We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for family and dogs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McBee Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added McBee Cottages to your Saves list
McBee Cottages
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   888 S Hemlock St., Cannon Beach, OR 97110   |  
Hotel amenities
Poulsbo, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect for family and dogs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed in one of the renovated "grand" rooms (#28) and had a wonderful time. We stayed with our family of four plus our dog and it was the perfect room for a family trip. Separate bedroom, living area for playing, kitchen (yes, it is tiny, but it works!) And just up the block from the beach. We also traveled with extended family and were able to grill and use the common area with picnic tables - so nice they have that!!

Yes, there are stains on the carpet (I've read that in other reviews) but it certainly didn't bother us - I don't know what people expect when staying in a beach cottage with animals!

Number 28 is right next to the road, which might bother some (road noise) - but with two toddlers, it was better for us in case they had "two year old moments!"

The location is fantastic, right near town and Haystack. And the staff was great - every morning while we were walking on the beach (late morning) they came and cleaned the room.

Considering we would have paid 2x the price per night at the nearby Surf-Sand, we feel we got an incredible deal and would definitely recommend/stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you look at the pictures of the rooms online and ask if it's been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    44
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
52
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed in one of the larger units with charming white beadboard details. It felt like a true cottage. A little tight when the sleeper sofa is opened up but, that was a rare end of day occasion. Thorough, unintrusive housekeeping staff. Only a few houses from the beach. A sweet little courtyard where we were able to share meals with friends around a fire pit with picnic tables and Adorandack chairs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

My Coton De Tulear "Isabella" and I had a perfect three day week end. CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN and I am a bit of a clean freak! It was the perfect walking distance to the center of the sand building event. Room 34 is perfect for one or two people. I booked for next year and I will make this "at least" an annual vacation getaway.

Room Tip: Perfect for one person or a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

These cabins are nice, clean cozy, obviously recently renovated cabins. When we pulled up there was a very pretty seating area just outside our door. We opened the door and found such a nice sparkling clean room. There was a kitchenette, bathroom with little extras, and a wood burning stove in the corner.
complimentary breakfast at the grill at the main building of the Cannon Beach Hotel.
The only missing thing was a direct view of the ocean, but it was a convenient block away.

Room Tip: The staff at the check in desk were very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We picked the McBee Cottages for a special birthday romantic getaway. This place was just right! We stayed in a "basic"cottage which came with a fridge, microwave, and lots of little things that definitely went beyond "basic." Cable was provided free of charge and the room had a DVD player as well. We especially loved the woodburning style stove (it was powered by gas). The room was cozy, toasty, and didn't feel as small as you expect based on the description and pictures online. Everything was clean and super cute with a classic, old fashioned style. The beach was seriously right down the road, and Haystack Rock was right there. The cottage's location on the main street of Cannon Beach was great. There were plenty of things to walk to in both directions. We especially loved the Sleepy Monk, a great coffee shop right down the street. And we walked to the "downtown" area many times. After check-in the staff left us to our own devices, as they are located down the street. But they were only a phone call away if we'd had any questions. Not sure if they have wifi... possibly with a password that they can provide? We decided to avoid the internet and have a more rustic experience :)

Room Tip: We stayed in #33. It was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed at the McBee Cottages which is owned by Cannon Beach Hotel. It was a very nice room, with a gas fire place, 2 lounging chairs, and a table with 2 chairs. The only issues we had were that the microwave was not working in this room, (I think it was just unpluged, but we didn't care that much). Secondly they provided detailed info on what to in case of emergencies due to storms. It is also pet friendly.
The bed was nice & the whole place was clean. The bathroom was a good size & the mini fridge was nice & cold for our drinks & food.
We asked at the front desk about dining & the woman was very helpful. We plan on coming back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Best customer service ever. Story is I had to take my travel partner to Urgent Care in Seattle the day we were supposed to arrive. I called, and the friendly receptionist offered to slide our reservation over or give us credit. When we arrived a day later, the room was sparkling, the location perfect!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McBee Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McBee Cottages

Address: 888 S Hemlock St., Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — McBee Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 1 block to the beach, McBee Cottages celebrate the best of an old-fashioned family trip to the Oregon coast. Built in the 1940's, this motor inn has been renovated to reflect the charm and character of the period with sparkling white bead board walls, schoolhouse light fixtures and box beam ceilings. The ten attached cottages offer a combination of separate sleeping rooms or nooks with queen beds, living areas with sofas and kitchenettes, gas fireplaces, and comfortable furnishings. Guests can take advantage of a manicured lawn complete with stone fire pit, propane barbecue grill, Adirondack chairs, picnic tables and informal flower gardens. This appealing property is completely pet-friendly and a short stroll to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your McBee Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcbee Cottages Hotel Cannon Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McBee Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.