We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
516 Redwood Street, Brookings, OR 97415   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Brookings B&B and Inns
brush prairie WA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Charming & relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our way to visit the Redwoods. We were met by Michael who gave us a quick tour and got us settled into our room. The house is a beautifully restored craftsman with lovely antique furniture. Not a speck of dust anywhere. After our drive, we were tired so we seated ourselves on the sunny patio and admired the lovely grounds. Many variety of coastal plants, many in bloom even in September. Michael brought us the beverage of our choice which for me was a carafe of red wine. Michael recommended the Art Alley Grill for dinner and we were not disappointed. Our room though small was comfortable and met our needs in every way. Breakfast included an egg dish, bread, fruit, coffee....all very satisfying. The Northern California parks are an easy drive from the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in the Angel room, and it was perfect for a quick night in Brookings on the way to see the Redwoods. Small - but absolutely comfortable, clean, and relaxing. We ate at the Vista Pub and enjoyed the good beer and burgers - and lunch at Art Alley Grill was awesome. Breakfast at the b&b was intimate and fun, and our hosts were very kind people. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mef1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a wonderful, warm and totally delightful place to stay! My husband and I spent last Wed. night there on a road trip up the Oregon coast. Loved our room downstairs and the beautiful yard and gardens. Michael was so welcoming when we arrived and offered us a nice,relaxing glass of wine.
His restaurant suggestion was just great also! And breakfast which included a delicious frittata was definitely the icing on the top for us.
Michael's wife, Cheryl and his mother, Grace were so sweet
and helpful to me. (I was suffering from painful and swollen feet)
Cheryl - an NP- gave me great medical suggestions which were greatly appreciated!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnwill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Perfecto! In every way. Clean, friendly, comfortable, reasonable, convenient. All rolled into one. We will be back. Michael & co. were amazingly friendly and accommodating. Great local knowledge & tips. We had the room with the fountain right outside the door and it was very peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jharleyhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

On the first night of a 12 day, 2300 motorcycle vacation, my husband and I stayed here instead of Crescent City because of the tripadvisor recommendations and we were NOT disappointed. When we arrived, the inn keeper Michael met us with a glass of wine, a much needed treat after 300 miles of coast line on a motorcycle! Michael then gave us a tour of our room and the common areas of the home, and asked if we had eaten. When we said "no" he immediately asked our food preferences, and secured a reservation at a local spot at our convenience. Dinner was lovely and walking distance from the B&B. Our room was beautifully appointed, with a comfy bed and well stocked bathroom as well as a private patio with a soothing fountain. Breakfast the next morning was professionally presented in courses with each tasting better than the last! We will return and highly recommend this cute little town and especially this B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Maybeck Room, the only guest room on the lower level. It has a private entrance an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were lucky to stay there for three nights and we were absolutely delighted: This is a real gem and Michael is a wonderful host: great hospitality, delicious+healthy breakfast, quiet room and comfy matresses, everything spotlessly clean, wonderful ambiance and atmosphere; would love to come back (if only it were not so far away....)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerHerVal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a fantastic place. Michael came to our rescue when the place we had originally planned to stay at had doubled booked. My husband and I stayed in the apartment and it was like a home from home with every amenity that you could wish for.

Michael has a great sense of humour and very hospitable. He booked a restaurant on our behalf for our first evenings stay. The meal we had was definitely the best we have ever had whilst in the states.

If you are in the area make sure this is on your list.

Room Tip: From talking to other guests I think any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007bros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
1.1 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#8 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
7.8 mi away
Howonquet Lodge
Howonquet Lodge
#1 of 2 in Smith River
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mt. Emily Ranch
Mt. Emily Ranch
#1 of 5 in Brookings
5.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 516 Redwood Street, Brookings, OR 97415
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing