We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a Lifetime Wedding Party experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House on Metolius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added House on Metolius to your Saves list
House on Metolius
Road 980, Camp Sherman, OR 97730   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camp Sherman
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Once in a Lifetime Wedding Party experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is the ultimate romantic get away! A surreal mountain resort experience. From the hosts Jade and Loy greeting me by my first name to the beautiful views from every part of the resort.

The place is perfect for a wedding party. The rooms are large and some have cozy fireplaces. The Great Room had a large fireplace, along with a grand piano. The dinning room and lounge area was warm and relaxing also with a fireplace. Great for conversing and enjoying a delicious meal. They have 3 lodges and 3 cabins. The Main Lodge is immaculate.

Speaking of meals, this place has amazing food! Catered to the brides's liking, the appetizers, lunch and dinner was an assortment of fresh green salads, roasted seasonal veggies, crab cakes, wild rice, roasted lamb and chicken skewers, roasted duck, grilled trout, pickled cucumbers and to top if off, continental breakfast was served every morning. This place is a foodie's heaven. If I lived near by, I would eat here once a week just for the homestyle cooked food! Just when we thought the afternoon reception was over, just after 6 PM, they served us the leftovers! I NEVER had this type of experience before! They also cater to special diets, for people like me with sensitive tummies. I felt spoiled and blessed to have had such unbelievable meals catered just for us!

I feel so grateful to have this once in a lifetime experience and recommend House on Metolius to all those lovers of the great outdoors.

Mahalonuiloa (Many Thanks) to Loy and Jade for attending our every need and the secret Chef (whoever she/he may be =)

Room Tip: Sleep with your windows open, if you like to fall asleep to the sounds of the forest and the river f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loy H, General Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Mahal: Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our facilities and staff. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed attending the wedding this past weekend and your detailed review really made us smile. We try very hard to "meet and exceed" our guests' expectations and we appreciate your compliments. Our Chef, Robert, also enjoyed reading your evaluation of his food preparations. We like to focus on regional cuisine and he calls it "South by Northwest", using indigenous ingredients but always with a little spice to perk up the flavors. He is no longer a "secret" as many of our guests have discovered him and now follow his flavors with special dinners which they arrange here at HOM. We hope that you too will be able to return and enjoy the House again on a future visit. Remember that you are always welcome and we'll be sure to have your room ready again soon! Best regards - Loy, Jade and Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I recently had the opportunity to spend 2 nights with our Sales Team at the House on the Metoliis! There were 6 adult men on the retreat. It was perfect! In addition to a perfect setting and relaxed meeting space, we were also able to do some fly fishing with the help of local guides arranged by management. Three of the guys were totally inexperienced but had great fun and one of the other more experienced was able to land about a 9# Bull Trout! Another afternoon we booked 18 holes at the wonderful course at Black Butte Ranch (very close by). The food, drink and hospitality if the staff was wonderful and the warm homey feel of the main house built on the experience.
I would recommend House on the Metolius for any function of this nature or even a few couples get-away week or long weekend.
We will be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loy H, General Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Mike - Thank you for the great notes from your company retreat this past fall. We enjoyed serving you and your team. We also remember that great fish adventure....the largest fish any of our guests landed this season and with our catch and release waters, it will be there for another lucky angler in the future! Don't forget the great team-building sessions around the fireplace in the living room as well. All in all, we're glad it was a productive time for each of you and we look forward to your return. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We just returned from an overnight business retreat where we had a chance to get all the members of the team together to create more connection, communication, and clarity around the business we're growing. The House on the Metolius was the PERFECT location to do this. We were all able to stay in the Main House and bask in the amazing attention to detail that Loy, Jade, and Robert (LOVED the coconut rice!!) put into every aspect of our stay. Make no mistake, this is not rustic. It is desert elegance right out of an issue of Architectural Digest. The families that own the property are inspiring adventurers and risk-takers as made evident along the hallway. We had our first 'meeting' in the main living room, and needed to take a 'deer moment' break to watch two deer come up on the property for a bit of lunch and prance across the lawn. We were well taken care of and we look forward to going back!

Room Tip: The whole house was quiet, with a nice distance between rooms so we didn't feel crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loy H, General Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Jen: Thank you for your kind words about your team and their recent visit to House on Metolius. We are so glad that our key staff was able to serve all your meeting needs and that your time was productive while here. It was great to watch your organization spend time together, handle issues and deal with the challenges of your growing business. With the extra effort you all put into your sessions, we know you will be successful! Best wishes to you all and....yes....please come visit again when you can relax and enjoy another "deer moment" (and elk, coyotes, osprey, etc.!) Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

If you are looking for the perfect spot to hold a Rehearsal Dinner then look no further. Loy Helmly, general manager, and his team will create a highly memorable event for you.

With wonderful views of mountains from the patio and the deck, a cascading stream that flanks the venue and open fields stretching away below, this location has it all. Loy, Jade (Event Director) and Robert (Chef) made our rehearsal dinner on September 21st, 2012 a perfect occasion.

Welcoming, professional and endlessly acommmodating, Loy's team crafted a sumpt uous western BBQ for our guests (52) on the patio. The tables were beautifully appointed, the servers attentive and polite, the food well prepared and the bar service fast and fun. It didn't hurt that Loy had magically kept the smoke from the Pole Creek fire well away from the House on Metolius!

