We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Cannon Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn at Cannon Beach to your Saves list
Inn at Cannon Beach
3215 South Hemlock Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fall Special
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Spent 2 nights in an attractive spa tub room. Wanted to be on the beach but nothing was available so we moved across the street to the Inn, which is a nice alternative. Cannon Beach is a great place to stay even if a little chilly for native Oregonians. Staff was friendly, helpful and very nice. We made their "list" for being from Delaware, and we got there list on where to eat. Great fun.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    145
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
240
329
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yakima Valley, WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

If you only looked at the Inn at Cannon Beach, by all appearances it looks like a perfect little hotel. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are small, but well laid out, the staff are helpful and efficient. But then things start to go downhill. The rooms are not air-conditioned and that was a problem. They do provide fans in the room, but our room was uncomfortably warm. At bedtime we could hear the people next door cough, talk, and move about their room. The neighbors were not loud people-the walls were that thin. We checked out after only one night. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I love this property. We just stayed this weekend for one night because we had a gift certificate (we got the free night because last year we stayed at one of their sister properties and had some noisy neighbors - they gave us the free night to say sorry even though it wasn't their fault!). So this time we chose to not stay at the sister property, but actually at the Inn at Cannon Beach. So glad we did. The service here is amazing. As soon as you walk in the door to the cozy reception area you are greeted with a huge smile and a warm welcome. The staff was great every time we interacted with them. In addition to the gift certificate we got last year, we were impressed this time around too. We had checked out at noon and were still in Cannon Beach 4 hours later enjoying an early dinner before heading back to town. My phone buzzed, and there was an email from the Inn thanking us for staying with them and offering 10% off the next time as a repeat guest - such a fast thank you!
Besides the wonderful staff, the property is really nice. They have lovely gardens (just like everywhere else in Cannon Beach) and the hotel rooms area great. Ours was 123, and it was on the ground floor. It had it's own front porch with chairs and table, a jacuzzi tub, fireplace, large flat screen TV, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker w/coffee and Numi organic tea (yum), and a king bed. The bed was ok - not the fluffiest or the hardest I've ever had. Pretty comfortable overall. There was also a small table for dining and a little loveseat that folded out to a sofa bed. We really liked the room, it kind of felt more like a guest house than a hotel room, with the front porch and all the amenities.
This place is great too because they offer you so much. The Sunday Oregonian was on our doorstep when we woke up, you get a free continental breakfast (which we missed because we slept in really late), they will loan you 2 DVDs from the reception office at a time (the DVD library is really large too), fresh baked cookies everyday, beach chairs and towels you can take down to the beach, free taffy, board games to borrow - they have everything!
The locations is decent - it's on the South side of Cannon Beach, which is way less crowded than the North end. You are right next to a really good litle pub, close to Mo's seafood/chowder, and across the street from Tolovana park. This park has some children's play equipment and direct beach access. You can walk North to the famous Haystack rock or South to some more interesting rock outcrops and a lot less people.
Overall, we loved it and will definitely go back. We used to have a favorite hotel in Cannon Beach - which we still like - but this place has won us over. We will stay here again and I hope it's soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

