We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
516 Redwood Street, Brookings, OR 97415   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Brookings B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in the Angel room, and it was perfect for a quick night in Brookings on the way to see the Redwoods. Small - but absolutely comfortable, clean, and relaxing. We ate at the Vista Pub and enjoyed the good beer and burgers - and lunch at Art Alley Grill was awesome. Breakfast at the b&b was intimate and fun, and our hosts were very kind people. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
53
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We recently stayed Mid August (2013) at the South Coast Inn B&B in Brookings for a night, as a stop over between the southern coast of Oregon and our drive east towards the Ashland Shakespeare festival. We stayed in the comfortably and roomy Maybeck Room, ground floor, great decor, wonderful private outdoor patio, great King size bed! Michael Clines, his wife and mother are great hosts. Michael is a yachtsman with some interesting stories about the Tsunami hit from japan a year ago. Great breakfast, and nice wine greeting upon arrival. The home is nicely decorated and only a short walk up the street from a local community art center. Strongly recommend the Art Alley Grille suggested by Michael for dinner, within a short walking distance of the B&B. The food is great, very reasonably priced, with a funky artsy decor. Even though the restaurant looks like a dive from the outside alley location, it's great on the inside.

Room Tip: Try for the Maybeck rom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a wonderful, warm and totally delightful place to stay! My husband and I spent last Wed. night there on a road trip up the Oregon coast. Loved our room downstairs and the beautiful yard and gardens. Michael was so welcoming when we arrived and offered us a nice,relaxing glass of wine.
His restaurant suggestion was just great also! And breakfast which included a delicious frittata was definitely the icing on the top for us.
Michael's wife, Cheryl and his mother, Grace were so sweet
and helpful to me. (I was suffering from painful and swollen feet)
Cheryl - an NP- gave me great medical suggestions which were greatly appreciated!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Perfecto! In every way. Clean, friendly, comfortable, reasonable, convenient. All rolled into one. We will be back. Michael & co. were amazingly friendly and accommodating. Great local knowledge & tips. We had the room with the fountain right outside the door and it was very peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

On the first night of a 12 day, 2300 motorcycle vacation, my husband and I stayed here instead of Crescent City because of the tripadvisor recommendations and we were NOT disappointed. When we arrived, the inn keeper Michael met us with a glass of wine, a much needed treat after 300 miles of coast line on a motorcycle! Michael then gave us a tour of our room and the common areas of the home, and asked if we had eaten. When we said "no" he immediately asked our food preferences, and secured a reservation at a local spot at our convenience. Dinner was lovely and walking distance from the B&B. Our room was beautifully appointed, with a comfy bed and well stocked bathroom as well as a private patio with a soothing fountain. Breakfast the next morning was professionally presented in courses with each tasting better than the last! We will return and highly recommend this cute little town and especially this B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Maybeck Room, the only guest room on the lower level. It has a private entrance an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were lucky to stay there for three nights and we were absolutely delighted: This is a real gem and Michael is a wonderful host: great hospitality, delicious+healthy breakfast, quiet room and comfy matresses, everything spotlessly clean, wonderful ambiance and atmosphere; would love to come back (if only it were not so far away....)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a fantastic place. Michael came to our rescue when the place we had originally planned to stay at had doubled booked. My husband and I stayed in the apartment and it was like a home from home with every amenity that you could wish for.

Michael has a great sense of humour and very hospitable. He booked a restaurant on our behalf for our first evenings stay. The meal we had was definitely the best we have ever had whilst in the states.

If you are in the area make sure this is on your list.

Room Tip: From talking to other guests I think any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 516 Redwood Street, Brookings, OR 97415
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Coast Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.