We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms nice, owners not so much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hearthstone Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hearthstone Inn to your Saves list
Hearthstone Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   135-139 East Jackson St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Cannon Beach B&B and Inns
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Rooms nice, owners not so much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We enjoyed our rustic room, but witnessed the owners treating guests at the McBee Cottages (a sister property across the street) very badly over a misunderstanding about the use of a grassy area that appeared to be set up for guests to actually use. The accommodations were comfortable, but I'll never stay any place where the owners aren't hospitable. It's also not on the beach, though there is easy access about 1 1/2 blocks away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear boboji, Portland, Or.,
We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Hearthstone Inn and will do our best to explain this unfortunate event.
Based on your comments we guess that you were probably an invited member of the unannounced and unauthorized wedding that took place on the lawn at the McBee Cottages, putting staff and the owners in a very difficult position.
Since the members of the wedding party only rented two rooms at the McBee this was a serious problem. We do want to make it clear that the lawn area is private property and only for our paying guests to enjoy and we encourage them to do so. It is not for an event such as a wedding with non-paying invited guests or for equipment, tents, alcohol, and food being cooked.
This is completely unfair to those who do pay and who expect to be able to use the space. The wedding guests took up all of the parking spaces at the McBee leaving none for our paying guests who were quite upset and felt we should have warned them in advance. As a result, they will not be back to stay with us.
For group events we require the rental of all the rooms at the McBee for these very reasons.
No one asked about our policies and the wedding was held without our approval or knowledge. We personally received eight phone calls of complaint and had to deal with a very upset staff. We are very sorry you witnessed a stressed-out owner.
We did not wish to upset the bride and groom on their special day and did our best to prevent that, however a wedding guest was very rude when we attempted to find out who was in charge. This was not a win-win situation for the owners, our staff, or our paying guests, and certainly not for the bride and groom.
It is more than a sad set of events when it is then discussed on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    5
    8
    6
See reviews for
18
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This place is REALLY rustic so be prepared. Expensive for a basic room but booked into place because we were late into season. Bed was comfortable but too high to get in and out safely. Kitchenette is really basic but was of no use to us. Bathroom is unusually small and dark. Consider painting bathroom to lighten up and adding deeper shelves to allow for bath item storage. Shower sprayed over curtain onto floor. Only chairs in unit were director's chair (folding) and since there was no other place to put our suitcases left us with no where to sit without shifting luggage. No adequate drawer space or closet space..guess people come here with little to wear.
Room furniture arrangement was odd with no bedside table or lamp on one side and tv so low on wall it was difficult to view from bed...all-in-all felt like staying in a state park inn...really basic.
Location was good as we could walk to downtown area and beach with no problem. Won't stay here again ever!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear JCGAAtlanta,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at the Hearthstone Inn, it is very valuable to us. Several of your concerns have been addressed as we are now out of the high occupancy summer season and can make updates and adjustments with access to our rooms. This inn is very special - there is no other place like it in town. Hand built and crafted by local artisans, we are proud of the unique features of the inn, however, we are always eager to please our guests and provide increased value by making changes when appropriate. You certainly gave us much to think about and we appreciate your honest review. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to discuss the other types of rooms and inns we have to offer! We will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warmest Regards
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
Hearthstone Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Convenient to walking to Cannon Beach shops and the beach. Room clean with a nice set-up but really needs a total remodel. Check-in was quick and staff friendly, warm and cozy lobby with warm cookies in the evenings. Free DVD's to check out but a few more family friendly movies would be wonderful. We added an older child to our trip at the last moment and they were quick and cheerful about meeting our additional needs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear NonaBev,
Thank you for your kind review about your stay at the Hearthstone Inn and for mentioning some our features. We will certainly take your advice about the movie collection, we do have over 300 films but will emphasize family films when we next update. The inn is certainly an older structure, but it was designed to stand as a truly unique place in Cannon Beach, hand-built by local artisans with natural materials, some of which would be impossible to replace. It’s a classic ! That said, we are planning to update furnishings and TVs very soon, we hope you’ll find that changes to your liking.
Thanks so much for coming to stay, we will look forward to seeing you again.
Warmest Regards
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
General Manager
Hearthstone Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Nicely appointed rustic hotel, bathroom is a little small, location has excellent beach access and is within short walking distance to town center, art galleries, and restaurants. Kitchenette was adequate for needs for short visit. Hotel is on main street in Cannon beach, so some traffic noise. Windows were difficult to operate and didn't have screens but we had no problems leaving them open enough to maintain ventilation. Bedding was somewhat uncomfortable but fit the rustic theme. Dog friendly is a nice plus. Guests are allowed use of facilities (library, business center) at other affiliated Cannon Beach Hotel Properties.
Like other guests have commented I thought there were separate living and sleeping areas but they aren't, however there is ample space in the common room.

