal gas BBQ works well. As we cooked all of our meals there, I find rather miserly that basics like coffee, sugar, creamer, plastic wrap and foil are not provided, even when requested at the front desk. For the rates charged it should be provided.
Housekeeping services are not obtrusive and thorough.
Wifi connection is consistently good in the bedroom towards the back of the units and spotty anywhere else. Office staff was courteous but inconsistent. One gave free single load laundry detergent; another wanted to charge until we revealed the previous experience.
The town already has enough going for it to provide for a memorable Oregon beach experience, but the Waves is an outstanding property on its own.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

First-time guest of The Waves last month, in town for the Sandcastle Festival. We stayed in one of the upper suites of the White Heron duplex, and really liked it. We were literally steps from both the heart of town and the beach itself. Everything was very clean and comfortable, and although the unit is rather small, the layout is quite efficient.

My suggestion to anyone considering the White Heron: try to secure one of the lower units. They have a nice grassy yard and way better beach access. The upper units have small porches, but "small" is an overstatement. They are not at all conducive to sitting outside and were the only negative to our stay.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at The Waves at least 5 or 6 times over the last 15 years and are never disappointed with our stay there. It has the beach at our doorstep and the mainstreet of CB just a block away. We rarely use our vehicle while we are there. Highly recommend it for those who want to relax but also have some places to stroll to on some of those colder, drizzly days.

Room Tip: Studio style room with kitchen facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Address: 188 W 2nd St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cluster of six buildings located on or near the beach that provide great views of the Pacific Ocean, the Tillamook Lighthouse, and the rocks fronting Ecola State Park. Located in the village center, park and walk to most all shopping and restaurants. Accommodations for parties of one to eight people. Most all rooms will have fireplaces, kitchenettes, and private decks. All rooms are smoke and pet free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.