We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marginal...ok for a night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brookings Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brookings Inn to your Saves list
Brookings Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1143 Chetco Ave., PO Box 1139, Brookings, OR 97415   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Arcata, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Marginal...ok for a night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

First of all, there doesn't seem to be a lot of options in Brookings. Most of the lodges and motels look pretty worn out and the Brookings Inn is definitely among them. The positives are that the staff is very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Our room was large, but sparsely furnished with uncomfortable chairs. The motel, although right on Hwy 101, was surprisingly quiet. The best feature was the full complimentary breakfast offered at the diner next door. Actual real food! Mini omelets, fresh eggs, breakfast meats, hash browns, biscuits, toast, pancakes, coffee and juice.

Unfortunately all is not good at the Brookings Inn. The bed was absolute torture - like sleeping on a concrete slab. I was literally awake all night tossing and turning. We woke up after a restless night with sore necks and backs. The wireless Internet was soo slow that we gave up even trying to get online. There is no air conditioning, not even a fan. Luckily it was cool when we visited, but if you are there during the hotter part of the summer it might be pretty miserable. There is an indoor pool and spa which we didn't use, but it looked fine.

Overall, the Brookings Inn was just OK. Given the choice and having been there, I don't think we would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
25
32
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The good: Bed was clean, comfy. Room was clean. Service was friendly. Fridge in room. Complimentary breakfast was above par. They give you a free breakfast at the restaurant next door which was far better than lame buffet st most places. It was pretty good in fact.

The "not as good":
There was no a/c in the room. Not sure if that is the case with all the rooms, but if it is hot outside or if the sun is shining through your window and you like cool air, you may be wishing for that. The water pressure was a tad low for the shower.

Otherwise, for an Inn with minimal amenities under $100 it was not too bad. I stayed for business so I didn't need much more than a clean bed for a night. The big plus for me was the free breakfast... That was pretty good. ...And the bed was clean and comfy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Carpet had stains(probably from pets), I wouldn't let my kids walk on the carpet w/o shoes. Hard beds. Room took hours to warm up, fridge was unplugged. The free breakfast was great at the restaurant next door. Paid $93 for the room, only worth $50.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The first room we had smelled so bad we asked for airfreshner and the front desk told us to find housekeeping...really. couldn't find housekeeping on my own so I asked to be moved. Second room smelled better but beddind was dirty. Carpets look like they haven't been cleaned in years. Very run down.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is awesome the staff is always nice and helpful we hav stayed here many times and loved it there hot tub room is very spacious the tub is perfect the only thing os that they need is a micro.

Room Tip: The bottom floor in front of the pool its really private u can be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Initally booked a room for 3 nights, arrived back at the hotel for our 2nd night at around 9pm and the hotel had transformed into "Animal House" Upon getting out of our car we could smell beer. It was difficult getting to our room for all the people who were partying outside their rooms. Several room windows were piled high with empty beer cans, people were yelling, and hanging off the 2nd story walk way. We called the front desk and were told they could come out after 11pm and "ask" everyone to be quite, but they could not "make" them because they do not have quite time rules at the hotel. We saw a vacancy across the street and quickly checked out and packed up as more cases of beer were arriving at 10pm. We had a very peaceful stay with them. The restaurant breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Initially...hotel staffed placed me into a room...which smelled heavily of "smoke"...i requested another room...and again "smoke"...they finally told me there had been a "fire"...the the smoke smell was not 100% cleared...well...forget that...they finally put me on the "back side"...which was fine...but that is when the problems arose...the hotel staff could not "figure out"...how to manage putting my "reservation" into their computer system...therefore the "room key"....would not work properly...and required i "walk down"..."in the rain" to the office numerous times....over the course of two days...until they were finally able to figure out the problem....no real resolution...but a bunch of excuses....totally irritating...not worth the trouble.....

Room Tip: make sure you request to "look at the room" prior to commitment...to make sure you do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookings Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookings Inn

Address: 1143 Chetco Ave., PO Box 1139, Brookings, OR 97415
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Brookings Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, Welcome to our Family and pet friendly motel. We are a 2 mile drive to Harris beach were you will find outdoor activities such as deep sea fishing, whale watching or just a nice walk on the beach. We have been open for about two months now, under new management, please stop by or call for a reservation. We here at Brookings Inn look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brookings Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookings Hotel Brookings
Brookings Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookings Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.