We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of rancho viejo family restaurant

rancho viejo family restaurant
1025 chetco ave, Brookings, OR 97415
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 43 restaurants in Brookings
Restaurant details
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Above Average Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is the third Mexican restaurant we've tried in the Brookings area and we prefer the food here and by far they have the best salsa - chunky and a bit of a hot after burn but very tasty.

We both got the ground beef super burrito for $9.95 each which seems to be the going price at all Mexican restaurants. What I liked about the burrito was it only came with a layer of beans and ground beef inside versus also being stuffed with rice which I think takes away from the taste of the beef. They served the rice and more beans on the side so I was happy!!

Service was good and the waitress very attentive and checked back with us.

They had a great variety of different dishes on the menu, i.e. a chile relanos burrito which I hadn't seen before. I would eat here again when we are in the Brookings area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    10
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mexican Food from Mexico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The place seemed to be still a bit unfinished but the food and serving size was wonderful. Lunch was a beef burrito with rice and beans for $5. My wife had enchiladas. Great price! Great Food!! Maybe I should have had two lunches. Easy parking right off 101 in Brookings.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great Mexican food and great prices. Although I differ on the definition of pico de gallo with the cook -- the dinner was fantastic. Prices reasonable. I will go again when I'm in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

There were many choices for Mexican food in Brookings, so we chose the one that had the most cars in its parking lot, as we hadn't asked around for a recommendation. We were pleased to find that the food was very good. The servers were incredibly nice, though a bit unorganized/forgetful, but that may be due to the remodeling going on. I would recommend the steak fajitas.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Friendly, attentive, excellent food choices. Food was served hot, fresh, and in a timely fashion. Waitress came by often to check on us, but not in a "bugging us" manner. The management even came by to greet us and make sure we were being taken care of.
If you go away hungry, it is your own fault.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed rancho viejo family restaurant also viewed

Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to rancho viejo family restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage rancho viejo family restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.