We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocked at the indifference” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brookings Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Brookings Inn to your Saves list
Brookings Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1143 Chetco Ave., PO Box 1139, Brookings, OR 97415   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Waldport, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Shocked at the indifference”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We booked the room expecting it to be a Best Western as advertised. It's not. We checked in and found a clean room. But, the quality is not what we expected. The desk is indifferent and did not handle a potentially violent incident with adjacent guests in an effective manner.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    28
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
24
27
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

This hotel was very clean and well located for restaurants. The staff was very friendly. We paid $106 which I consider high for this type of room but considering it was high season on the coast we were not surprised.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

Nice folks. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redwood city, ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

This motel is just fine.... not great.... nothing to write home about. But the rooms were clean, it was reasonably quiet, and the people at the front desk were friendly.

The only real problem is, as others had suggested, the wifi didn't work so well... I could see the signal, but it wouldn't connect consistently. So I got out my ethernet cable and plugged it into the wall... fast internet workie. No, it's not perfect to have to go wired, but really... not that big of a deal.

The pool is nice, nice temperature, and we were the only ones in the pool on Thursday and Friday. My daughter LOVED it.

If you want a pool, and want to spend under $100/night, there's no other choice in Brookings, and this place is just fine for me. Don't expect the ritz.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

One of the worst hotels we stayed in during our coastal tour of Oregon. Very dated room which did not smell good. Internet connectivity did not work so I had to use the guest computer in the office lounge. Breakfast at the adjacent restaurant was good and a very good value, but not worth the night in the hotel.

  • Liked — Breakfast in the restaurant (you get a %10 discount)
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

We stayed in this motel for four days. It was very close to the beaches and any amenities we needed. Since I had two teenagers with me the pool was fantastic to keep them busy when it was to late to be on the beach. The room was very clean, and was made that way each day we where there. The staff was always helpful with information and us asking for pool towels. I had never stayed here before but we will definately be back!!

  • Liked — It was very conveniently located.
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, OR
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

Best Western has an 800 number and I booked the Waterfront Inn in Brookings...literally on the water. Jacuzzi room, oceanview all the goodies. I've stayed there before and loved it. You can open the windows and listen to the surf from any room in the place. However, instead of booking directly (I WILL next time), I booked using the 800 number. I booked a jacuzzi oceanview room and drove to the coast. Upon arriving, the front desk can't find my reservation. The clerk said "Oh you must be booked at the other Best Western in Brookings." It is 5 miles from the coastline on the main highway and how anyone could book an oceanview room from there beats me. They were right. The main office booked the wrong hotel. Upon arrival, having limited mobility, I had booked a handicapped non-smoking jacuzzi room. I opened the door and was knocked down by the stinch of stale smoke. No air conditioning or even a fan in the room. The jacuzzi tub and shower are all part of the main sleeping room. It was muggy, stinky and nasty. Upon contacting the management, they informed me that was the only jacuzzi room on the bottom floor. It was, however right across the parkinglot from the swimming pool which was loud. Eventually I calmed down and tried to make the best of it. I found a wonderful little Mom and Pop coffee shop walking distance and after leaving all the windows open while I was gone to the beach, the temperature was livable upon return. Having the tub and the shower in the same room develops mold and it is not a good idea. I highly recommend the Waterfront Brookings BW, but only as a last resort the one on highway 101. Luckily I was able to enjoy the outdoors and the beach. There also is a new minimall down by the boat dock with wonderful shops and a great espresso shop. Sit inside or walk over and sit overlooking the boats. GREAT vacation spot. Better during the week...not so busy

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookings Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookings Inn

Address: 1143 Chetco Ave., PO Box 1139, Brookings, OR 97415
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Brookings Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, Welcome to our Family and pet friendly motel. We are a 2 mile drive to Harris beach were you will find outdoor activities such as deep sea fishing, whale watching or just a nice walk on the beach. We have been open for about two months now, under new management, please stop by or call for a reservation. We here at Brookings Inn look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Brookings Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookings Hotel Brookings
Brookings Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookings Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.