Room Tip: Part of Cannon Beach Hotel group, guests can share facilities at other properties. Rooms facing Hem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear William L,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Hearthstone Inn. Please note that we take your feedback very seriously and I have followed up with our team regarding your comments. We apologize if the information provided about our rooms or sleeping arrangements were confusing. There is only one unit at the Hearthstone Inn that has a separate sleeping area, this is Room 26. Thank you for your kind comments, the Hearthstone Inn is a very special place and we do our best to maintain the original flavor and ambiance. It was built in 1982 by local specialized craftsmen from locally fallen cedar logs which were hand milled at a portable saw mill south of Cannon Beach. It is truly one of a kind. The hand-built local beach rock fireplaces are a feature many love. We truly hope to host you again, thank you for your business and kind words.
Sincere Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Hearthstone Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is our fourth year staying with the Cannon Beach Hotel properties. We generally stay at the McBee Cottages but booked too late to reserve a room there that accommodated 4. The reservation attendant told me the room at the Hearthstone would have a separate bedroom from the living area. As we were used to at the McBee Cottages. The room (24) did not. Would be easily cleared up if there were a picture of each room. It was fine; very clean and well kept during our stay. The fan was a little shaky and scared my kids so we had to keep it off. The mattress was pretty hard and uncomfortable to me but, my husband thought it was just fine. So, that is probably just personal preference. My only real complaint was that the windows did not have screens. So, with the fan off, it got a little stuffy at night since we couldn't open the windows. My husband loved the decor and wants to book here again but my preference is still the McBee Cottages. The service and location keep us coming back to this hotel family.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms near the back to minimize road noise from Hemlock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear DoubleTripping,
It is a pleasure to know you choose Cannon Beach Hotel Lodgings for your beach get-a-ways, we sincerely appreciate your patronage and nice words. We are so sorry about the miscommunication about your room accommodation. There are five pictures of each room on our booking engine which can be accessed through our website. Only one room at Hearthstone Inn has a separate sleeping area, Room 26. We apologize about the screens, we are in the process of replacing them. Due to the design and age of the building they have to be custom made and will not be available until the end of September. The Hearthstone is scheduled for new mattresses this year. The new beds will be the exclusive “Cannon Beach Hotel SeaCloud Bed” that I custom designed and have made locally to order. These beds have received rave reviews and are now for sale and our customers love them. We also have portable room fans available to be delivered to your room upon request, please call us next time if you need anything! We would be more than happy to take care of it. Looking forward to seeing you soon!
Warm Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Hearthstone Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our non-smoking room smelled like a fire-pit even though we never lit a fire. The fireplace was down-drafting our entire stay and everything in the "non-smoking" room smelled of smoke. Only one of the 3 windows opens. the other 2 windows are fixed shut (including the bathroom). There was no ventilation fan in the bathroom . The ceiling fan spewed dust when we turned it on. Our reservation was for 2 nights. Neither my husband or I could sleep the first night because of the conditions. We were at the front desk when they opened at 8am the next morning to check out early. The receptionist told us they could not refund our second night. I was told the manager would call within 48 hours to speak with us. It has now been 3 days with no contact from the manager and no refund. I previously had a good experience at the Cannon Beach Hotel, which made this latest experience even more disappointing. I recommend avoiding all of their properties including the Cannon Beach Hotel, The Courtyard, McBee Cottages and the Hearthstone Inn. I definitely won't stay with them ever again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want a non-smoking room. The fireplaces make the rooms smell like smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about the experienced encountered at the Hearthstone Inn. We regret your impression of the property and would like to address the issues presented.

The Hearthstone Inn is a special place that we have done our best to preserve as built by local craftsmen decades ago. It is advertised as a pet-friendly, rustic, cabin-like inn with wood-burning fireplaces. Our beach rock fireplaces are a great feature that most of our guests enjoy.

We appreciated the advance notice of your allergies, and every hotel department was involved in preparing the room for your arrival to ensure that there was no pet hair or other allergy-inducing exposure. We are a bit confused to some of your comments, as we do have ventilation fans in every bathroom.

Our refund policy is discussed during the reservation process, stated in our confirmation email, and printed clearly on the registration form each guest signs at check-in. It is not our practice to provide refunds for early departure as we operate under standard resort policies. This should have been kindly communicated at your departure, I apologize for the confusion. We did make every effort to provide the specific room you reserved, with extra attention and care.

Please know that your comfort is important to us and we regret your disappointment.

Warm Regards,

Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
General Manager, Cannon Beach Hotel Lodgings & Hearthstone Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is my second stay in Room 25 of the Hearthstone Inn. The dog and I love it. Only minutes to the beach with a nice porch to brush the dog out after play time. Easy walk to the downtown area, where many of the shops, even the art galleries, are dog friendly. Just a few blocks to the Haystack area where the office is (and Sleeping Monk coffee).

I had problems with the wireless in June, 2013, but the wireless system was scheduled to be overhauled in July, so I expect that is no longer an issue.

My only complaint is the white walls. The stone fireplace and paneling deserve a nice warm paint color.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotelGuestSvcs, Owner at Hearthstone Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear ETBK,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Hearthstone Inn. Since you are a regular "pet" guest, you should know that we now have a pet station near the walled-in garbage area at the back of the parking lot. As a result of guest requests it was installed recently and it will be much more convenient than walking over to the McBee. You are right, the Wi-Fi system was replaced with a new commercial and more up-to-date system at the end of July, there should be no issues with poor coverage. Regarding the new paint, I agree with you completely! We cannot wait to paint, which is scheduled for late Fall this year. We are still at the choosing stage (in other words having fun picking out possible colors), if you have any suggestions please write to us at cbhl@oregoncoastlodgings.com, we would love to hear them. We will see you next time!
Warm Regards,
Claudia Toutain-Dorbec
Owner / General Manager
The Hearthstone Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hearthstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn

Address: 135-139 East Jackson St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hearthstone Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hearthstone Inn is a rustic, distinctive cabin-style inn offering four unique rooms just 1 block from the beach. All guest cabins include traditional beach rock fireplaces, handcrafted by local artisans. The thoughtfully designed interiors feature knotty cedar, cut at a local sawmill. With vaulted ceilings and skylights, the rooms maintain an airy and rural feel just a few minutes' walk from downtown. Log beds, original art, adorable kitchenettes and cozy furnishings complete the authentic Northwest experience each room provides. This inn is completely pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hearthstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hearthstone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.