We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just plain good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meat Hook Steakhouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Meat Hook Steakhouse
673 W Monroe Street, Burns, OR 97720
(541) 573-7698
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Potsdam, New York
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Just plain good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Eastern Oregon is cattle country and beef was what's for dinner when I went to the Meat Hook! The rib steak is the specialty of the house and it is not to be passed up - mine was absolutely all that a medium-rare rib steak should be: tender, juicy and delicious. The decor of the Meat Hook was a bit on the tired side, and I have to wonder about the genesis of the name of the place, but it is suggestive of the focus of the place, and anyway, I didn't go for atmosphere. The service was excellent and the food was outstanding. I'd go for the steak again at any opportunity.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    7
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place-eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

The atmosphere is great. The waitress was friendly and "steakhouse-ie" (yeah, i made up that word- you'd know if you saw her)
Meals are complete (small loaf of bread, salad AND soup, main course and dessert.)

The bread was delicious and fresh.
The salads were mixed greens and not just iceberg and carrots.

My son had the French dip. It was served on a large roll much like the bread loaf. It had generous portions of real beef (not processed or pre-sliced. The Jo-Jo's (wedge fries) were fresh cut and seasoned perfectly.

My wife had the top sirloin. It was slightly overlooked. But, the cut was good and quality was great. Mashed potatoes were home-made. The mixed veggies were over-cooked but looked nice. I would suggest they steam or grill them for a more fresh texture.

I had the ribeye served bone-in as it should be. It was cooked perfectly and required no help. They seasoned it only with salt and pepper allowing the true flavors to come out. Same issue with the veggies. But, a great meal regardless.

The chef came out and checked on our meals. A must in my book for any steakhouse.

Bottom line. This is a great place to dine should you pass through burns. I will Absolutley come again! If the veggies were better it would have been top stars all throughout!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disgusting food, bad wine, don't eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place has terrible food. The beer was OK but the wine was sour. The quality of my fajitas was a 1 out of 10. If you must eat here, just order a beer and a grilled cheese sandwich with a baked potato.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good small town steak house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a basic steak house - nothing fancy, but very good. I ate here because my colleagues recommended it and because they said that the beef was local. The rib steak was cooked with the bone-in, the only way it should be; it had excellent flavor. The chicken soup served as an apetizer was outstanding - one of the best soups I've had at a restaurant in years. The meal also came with a mixed-green salad, a fresh loaf of bread, and a bean/carrot veggie mix. Service by the friendly staff was very good as well. The restaurant was clean - even the windows. If I come by this way again, I won't hesitate to eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Good value for the price. Had the sirloin which included a wonderful cup of homemade soup, a salad that was not iceberg (surprise), choice of potato and veggies (not so good), plus a small dish of ice cream at the end. The steak was cooked perfectly and very good. The service was very good and the staff was pleasant. The price was very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat Hook Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meat Hook Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.