We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brookings Inn

Save Saved
You added Brookings Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brookings Inn
1143 Chetco Ave., PO Box 1139, Brookings, OR 97415   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Brookings
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

For a 2star at the coast in July this was a good price for a comfortable room. Did not try amenities since were there to fish and didn't have time. Will return. Cose to restaurants and stores. Wifi acceptable and good signal! Did not try for breakfast. Could have a small breakfast bar at 5:30 a.m. for fishermen since that is a major tourist industry here in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    22
    11
    6
See reviews for
22
19
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at this resort. The staff was friendly and the hotel was quiet at night. You go next door to the restaurant for breakfast and get 6 options to choose from complementary. We were impressed to find options of omelettes, oatmeal and toast, eggs and hashbrowns, cinnamon roll, ham and eggs, and more. It also came with complementary coffee and juice. Much better than your average continental breakfast.
We did not try the pool and spa. My only issue with Brookings motel options is that you can stay at the Best Western Beachfront for a hefty price, or choose from your 1-star options. I believe this is one of the better options, but it is still your outdated floral bedding with lumpy pillows and no air-conditioning.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs which probably made it quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We come regularly to Brookings as a family with three young kids. We always stay here. The pool and hot tub are always clean and super fun for spending a couple hours in when bad weather drives you away from the beach. The free breakfast is hot, delicious, and better than any buffet style you get at other motels. We have had a few negative experiences over years of stays: dirty carpets, housekeeping smokes right outside our room sometimes (though they are always apologetic and friendly when you point it out!). Overall, unless you want to pay way too much to stay right on the beach at the only hotel in town that even offers that, this is the next best thing.

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for a room close to the pool. Also, the upstairs rooms overlooking the pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

First of all, there doesn't seem to be a lot of options in Brookings. Most of the lodges and motels look pretty worn out and the Brookings Inn is definitely among them. The positives are that the staff is very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Our room was large, but sparsely furnished with uncomfortable chairs. The motel, although right on Hwy 101, was surprisingly quiet. The best feature was the full complimentary breakfast offered at the diner next door. Actual real food! Mini omelets, fresh eggs, breakfast meats, hash browns, biscuits, toast, pancakes, coffee and juice.

Unfortunately all is not good at the Brookings Inn. The bed was absolute torture - like sleeping on a concrete slab. I was literally awake all night tossing and turning. We woke up after a restless night with sore necks and backs. The wireless Internet was soo slow that we gave up even trying to get online. There is no air conditioning, not even a fan. Luckily it was cool when we visited, but if you are there during the hotter part of the summer it might be pretty miserable. There is an indoor pool and spa which we didn't use, but it looked fine.

Overall, the Brookings Inn was just OK. Given the choice and having been there, I don't think we would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The good: Bed was clean, comfy. Room was clean. Service was friendly. Fridge in room. Complimentary breakfast was above par. They give you a free breakfast at the restaurant next door which was far better than lame buffet st most places. It was pretty good in fact.

The "not as good":
There was no a/c in the room. Not sure if that is the case with all the rooms, but if it is hot outside or if the sun is shining through your window and you like cool air, you may be wishing for that. The water pressure was a tad low for the shower.

Otherwise, for an Inn with minimal amenities under $100 it was not too bad. I stayed for business so I didn't need much more than a clean bed for a night. The big plus for me was the free breakfast... That was pretty good. ...And the bed was clean and comfy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Carpet had stains(probably from pets), I wouldn't let my kids walk on the carpet w/o shoes. Hard beds. Room took hours to warm up, fridge was unplugged. The free breakfast was great at the restaurant next door. Paid $93 for the room, only worth $50.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The first room we had smelled so bad we asked for airfreshner and the front desk told us to find housekeeping...really. couldn't find housekeeping on my own so I asked to be moved. Second room smelled better but beddind was dirty. Carpets look like they haven't been cleaned in years. Very run down.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brookings Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookings Inn

Address: 1143 Chetco Ave., PO Box 1139, Brookings, OR 97415
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Brookings Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookings Hotel Brookings
Brookings Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookings Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.