We made a full audio/visual presentation of the background and history of the happy couple as an after dinner experience in the Lodge main room with the help of the staff. Loy recommended Audio Visions Plus, Bend OR for the equipment and Steve Shelton, owner, was extraordinarily helpful and generous in his time and with additional items that made the event a resounding success. The staff at the House on Metolius completely rearranged the furniture in the main room and made a perfect auditorium for the presentation.

I have no reservation in recommending House on Metolius to anyone looking for a venue for an event of this nature. It seems perfectly suited to smaller weddings in particular.

Room Tip: We used the House on Metolius for a dinner event and did not take advantage of the lodgings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loy H, General Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
On behalf of our staff, we just wanted to say thank you for your wonderful comments and let you know how much we enjoyed serving you, your family and friends. It was our pleasure to be of service! We hope you will all return at some time in the future so we may continue the friendships we made with you all !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in one of the beautiful lodge rooms. What a restful get away! A majestic view which includes Mt Jefferson, meadows, wildlife and the pristine Metolius River all while enjoying the comforts of the lodge . We had dinner one evening at the lodge which was excellent followed by star gazing afterward. A healthy and elegant breakfast served by a friendly and accomodating staff. The lodge rooms are immaculate and tastefully decorated. Thank you to the owners for making the lodge rooms available to the public and sharing this bit of paradise. We will return!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful. Some have fireplaces which is an added treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loy H, General Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit here this summer. To know that we provided great service and amenities is "music to our ears". This has been our first season of allowing guests to stay in the Main Lodge, and we're glad your found it comfortable and to your liking. We were indeed fortunate to have great weather all summer and many of our guests seemed to enjoy star-gazing, just as you did, since our night sky is more visible with no intrusive outdoor lights as found in cities. We hope you'll come visit again and we wish you good fortune in your continued travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I feel like a chanterelle mushroom forager who happened upon a trove of earthly delights. Do I jealously guard information about my experience at the House on the Metolius to keep others away? That's just not in my character. Besides, I can't resist the urge to beat Sunset magazine to the punch in describing one of the most extraordinary travel values on the West Coast.

Last week, my management team and I spent two nights and nearly three days on a retreat at the Main Lodge. Loy Helmly, the general manager, managed the logistics of our down to individual meal plans (including ingredients) with my administrative assistant.

Most of my team stayed in the Main Lodge. Another stayed in one of the cabins situated about a mile away from the Main Lodge that she affectionately called the "Hobbit House". [The House on the Metolius encompasses a very large swath of land that abuts the Metolius River.]

Upon entering the Main Lodge, you discover the incredible stone work and wood work of this rambling, bright and airy ranch style home. All of the bedrooms and public gathering rooms have unobstructed views of two mountains. The large stone terrace is perched over the clear, serpentine Metolius River. No expense was spared in the furnishings and finish of this home. There is nothing fussy about the ambience of this home. It epitomizes understated elegance.

Loy and his team were very attentive to the needs of my team. We dined inside in the main dining room, outside in a covered porch and on the terrace. Our meals featured fresh, exceptional quality ingredients that were deftly prepared. On our first night, we dined on halibut and salmon. The quality and care of the chef's preparations were excellent.

In summary, our team had a very comfortable and productive meeting experience. I could not have scripted a better experience. It is (and I hope will remain) and extraordinary value. A five star experience at a three-star price. Thank you Loy and team.

Room Tip: Book early to insure that your whole group can get accommodations on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loy H, Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Greetings and thank you for such a wonderful description of your recent visit to House on Metolius. We love being "discovered" and your description of the search for rare forest mushrooms and the feeling of pleasure and adventure it evoked was inspiring! We are definitely excited that your meetings were so productive and we were able to compliment them with our facilities and service. Such high praise is "music to our ears" and motivates us to continue our efforts for our guests. We look forward to your return next year and another great planning retreat for you and your executive team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The cabin has really about everything you would need, even if you decide to bake they have utensils for it. We had very good and relaxing few days there, and definitely will come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loy H, Manager at House on Metolius, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your visit, especially noting that our cabins are fully supplied with utensils for making a great dinner or that special dessert. We like to think that our guests come here just for that reason - to enjoy the amenities of the cabins that compliment the beautiful natural surroundings. We're looking forward to your next visit as well. Best regards from your friends at House on Metolius!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House on Metolius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on Metolius

Address: Road 980, Camp Sherman, OR 97730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Camp Sherman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camp Sherman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House on Metolius, located in the heart of Central Oregon, has served as a private estate and retreat for over a hundred years. This beautiful two-hundred acre estate sits astride the Metolius River, with its magnificent view of Mt. Jefferson and Three Finger Jack.At House on Metolius, we focus on a small number of guests, and your family gathering, wedding reception or company planning session will have our full attention.Experience this private stretch of river with your family or share the experience with a group as a corporate retreat. Take in the crisp mountain air, relax and experience Central Oregon with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and T4B so you can book your House on Metolius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House On The Metolius Hotel Camp Sherman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House on Metolius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.