We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value & Pet Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Rivers Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wild Rivers Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   437 Chetco Avenue, Brookings, OR 97415   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Brookings
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
438 helpful votes 438 helpful votes
“Good Value & Pet Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Older motel but clean rooms and recent updates. Pet friendly with prior approval but no real pet relief area except behind the motel by the gas station. Includes a small fridge and microwave making it convenient for eating in the room. A/C not helpful for hot nights but they will bring you a fan. Some road noise at night especially if you leave your windows open to cool the room down. Because of the heat throughout the night and inability of the A/C to lower the temperature, we rated our sleep quality poor but the King size bed was adequate and extra pillows were immediately delivered upon request.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    30
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
47
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harbor, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is an older place but it was comfortable and clean and the folks that own it are very helpful and friendly. Close to everything. Had fridge and micro and bed was comfortable. We found a really good deal by booking online. We don't have a pet but they have pet friendly rooms. It's a nice walk down to the Port of Brookings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14nerhiker, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, Wild Rivers Motorlodge. We are especially glad that you mentioned specifically "clean and comfortable" as that is exactly what we strive to do every time. As a family owned and operated hotel, we take special care in the cleanliness and in making your stay comfortable. We have made every effort to update the rooms each year we have owned the hotel and thank you for noticing.
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Clean, but old...however, they were pet friendly and the price was right. Front desk staff was helpful. Road noise was troubling, but not much can be done about that. You can walk to most spots in town and there is a city park about a block up the hill.Check it out!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14nerhiker, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The Wild Rivers Motorlodge. We appreciate that you noticed our rooms are clean. We are known throughout the town for our cleanliness and friendliness. During the summer months, the road traffic can be heavy throughout the day, but we sincerely hope that it quieted down for you as the evening progressed, which it normally does. The City park, Azalea Park which you mentioned is certainly one of Brookings’ gems, we’re glad you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again when you travel to Brookings in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff, clean and large rooms, comfortable beds, and a very good price. Some street noise that was prettty much gone by 9:00 pm. Frig and microwave. Frig was a little noisy. Handy location - one block to an excellent Dairy Queen and two blocks to the Art Gallery, best restaurant in Brookings. Have stayed before and will likely stay again.

Room Tip: try to get a room back from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14nerhiker, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The Wild Rivers Motorlodge. My wife and I are hands-on owners so we take pride in our cleanliness, friendliness and value. We strive to satisfy every guest every time and in reading your review, it seems as if we have done this. We personally check out the restaurants we recommend in our directory and in person with anyone whom asks. We are especially glad that you found the Art Gallery restaurant not only satisfactory but “best”. We certainly will look forward to seeing you again next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etna, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great all around stay! We called the afternoon of our stay and they were more then happy to accommodate us. They even upgraded us for free to accommodate our dog. We had a beautifully kept 2 room suite, with 2 tv's. huge room. The room was very quiet and no road noise. Bed was very comfortable. Had fridge and micro. VERY PET FRIENDLY!! Grassy outdoor area for your dog and even supply the waste bags. Extremely friendly front desk very willing to accommodate. Great prices! We'll be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14nerhiker, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We loved the way you wrote VERY PET FRIENDLY in all caps. We understand that lots of folks today travel with their pets who are a part of their family and so we try to make sure our warm welcome applies to our four legged guests as well. As owners, we take pride in our hotel and our pet accommodations. We are extremely happy that you found your stay so pleasant. We certainly will look forward to seeing you again if in the area. Thank you once again, it truly means something to us when our staff is also mentioned, they work as hard as we do to satisfy every guest every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a Premium King room for us and our two dogs. The room smelled fresh, everything was exceptionally clean and the staff and owners could not have been nicer people to deal with while traveling.
We scheduled our stay for July 3rd, just passing through on our way back home in CA. The hotel was booked full and had been for weeks. As busy as they were, the people running Wild Rivers were friendly, polite and professional.
I have a problem with hotels that offer non-smoking rooms, but allow smoking just outside. This seemed to be a regular occurance throughout Oregon. There is no way to avoid second-hand smoke from someone who is constantly smoking just outside your door. I think if a property wants to offer smoking and non smoking, they should put all the non-smoking on one side of the property and forbid smoking in that area in general. There was a family with 3 adults and 5 kids in the room next door and there was always someone smoking just outside - ick. What's even more strange, the management allowed these people to erect and cook on a charcoal barbecue next to their car, which was parked next to ours. I grew up traveling on a budget, but that situation made me a little concerned about safety, not to mention all the noise that accompanied dinner preparation in our parking area. That's a first time experience for me, and I was a motel maid back in my college years! I thought I had seen it all...
All that said, I would stay at this property again. Wifi worked fine, TV selection was acceptable, cleanliness was first rate and the people that manage the place are everything you could ask for. I saw the funny little signs about toiletries (we pack our own) but every penny counts in this economy.

Room Tip: Ask to be located away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14nerhiker, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. As owners, it is important to treat every guest with as much respect and dignity and personal attention as possible regardless of how busy we may be from day to day. Apparently we accomplished this with your stay and we appreciate your comments. It is unfortunate that the guest next to you was not as considerate of your personal preferences as they should have been and for that we apologize. We do try to allow for “traveling on a budget” and therefore can allow barbeque in the parking lot provided it is away from the building and other guests. Again it appears that this was not the case and again we’re sorry that you were not completely satisfied with that experience. Also I’m sorry that some guests do not adhere to the second hand smoke laws in the State of Oregon and your comments will be addressed with guidelines as to smoking areas vs. no smoking areas. Thank you again, we certainly hope to see you again if in the Brookings-Harbor area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nice family owned motor lodge in Brookings. I travel extensively for work and stay in Hilton properties so I understand quality lodging. Wild Rivers isn't fancy, but it's clean, quiet, nicely appointed, and has a friendly family owned feel. The location is close to town center, within walking distance of some good restaurants like the Vista Pub. Owner opened up the office early for me to get a cup of coffee that he was fresh brewing...a nice touch.

Brookings is a nice town with a lot of potential and I would not hesitate to stay at Wild Rivers again. I've stayed down at the Beachfront Lodge on the harbor and it really isn't worth the ridiculous prices they charge for an isolated spot that isn't close to any decent eating establishment. Wild Rivers is a much better choice and it will be my staying spot when I visit Brookings again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14nerhiker, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We apologize for not getting back to responding to your review in a timely manner. My wife and I both worked for Red Lion Hotels, Hilton Hotels & Doubletree prior to our move to Brookings and purchase of the Wild Rivers Motorlodge. Some of the things we learned from them have gone into our hotel. It is nice that you noticed and again, thank you. We certainly will look forward to seeing you again if in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wild Rivers Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Rivers Motor Lodge

Address: 437 Chetco Avenue, Brookings, OR 97415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Wild Rivers Motor Lodge 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Wild Rivers Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Rivers Motor Hotel Brookings
Wild Rivers Hotel
Wild Rivers Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.