The staff is great! Very friendly! It's a quick walk to the beach and the rooms are spacious and nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Our family spent spring break at the Inn at Cannon Beach. We had a great time. This is our 4th spring break in Cannon Beach and our third property. We've stayed on the North side of town, more in the central part and now on the southern side. The property is quite nice, a quick walk to the beach and close to Mo's Chowder and a brew pub. The positives. The room was nice, had a small kitchenette with sink, microwave and small counter space. The other places we've stayed we always had a small dining table but not this time, the room was more of a regular hotel room. However, typically the only meal we'd eat in was breakfast and the Inn at Cannon Beach has a good continental breakfast. As with most continental breakfasts, you want to avoid the rush time and get there earlier in the morning or later. 7:30-8:30 am was a bit of a madhouse and we made that mistake once. The breakfast was perfect for our family, cereal, waffles, bagels, juices, some fruit - pretty similar to home. My in-laws also stayed and there more eggs and meat people so it wasn't the best for them. Personally, my wife and I aren't big breakfast people so for us and our two kids saving the $30 at the breakfast is worth it compared to what we would have paid elsewhere.
The staff was great. We had several rainy days and the breakfast/art gallery room is big and airy. We all gathered in the room in the afternoon and played dominoes one day and cards another at the suggestion of the staff and it worked great.
The property is pet friendly and my in-laws brought there dog. They were in a pet friendly room which we thought showed stains from previous pets. We were in a pet free room and our carpet was good. They have a nice library of DVD's at the front desk free of charge, we watched 2-3. There's also free taffy in the lobby which quickly become too addicting walking to and fro from the beach and they have freshly baked cookies available for what feels like most the day.
This has been my wife's favorite property. We'd probably like to be on the ocean but our budget allows 4-5 nights for spring break and we prefer to spend those days at Cannon Beach. Our dear friends get a place on the beach but stay only 3 nights due to pricing so it's your preference if budget is an issue. Made one trip into Seaside as we always do and then we're always glad that we stay at Cannon Beach, we do love it.
Several cute rabbits hopping around the property. They had umbrellas for us when it was raining, internet connect was fast. Overall we're very pleased.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

We had a wonderful quiet trip for a couple of days on the coast. The Inn at Cannon Beach was lovely and clean, very homelike. The people at the front desk were always courteous and helpful. The fireplace in our room was a warm romantic touch especially with the cold wet weather. The Inn does have a complimentary breakfast but we opted to just enjoy their delicious coffee. Our room was supplied with a little refrigerator and microwave oven too. The Inn had a huge variety of complimentary DVD's to enjoy. It was our first visit to Cannon Beach. We found some restaurants and stores closed on Monday and Tuesday as it was off season. The trade off was the beach was practically deserted.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

We stayed at the Inn at Cannon Beach on New Years' Eve - 6 of us altogether (2 families, each with a 12-year old child), and could not have been more pleased with the accommodations and the service. We showed up around 7PM after a long scary drive up the coast during a rain/wind storm, and we were welcomed by very helpful employees at the front desk, freshly baked cookies for the kids, and non-alcoholic champagne plus noisemakers in the rooms to celebrate the New Year. We were allowed up to 2 free DVD rentals per night, and we looked through their extensive catalog and picked out 2 kids' movies and 2 regular grown-up movies - they had all the most recent releases available. Our rooms were cozy and clean, with a gas fireplace. The breakfast was very good (and included with the price of the room) and the dining area was very well run and quite aesthetically pleasing. The location of the Inn at Cannon Beach is very convenient - just walk across the street, and you're only steps from the beach. It was very close to an awesome bakery too. We couldn't have been happier staying here, and can't wait to go back. Oh yes - forgot to mention that they have pet friendly rooms available too. We didn't have our dog with us, but we will probably bring him next time.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Cannon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Cannon Beach

Address: 3215 South Hemlock Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully wooded property at the quiet south end of Cannon Beach takes full advantage of the beauty of its' natural setting. The architecture and scale of the inn is very residential and cottage-like. Some guests have equated the feel of The Inn at Cannon Beach to a very high end summer camp for adults and families. The warm natural wood exteriors provide a rustic backdrop for the breathtaking native plants, perennials and long blooming annuals that color the property throughout much of the year. Fragrant garden paths with towering spruce trees meander between the various cabin-like buildings creating a sense of escape. The Inn’s central courtyard serves as a social gathering place for guests to come together in a beautiful woodland setting. Many find a sunlit bench the perfect spot to begin a new novel or to enjoy the wind in the trees. Our naturalized pond and it’s flowering borders is a center piece of the courtyard and attracts small wildlife and birds of many sorts. Voluptuous hanging flower baskets fill the walkways with fragrance and the occasional beat of hummingbird wings.Guest rooms are warm and inviting with all the comforts of home. The rooms are cozy and enjoyable on a stormy winter day with the fireplace ablaze and a good book. And when the sun is out, guests throw open the windows to enjoy the birdsong and salt sea air, taking their book outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Cannon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Cannon Beach Hotel Cannon Beach
Hotel Cannon Beach
Cannon Beach Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Cannon Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.